We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rawdons Hotel & Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 June 2016

After some difficulty clarifying my booking with Amanda who was incredibly rude over the phone, my husband and I arrived at Rawdons looking forward to a relaxing end to our trip in the Midlands. We arrived at 13:30 to check in and without any more than a "hi", we were asked if we had arranged an early check in. Whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatalieSahli
Peter D, Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

It is always difficult to read a disappointing review but thank you for your input. Please accept our sincere apologies for a check-in that seemed to set the tone for your visit. It was unfortunate you were not clearly informed of our weekend and public holiday choice of lunch service in the Boars Head which, when we are really busy,...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Stayed for 1 night with overseas clients from Taiwan. Stunning hotel. We booked the front rooms overlooking the front lawn. I always stay at this hotel when doing the midlands meander. Breakfast is good, cereal, fruits, yoghurts cold meats etc on buffet and cooked breakfast is made on order. We had dinner in the pub and it was a superb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review and we are happy to say the issues have been reviewed and rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed over at Rawdons hotel for 3 days. The hotel is old a school country hotel, with wooden floors and old school service...very nice. Being used to more modern accommodation, it took a bit to get used to the old building with its wooden floors and dark wood furniture, but once we adjusted one could do no less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton K
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had some time to appreciate this unique little gem in the Midlands

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

What a lovely old hotel.The service was fast and friendly,the rooms large,clean and we had a lovely view.The pub was also very nice,good food !There is a brewery there as well with some lovely beers!Rawdons is close to Nottingham road,and there us a lot to do in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agriman2013
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you - we enjoy being in the heart of the Midlands

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We had my dad's 70th birthday party in the Stirrups cup room. It was very cold, but the there was a fire in the fireplace. The food was absolutely delicious. I wish I could eat a huge place of the butter chicken. It was absolutely scrumptious. We had such a good time and enjoyed every moment thereof. Thanks for making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Una L
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

It is very gratifying knowing your family had a special time together - thank you

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Hubby and I managed to escape for 2 nights, without the smalls!! We were warmly greeted at the Rawdons reception and were pointed to our room. We were told that the hotel was quiet so I was rather disappointed when we saw that we had a teeny tiny room. Anyway it was warm and cozy. After a yummy Cappucino in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelaca
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and although you were not entirely satisfied with your stay I have to point out a couple of facts in our defense - only a portion of our breakfast is self service or buffet style (Fruit, yoghurt, cold meat & cheese etc) you have to place your order for cooked...

south africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Our family booked five rooms, and notified hotel we would arrive late. On arrival night porter insisted we had only four rooms. Eventually after mentioning that I was told we had a family room, did he "find" the missing room. No signs to our room, which was up dark narrow stairs, no lights went on in room either so went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinkySouthAfrica
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

This is the response to your email Thank you for this email It is very disappointing to hear of your experience checking in on Friday – normally we pride ourselves on a positive welcome and I know the handover and message about your late arrival was conveyed to our night duty receptionist. I hope future guests will benefit from our...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Great place to stop. Little off the highway but so worth it. Busy in the courtyard. We sat in the back overlooking the lake- so pretty. Food was tasty and nicely presented. Well priced Service was good. Craft Beer was lovely. Brewed on the premises. We bought some to go. We will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chescat1958
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you - we will look forward to your return visit!

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

A special trip to Rawdons for Sunday lunch was very disappointing. It is known for its Sunday Roasts which my husband and I have enjoyed on previous visits. On arrival we were given a wooden spoon with a number and told to order food inside and get our drinks from the inside bar! It was a cold, windy day so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
Peter D, Owner at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Sincere apologies for your food being cold! Our change of service was a direct result of the industrial action we experience over December, January and February - we found the international standard offered by pubs in the UK and Australia worked very well with the numbered spoon and guests placing their own food and drinks orders. On the whole it...

Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

We came back to Rawdons after last being here 6 years ago and its still a very beautiful English Country House with green lawns and its lake charm. Staff who greeted us were super friendly. We Stayed in the most wonderful Lake side cottage. Thatched also two rooms two large bathrooms, quiet and private with lake and birds and frogs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Y

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (30)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
5.3 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
191 reviews
7.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
66 reviews
2.7 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
122 reviews
10.0 km away
Granny Mouse Country House
16.9 km away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Nottingham Road
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: $170 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rawdons Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rawdons Hotel & Estate staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rawdons Hotel & Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with view overlooking dam”
 of 5 bubbles Scotties2014, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2-7 are the ones with lake views downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles DaveK2016-JHB, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms with a view at the lake are the best”
 of 5 bubbles MaxwilG, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“upstairs was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles kingsrest, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Floorboards do tend to creak audibly on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles EvaKateJane, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
*
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates