We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murrell's Grand View House

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Murrell's Grand View House
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you Rob for your hospitality and making our second stay memorable. The guest house has a special place in our lives as we spent part of our honeymoon here 43 years ago. Yes it has changes a lot but then so have we. It still has that sense of history about it. In addition to the guest house the...

1Thank mcdonaldewen
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Property may date back prior to 1900, but accommodation was in good condition, well furnished, well located but with the feeling you had all you could see to yourselves. Breakfast was such that you may not need lunch. This is a bed & breakfast facility, so you need to have some where to go the dinner. Good eat place at...

Thank Gary L
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The place was certainly well named because the location was fabulous. Perhaps we were spoilt by the previous guest houses we stayed at (Brenton Lodge and Hawthorne house) but this was not luxurious or that homely. The place certainly oozed history and was convenient for the Manapouri jetty but we just didn't feel the welcome. Having read the other reviews...

Thank lewisdasafety
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Myself and my husband stayed two nights recently. We received a very warm welcome with lots of local information given on arrival. This was in total contrast to the hotel accommodation we had been staying in on our travels. This is a family run business and the property itself is full of tradition and interesting background. Breakfast was a lovely...

Thank marybehancherith
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I stayed here for two nights in December and loved every minute of the experience. The room was very comfortable, the sunsets gorgeous and Rob's hospitality was without equal (as were his breakfasts and coffee). I would much rather stay here than in Te Anau despite the extra 20 minute drive. Excellent base to explore the sounds.

Thank BigGFoodie1
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi - thanks so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay - we are very lucky with our beautiful surroundings and we are glad you enjoyed the house and your visit to Fiordland. Glad you liked the coffee too!

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

After a long and tiring drive, we were pleasantly surprised with Rob's warm and prompt greeting at the front door. He showed us around the premises (which have been in his family for 3 generations), and answered all our questions. Our comfort seemed to be his primary concern. After our "tour" he offered us a glass of wine, or tea,...

Thank eikogirl
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your kind review. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. We are actually the 5th generation of Murrells to run the house which makes Grand View House unique in New Zealand. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the history and hospitality that we offer to our guests....

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

GENERAL We'd booked 2 nights in a lake view room, having given up on securing a room in nearby Te Anau. It was serendipity as we wouldn't have enjoyed Te Anau as much as we did Manapouri. And having booked the room, Philippa couldn't have been more helpful, arranging two trips and a restaurant booking for our arrival. We arrived...

Thank bandr2016
GrandViewHouse, General Manager at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Thanks for your amazing review - we work hard to ensure that our guests have a lovely time and we very much enjoy meeting people from around the world. Sorry it was raining when you arrived - we had some rather unseasonal weather this summer!

Reviewed 6 March 2017

History of the house is incredible, Rob a great host, nice breakfast, we did however find the $350 gives you those things and not much more. Further up in Te Anau you would get a lot more for your money including a view of a lake.

Thank vanagon84
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you didn't feel that you received value for money and we would be happy to address this if you are ever back our way.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We had a one night at Murrell's on our way to Wanaka and enjoyed the stay. A friendly reception, large well appointed bedroom with a great breakfast the next morning. It is great to see a place still in the same family that explored the region 5 generations ago. Highly recommend the stay and would love to come back and...

Thank Grant L
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for the review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our history and love sharing our slice of paradise with guests. Perhaps we will see you again one day. Philippa

Champlemy, France
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Murrell's, provides an exceptionally comfortable stay in one of the most dynamically imposing and beautiful regions of the world. We have been lucky to have witnessed the beauty of the Seychelles, the grandeur of Machu Picchu, the wonderments of the Amazon, the rich culture of Japan as well as many other travel experiences. However, the fjordland national park (larger than...

3Thank Graham58210
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review

Hi Graham Your review is lovely - thank you so much. We certainly enjoyed hosting you here in Manapouri and we really do love to share this special place with our guests. Fiordland is definitely a unique place in the world and we feel very lucky to live here. We hope we might see you again one day when you...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (47)
View from Room (11)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
View from Room (6)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
13.0 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
13.8 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
363 reviews
14.2 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
13.9 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
489 reviews
9.7 km away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Murrells Grand View House, Manapouri, offers hosted bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, relaxed environment which commands stunning views of the lakes and mountains beyond. The house has been owned and operated as a guest house by the Murrell family since 1889. Robert and Philippa are the 4th generation of Murrells to welcome guests to the house and they enjoy sharing this unique historic house with travellers from all over the world. Welcome refreshments are included in the tariff as is a substantial breakfast served at a time to suit guests' itineraries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrell's Grand View House

Address: 7 Murrell Avenue, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range: $225 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrell's Grand View House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Murrell's Grand View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Murrell's Grand View House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old charmer, setup for couples.Great views from property.”
garylS4496FZ, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lake view room facing the water”
  • The view of the lake from outside our room
lewisdasafety, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room to the back of the premises which overlooked the Lake. Amazing view to wake up to”
marybehancherith, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake and mountain views are to die for.”
Graham58210, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms adjacent the verandah offer the picture-perfect views”
gregsC8754DU, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates