We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Birley Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Birley Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Start your review of The Birley Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is a tiny sign in the village of Warton to show how to get to the Birley Arms. This lovely bar/restaurant/hotel is not branded by a large company. The guy behind the counter (very charming and friendly) is the owner dude. We found this place by accident but were chuffed to bits with our roast dinners. £10.50 for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We certainly do not need any advertising with a review like that . Thank you very much Suzie and please visit us again Trish

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed and sad to say that one of the staff tried to embarrass my partner and his Mother whilst we had our Mothers Day meal. My partner ordered a steak sandwich without horse radish, it arrived with horse radish and my mother in law couldn't eat it. We asked if they would just replace the meat and we said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georginaslinger
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I spoke to the manager who took your husbands order and he knew the order and read it back to your husband. No horse radish was mentioned. I then told you, not in a raised voice, and I was stood next to your table, that the order had been taken but no horse radish had been mentioned but we would...

South Lanarkshire
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for a quick bite to eat at lunchtime while we were in the middle of buying a motor home. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff were efficient and very friendly and the lunch was just amazing value for money. As we had limited time we both decided to have a smoked salmon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeSouthLanarkshire
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stopover Mike. If you are ever touring in this area in your new motorhome don't forget that we have a Cl caravan and motorhome park at the rear of the Restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful revue Trish

Manchester
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to venture out from Preesall and visit this establishment after reading many positive reviews on here. Definitely wasn't disappointed! We didn't book and arrived approximately 1:30pm. Was fairly busy but not heaving. Nice modern/rustic decor and a lovely conservatory to sit in. The four of us found the menu catered for all our tastes and we all opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evo9Manchester
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely revue. We appreciate your feed back and were really pleased to read that you were very understanding regarding the wait. Not everybody is, however the vast majority of our customers appreciate freshly cooked homemade food and that is why we are busy. We were winners of the best Restaurant...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We visited The Birley Arms as a family of 4 for my husbands birthday. My husband and I had the steak and ale pie which was absolutely fabulous. My son had a rump steak which he said was amazing and my daughter had a lamb shank which again she said was absolutely fantastic. The service was brilliant and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Emma thank you very much for a lovely revue I will all the staff read it as it is really nice to receive such great compliments Trish

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Visited tonight with family and had a lovely meal. Service was excellent staff were friendly. Loved the fact that they had toddler cutlery for my 19 month old we usually end up feeding him with a teaspoon. Food was lovely good sized portions and the kids meals with drink and ice cream included are good value for money. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma2201
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Jemma We look forward to you visiting us again and thank you for a great revue Trish

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with breakfast as a 40 something couple and can't fault the hotel. Room, staff, breakfast, bar area are all great. Friendly staff, full freshly cooked breakfast, comfy bed, very clean. Would definitely return. Good location, easy to get to from motorway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It is very pleasing to read that we are doing all the right things Michelle. Thank you Trish

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming staff very accommodating on dietary requirements Great value for money Risotto was outstanding The scampi is the best I've had in a very long time The steak in the mixed grill was cooked to perfection Will be returning Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank treen75
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Visited here with the Mrs. Both our meals were really good and the burger was extremely tasty. Foodbwas piping hot and tastedbreally fresh. Would recommend coming here for lunch and the staff were really polite also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neil, hope to see you again, we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit Trish

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic meal could only manage one of the three courses. I had beef husband had lamb and chocolate orange sponge can only say it's the best meal we have both had in a long time 😊and we will be back very soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
tr1isian, Owner at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What a great surprise to read you lovely revue this morning. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal so much and even nicer to read that we have a new customer Many thanks Trish

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warton
13.2 km away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
13.3 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
918 reviews
9.1 km away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
608 reviews
12.9 km away
Legacy Preston International
11.1 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Preston
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Birley Arms Hotel

Address: Bryning Lane, Warton, Preston PR4 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Warton
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Birley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Birley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Birley Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Burscough, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Birley Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment”
leckyeamonn101, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Executive suite worth the extra. It is being refurbished shortly although in very nice condition. B”
SurreySlik, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“our room was very quiet, not sure which side it was”
807hilaryw, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“second floor at the rear of hotel absolutely fine”
ETfoneme, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nice restaurant, good parking, lovely rooms.”
Richy_Sonz, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5