We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gamboa Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,259: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We stayed on week on the beach then came here for the second week. Thought the rain forest would be cool. It was amazing The resort was very nice and food was incredible 5 stars The best piña colodas The rain forest was awesome to walk in. Lots of birds every where Saw a couple money high in the trees...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori_Beach_Lover
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks. Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. We will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 10 October 2014

A lot of great things to say about this beautiful hotel, you are in the middle of the Panama Canal and the surrounding national park is amazing! Great service and excellent food in the restaurants. The only issue we had was with the room we were assigned in the lower level of the hotel which had a very strong smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al G
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of our property during your recent stay. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for their review. We hope you give us the opportunity to service and welcome back. Kind Regards

Tucson
Reviewed 4 October 2014

If you come to Panama to see the canal, you must consider staying here!! This is the best majestic view in Panama, and the property of the hotel borders the canal. They offer several opportunities to experience not only the canal, but up close and personal viewing of wildlife and some indigenous people living on a nearby island. Here’s the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelly M
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours

Leduc, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2014

View was amazing overlooking the rainforest across the lake. Spent time at the pool relaxing. We took in the Nature Walk and the Night Lookout for animals and seen Sloths, Cayman, Parrots, and many amazing butterflies! Was off season so was extremely quiet but the facility was up and running at 100% which was great, the Bar/lounge was reasonably priced,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff and Lyla P
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always. Sincerely

San Diego, California
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Beautiful and comfortable. Delightful views. In the rainforest and near so much more to see. Son loved the upstairs 2nd bedroom with spiral staircase. Breakfast and restaurants wonderful. Their free night "walk" was in a truck with little seen but then we walked on our own and saw mother and baby sloth, large armadillo, opossums, and more, very near resort....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lfpalmer
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel; we will continue working hard to provide the best service and product to each of our guests. Regards

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The property is fantastic. We did NOT want to leave-every room has a river view and hammock on the deck. The Capybara played in the field so that was a unique experience. We had a front row seat of the most amazing thunderstorm we have ever seen. Took the free Nocturnal Safari and saw Caiman, 2 sloth and a bunny!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrainsRFun
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful remarks is joy to read your comments, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours,

Albany, California
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We just returned from our trip to Panama with Caravan tour. One of the resorts we stayed at was the Gamboa Rainforest resort. It was beautiful. Food was great but the wait for our order for our eggs during breakfast took forever. They have 6 free bicycles in front of the lobby which customers can use to ride around the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ivy R
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions this will make our hotel a better place to visit. I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us. Thanks again

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Like many other reviewers, I agree that this place could use some updating. The rooms are humid, a bit out-dated, etc. Moreover, paying $300+ for one room and there's no included Wifi?! It would cost $29 for 3 devices to connect, they told me. That's a bit cheap this day in age, when wifi is quite cheap. Boo. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Namastekelly
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at Gamboa Rainforest Resort did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. We...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We went to Panama for the birds and natural wonder of the Tropical Rainforest. We were not disappointed! This resort is located a couple of miles from the famous birding site, Pipeline Road. We spent our mornings in the jungle searching for birds and the afternoons at the resort enjoying the pool and facilities. We arrived on a Sunwing flight...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BPutt
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us. I personally congratulate my colleagues for their...

Juno Beach, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Upon arrival at the resort, we were placed in the worst room in the resort. Lowest level, furthest room from lobby, in the dungeon. When going back to front desk to ask for a different room up higher, we were told that RCI guest are placed in the lowest levels for the two-bedroom suites. We said we would take two...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank drz913
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Gamboa Rainforest Resort, We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations. We are really sorry for not meeting your expectations; such as yours comments allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We will be very...

1,373 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1329)
Viewed
View from Room (124)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (327)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
0:11
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (572)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
24.7 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
25.0 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
24.5 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 116 in Panama City
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
1,076 reviews
10.3 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 116 in Panama City
852 reviews
28.9 km away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Price Range: $178 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and other travellers.
64 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (64)

Questions? Get answers from Gamboa Rainforest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only stay 2 day and bring a cooler and fill it up.”
bandit153, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As I mentioned before, our room had a private balcony with a beautiful view of the river. All this made for an amazing sunrise experience!”
  • Sunrise view from our room - absolutely stunning!
dianef269, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have good views.”
mikewJ7952MR, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a higher floor like the 4th floor for a better view.”
mathteacher1225, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room 304 last time had a much better view than room 222 this time.”
  • room 222's bathroom, spacious with nice tiles
  • room 222
  • view of pool from dining room
luv2cruise2, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5