We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
238 Parks Highway, McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 15/05/2022.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (538)
Room & Suite (120)
Dining (33)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grande Denali Lodge
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in McKinley Village
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali. The Alpenglow Restaurant specializes in locally sourced ingredients in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Fishing
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
1013Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 258
  • 354
  • 238
  • 97
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heba B wrote a review 7 Oct
30 contributions3 helpful votes
Best views from the top! Staff was nice, and will give you a wake up call when the lights are in view . The rooms were nice. Some of our tour busses would not come up the mountain for pick ups and drop offs, so you have to walk down the path to the hotel below.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a shuttle if you don't want to walk up or down to the hotel below to catch your tour...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jodi L wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
The room was not clean. The shower had soap scum and leftover hair from the last guests. The shower curtain was moldy. The bottom of the toilet was filthy. The restaurant had good food but was overpriced in my opinion with limited options. This was not our best hotel experience in AK and I probably would not recommend. That being said, the view is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shalley Villamarin, Sales at Grande Denali Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 608jodil, I am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Grande Denali Lodge. Did you let someone know about the condition of your sleeping room? These comments greatly concern me and if possible, I would like you to email me with your room number and date of stay. There is no excuse for your bathroom not in and I know that our Director of Housekeeping will want to address this matter. Please email me at sales@denalialaska.com. I'm glad you enjoyed the views from the hotel and thanks again for sharing your comments with us. Shalley V.
Read more
Dennis L wrote a review Sep 2021
Stevensville, Montana251 contributions90 helpful votes
Up on a hillside with spectacular views of the town and valley, and Mt. McKinley 30% of the time (weather dependent). Rooms are comfortable, and appropriate for this locale. Restaurant is overpriced with limited selections.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shalley Villamarin, Sales at Grande Denali Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Dennis L, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It looks like our Grande Denali Lodge was the perfect fit for your Denali vacation. I agree- the views from the lodge are spectacular however you are not able to see Mt. Denali (formally known as Mt. McKinley) from the lodge. But hopefully you saw the mountain inside the national park! Thanks again for staying with us! Shalley V.
Read more
Dayna C wrote a review Sep 2021
14 contributions1 helpful vote
There are 2 buildings of rooms. We stayed in the guest lodge and had a view overlooking the village and river. Our room was standard but nice and clean. The service at the front desk, concierge and wait staff (John) was excellent. Only disappointment was the dining room. The menu was limited to a 2 course meal (soup or salad and a steak, chicken or salmon option) for $45 per person. Dining options in the village were available but hours & days open were severely limited.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Guest Lodge overlooks the village and river
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shalley Villamarin, Sales at Grande Denali Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello 203daynac, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Thanks so much for complimenting our wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, and great views. I'm sorry to hear that our dinner options were limited during your stay. We did change the dinner menu towards the end of the season due to staffing shortages. Although the choices were limited, I hope you enjoyed the meal with the panoramic views. Thanks again for staying with us! Come back soon. Shalley V.
Read more
Carolyn Kellam wrote a review Sep 2021
Denver, Colorado60 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
The Grande Denali Lodge had everything we needed for an amazing trip to Denali National Park. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. We arrived by train, and they met us at the train station. They checked us in and gave us our tour information as soon as we got on the bus and before we got to the Lodge. The lodge itself was beautiful. The rooms were simple yet nice and had everything we needed. The staff was so amazing and always able to help. The cafe had to go lunches available for purchase. We bought those two days and it had everything we needed for days of exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask the concierge desk about things to do. They’re incredibly helpful and knowledgeable.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shalley Villamarin, Sales at Grande Denali Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Carolynkellam, thanks so much for your wonderful review! Thank you for letting our team know that you arrived by train- it is very helpful to us! We try very hard to make your stay with us as smooth from beginning to end and having the room keys in your hand is just one of the ways we accomplish that. Thanks for noticing! What sets us apart is our staff and their care for our guests. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Denali adventure! Come back soon. Shalley V.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 263 - USD 513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grande denali hotel denali national park and preserve, hotel grande denali, grand denali lodge, grande denali lodge
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaDenali National Park and PreserveMcKinley Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grande Denali Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Grande Denali Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Music of Denali Dinner Theater (0.8 km) and Kantishna Gallery (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grande Denali Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Grande Denali Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grande Denali Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grande Denali Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moose-AKa's, Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse, and The Black Bear.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grande Denali Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Grande Denali Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Grande Denali Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Grande Denali Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.