We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stanford River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stanford River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of Stanford River Lodge
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely setting on the river. Quiet and peaceful. We were in the Kingfisher room - very large, loads of space, with a little kitchenette in a cupboard which was perfect for making snack lunches and coffee. Fresh milk was provided in the fridge which was a very nice touch. About 3 km along a dirt road from Stanford, which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbti r
Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night in the Porcupine room which had a veranda overlooking Klein River,very beautiful with a variety of birds. Silence except for birds song.The room was well maintained and very comfortable with in unusually good kitchenette. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Canoeing available at no extra cost. The lodge can really be recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla L
capetown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we wanted a quiet, relaxing getaway to recharge before heading back to work.. Stanford and more particularly Stanford River Lodge were perfect. The setting of our bungalow overlooking the river was awesome, private and just what we needed. It was well appointed though the tv was too small for the room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is excellent with good access to the river for kayaking and other water activities. There is also a nice pool if you don't want to swim in the river. The rooms are sensibly designed, especially the clever mini-kitchenette in a cupboard. My only criticism is that they don't offer breakfast, so you need to make your own, or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review on Stanford River Lodge. We do offer breakfast at the Lodge but it is a health breakfast which we deliver to your room to have on your patio at your leisure on waking in the morning. If you had mentioned this to Leonie, the manageress, she would gladly have arranged...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stanford River Lodge is wonderful, situated on a river and just outside Standord. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a large outside area and lovely pool. The best is the canoe-ing and the swimming in the river. The staff are alsovery freindly and helpful at this highly recommended lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nvancoller
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We spent a lovely 4 nights in the self catering unit. The room is spacious and neat with all you need to prepare your basic meals. Pool was sublime and the sunsets over river were stunning. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClemD2014
Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our stay was, unfortunately, short and busy, but our room was a quiet refuge right on the river. Comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed, our room looked out on the riverbank and the wetlands, and the mountains beyond.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank excellentferret
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The view from the bedroom was beautiful. The linen was nice but the mattress was hard and so uncomfortable. When we go away i prefer to cook breakfast and eat out for lunch and supper, the kitchen area was so small and inconvenient. All the chairs in the room were uncomfortable and as for the TV, it was disappointingly small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timeawayadvisor
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul Brandon, We work so hard to ensure our guests are happy with their visits to our Lodge so your review really saddened us. If you had mentioned the points you were unhappy with while you were here we would have directed you to the Lodge lounge which has a large TV and very comfortable seating. The first we...

Cape Town
Reviewed 17 December 2016

How do you celebrate a wedding anniversary, 56th? Obviously in the Honeymoon suite at the Stanford River Lodge. We were not disappointed with our choice. The Lodge is in a fairly remote location which adds to its charm. The accommodation is a delight, the balcony especially provides constant entertainment, whether from the beautiful view over the river to the Overberg,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vyv73
France
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We opted for an upper room with a balcony, and so happy we did. We were mesmerized by the river, the gorgeous light on the hills, the sound of birds... The lodge is about 6 minutes outside of sweet little town of Stanford, but it feels hours away from civilization. Our room was huge, well furnished and extremely comfortable. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
10.6 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
488 reviews
22.5 km away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
15.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
6 reviews
12.4 km away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
97 reviews
10.3 km away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Price Range: $68 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanford River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Stanford River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bee Eater room is close to pool and fairly private.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Spring for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles CynsontheRoad, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are large and lookout on the river and mountains in distance”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Excellent view and balcony in the Porcupine Room.”
 of 5 bubbles clinton122, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loved my corner unit!”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5