We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (22)
Overview
C39 20 km east of Khorixas, Khorixas Namibia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
153
139
37
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
153
139
37
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetable garden damara mopane swimming pool fresh vegetables gondwana collection sun downer the cottages an oasis sundowner deck buffet dinner main course watch the sunset excellent food buffet style a wonderful stay eggplant very friendly and helpful staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 348 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We spent 2 nights at the lodge in mid October 2018. It is quiet, very comfortable, with excellent food and friendly staff. One of the largest pools we have seen in lodges around Namibia. No need to drive anywhere for a sundowner - there is...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adamhodon
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed there 1 night (unfortunately only 1 night) as a transit stop on our tour with the family. out of the gondwana collection this was clearly the one with the best food and a lot mof attention to the detail. while the setup is not...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank felixmeinheld
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the worst accommodation we have stayed in Namibia. Everyone of the staff (receptionist, waiter and manager) were unfriendly. We even had to put up a fight to get a receipt for the accommodation. The toilet was not clean.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lbanz202663
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear lbanz202663, We want to take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing to stay with us and to extend our sincere apologies regarding your encounter with the staff and the poor service that you have experienced. Please be assured that we take your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night during a tour of Namibia. This was a new addition to our accommodation, due to a slight change in itinerary and it was a lovely peaceful evening and night. All the little individual cottages are set in their own vegetable/herb gardens,...More

Thank Alys S
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much dear Alys S for your great words. We would also like to let you know that we have enjoyed hosting you and that it will always be a pleasure welcoming you back to the property. Your exceptional feedback has been shared...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location as its a long journey from Skeleton Coast. Great chalet (no. 7) as in front row of bungalows overlooking the pool. Quiet. Great food. Buffet style for evening meal. Helpful staff. No complaints whatsoever

Thank Gerry C
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

Great Gerry C! Thank you for the feedback and it will always be a pleasure hosting you. May you enjoy the rest of your 2018 adventures and lovely regards, Koney

View more reviews
About
Description
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock More engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km). Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
60
Price range
USD 150 - USD 190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
60
Price range
USD 150 - USD 190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Photos
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (22)
Pool & Beach (22)
Nearby
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Petrified Forest
393 reviews
61.29 km away
EHRA - Elephant Human Relations Aid
68.12 km away
Otjitotongwe Cheetah Park
95 reviews
80.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Strudels
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AnneFrank75 | Reviewed this property |
I can't answer directly but I remember that the roads around the petrified forest etc were difficult
0
Votes
Strudels
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from GondwanaCollection | Property representative |
Thank you very much for contacting us. The road from Khorixas to Swakopmund is gravel and bumpy, it might not be suitable for a Sedan (VW Jetta). Please feel free to revert back if you want to take this discussion further... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms looked simikar"
Jan4462
10 Sep. 2018
Read review
"Huts fartherest from central facility appear to be quieter. But only marginally so."
bajaya
20 Jun. 2018
Read review
"if they're all as comfortable as ours, you'll be fine."
wakasam
11 May 2018
Read review
"amazing stop over especially after a week of Etosha camping"
dalenaa2017
25 Apr. 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing