We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Namseb Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Namseb Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Pinetown, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

On arrival we were met by the owner who showed us where we could park in the shade and showed us to our room. We usually purchase meat where ever we stay but we could not find any lamp chops at the shops so the owner happily accommodated us with some meat and it was very nice! The swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Namseb Lodge and had one of the most satisfying stays in my many years of travelling. While I was only there for three days with two of my friends, I wish I could have prolonged my stay because of the amazing experience I had at the lodge. The owners Aileen and Guido and their staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marek K
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We stopped in Namseb Lodge on our way to Sossusvlei. It was the beginning of our Africa Road Trip and indeed, a great one! The lodge is placed on a hill in the middle of the game farm, which offers a wonderful tranquility and great views (various game sorts inclusive). We enjoyed a beautiful sundowner on the farm and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnimafa
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 November 2016

When you have done the 17 km dirt road and have climbed the hill ( i would not recommend a sedan ) you get to on of these place of which one says, how can they manage this ) On top of a hill with rgreat views over Namibian desert wilderness you will find nice rooms, with hot showers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josenjannie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The Lodge has plenty of rooms which are of good quality clean and lots of little touches which mark it a step above the rest. However note that it is 17kms from the main road and the last little hill could be a challenge if you are silly enough to be travelling around in a city golf. Food was tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
JHB
Reviewed 12 August 2016

When you are traveling in Namibia, you travel far to get to places. And if Maltahohe happens to be on your way, sleeping over at Namseb Lodge is a quiet and thousands of starts experience for those who love nature and who are traveling without a tent and camping gear. Upfront bookings are required whilst making planning easier to cater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meyer135
sainte marie
Reviewed 26 July 2016

25km from the road and half an hour to arrive. 4x4 can be needed. Lodge of the 70s or 80s with nearly 20rooms. Warm welcome and good dinner but at 210 Namibian dollar the dinner and 70 NAM DOLLAR the breakfast it is definitevely overpriced llike the room. Stay there if you plan to hunt but too far and too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ledodo974
Aileen v, Owner at Namseb Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ledodo974, Thank you very much for the friendly review of Namseb Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet and calm atmosphere, our friendly service and the three-course dinner with springbok fillet from our farm. Considering our rate per person of N$ 790.- (=49.-Euro) including a three-course dinner and a full english breakfast at the time of your visit,...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We stayed at Namseb Lodge on our way to Luderitz on 20 May, I waited for three days before receiving a response on my e-mail enquiry, while waiting I also booked through the Namibian Tourist information Buro in Swakopmund. On arrival at the Lodge a man called Michael met us, first words after I introduced myself was "you are early"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre D
Aileen v, Owner at Namseb Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andre D, If you would have ever sent a booking request to Namseb Lodge to the correct email-address, you would have received a proper answer within 24 hours because this is how it works. Either you tried to book via the wrong address or you did not book directly at the lodge. We received two bookings at once from...

York, GB
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The worst place we stayed in Namibia, the cooking facilities were inadequate to say it was booked as a self catering lodge, The water was dirty in the taps, Also the fridge in the room was noisy and we had to wedge something against the door for it to stay closed. The owners seriously need to update the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bohnjarton
Aileen v, Owner at Namseb Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bohnjarton, First of all it needs to be clarified for the benefit of potential future visitors to Namseb Lodge that you were not booked in as a regular guest at the lodge but that you booked in for selfcatering accommodation. If you feel free to call our place ,,the worst place we stayed in Namibia" you should for the...

Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Lovely lodge on top of a mountains, with a great view, there is no sight of civilisation for a couple miles. They have a sitting area were you can see a waterhole and watch the sun set. There is a walking trail too.The rooms are cosy and the beds have mosquito nets. The shower seems a bit "old", but overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
Aileen v, Inhaber at Namseb Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for your positive review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Namseb Lodge. I would just like to let you know that we are upset you experienced some health problems, although I would like to point out that all our meals are freshly prepared for every single guest and that especially the onion...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
0.0 km away
Betta Campsite
Betta Campsite
#3 of 9 in Maltahohe
13 reviews
0.0 km away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#4 of 4 in Grunau
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
143 reviews
2.2 km away
No photo provided
Maltahohe Hotel
#5 of 9 in Maltahohe
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Namseb Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the top of the Namseb Plateau and nestled among the golden grass of the African savannah, Namseb Lodge offers guest a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is perfect for nature lovers looking for rural and undisturbed getaway. Guest can choose between bed and breakfast, and self-catering accommodation. The 16 en-suite guest rooms and the guest cottage are built completely of rock while the neutral colours and earth tones in the design add to the rustic charm of the lodge. A delicious buffet breakfast is served daily and the variety of dishes will cater to every palate. A light lunch and a three-course dinner is provided at an additional cost. Traditional braais and potjies are available on request and can be enjoyed on the grassy plains while appreciating the beautiful African sunset. Guests can spend lazy afternoons relaxing beside the swimming pool while enjoying nature. Sundowner game drives provide exclusive game-viewing opportunities, while hiking trails are ideal for a chance encounter with a kudu or a giraffe. The lodge is the perfect base to explore the area from with Fish River Canyon, the Sossusvlei and the Kalahari just a drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Namseb Lodge

Address: Farmstrasse, Maltahohe, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Price Range: $131 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Namseb Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Namseb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Namseb Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Namseb Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single units are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 326christyw, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
1 of 1