We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solway Holiday Village

Pitchup.comUSD 39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Solway Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Solway Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 913: English reviews
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hi. My boyfriend has his own caravan on this park. So disappionted to see the farm has closed my kids loved the farm and was also a nice walk out for them. (Complained to reception about it and they said it closed for refurb, but has been closed since november last year for refurb! Its now nearly may) Also would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa B
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Unfortunately the farm will remain closed this year. It is my hope that we will re-open for the new season. As far as site fees are concerned, like everything else costs go up so we have no alternative other than to pass those costs on. Your boyfriends discount card does give...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weekend family break here,came home a day early,the facilities are shocking,a very tired and run down caravan park,popped into the nags head pub on our first night amd had a quick turnaround without ordering a drink..the place stunk!! Braved the pool once,if anyone else braves it,beware the changing rooms are ice cold,u could never take a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris J
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay with us. I am saddened that you felt unable to speak with me personally during your stay as it is our intention to resolve any issue our customer's have whilst on park as it is difficult to do anything when you have returned home. Thank you for bringing these...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took an 8 year old and 4 year old twins to this holiday village, worried that we'd booked a turkey - if you read any of the many negative reviews you will understand why. BUT, it was LOVELY. Silver chalet clean and roomy for us all, dog included. Clean with everything you could need. The grounds were lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah L
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We vitited Solway for one week over the Easter weekend. We booked a gold caravan which was very nice and modern, few chips and scratches on the furniture (to be expected i suppose with a rental) but overall very clean and spacious. The park itself has good facilities. The kids were in the swimming pool pretty much every day! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleL112233
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for review and your positive rating. Your comments have brought to the attention of the relevant Heads of Department to address. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed the entertainment and felt that our park was ' well maintained' Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Reviewed 21 April 2017

I and my grandparents came here for a nice easter getaway after my grandparents booked this place as it was very cheap compared to Haven, I checked the review and became very sceptical, there was a tonne of 1 and 2-star reviews. When we arrived it looked great. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Our caravan was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley K
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I am sorry to note that you had a few niggles but had a' Great Overall Holiday' Should you have any issues on your next visit please visit our reception and the team will do all they can to assist. Thank you again for your review.

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, the caravan we stayed in was very modern and also the children's entertainment was perfect. Will definitely visit again in the year to come and would recommend this to anyone else

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I very much look forward to welcoming you back on park for your next visit.

Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This is a failed attempt to be like the Haven, everything is just done on the cheap. We booked the kids in for archery and when we arrived at the archery venue everybody in the group just had a spontaneous jaw dropping moment. The arrows had big suckers on them and the bows were little plastic kiddie ones, we just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pj0nah
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank for your review and your various comments. We are looking at improving the service we offer to our customers and your comments will be passed to the various heads of department so that the necessary training can take place and improvements can be made. I do hope that you will not judge us too harshly and that you may...

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I booked this as a last minute getaway for my family - a party of two adults and two children aged 9&7. Upon checking in we were told that there was a delay with the cleaning and we were given access to the soft play area and a complimentary round of drinks until our chalet was ready - thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are looking to resolve the issue we have in the changing rooms as soon as possible. I am please to note that over all you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the future

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Ok so the website shows an abundance of activities for kids, including a farm. This has now closed which we were looking forward to. There were hardly any activities on (bare in mind it is peak time) the place was chocka and we paid almost £500 for 3 nights. They have 3 bars, the naggs was the only bar open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boro_lad29
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Over the Easter period we were fully booked so unfortunately the venues were very busy. Our entertainment program had 8 activities each day and we also have an all weather sports court and outdoor play area, so I am a little confused to read that there was nothing to do....

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

My partner, little girl and I went to use the swimming pool on Saturday/Easter weekend.. me and my little girl couldn't believe there were no lockers to put our clothes in, just broken little baskets that you put your clothes in... The pool was freezing, only 2 showers which had no hot water, nor the so called hot water tap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
Hagans-Leisure-Group, Manager at Solway Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hello Tracy, I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your visit to our swimming pool. We are reviewing our operation as far as lockers are concerned and may look at changing this situation over the winter close down period. The pool over the Easter Period was never below 29C. We did for a two hour period have...

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (354)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Lodge (49)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Static Caravan (31)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Static Caravan (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silloth
0.9 km away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
251 reviews
14.5 km away
The Corner House Hotel
14.4 km away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,588 reviews
1.8 km away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
0.8 km away
Green View Guest House
Green View Guest House
#1 of 3 in Silloth
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Price Range: £-££ Visit England Rating: 3 stars Types of accommodation: Apartments, Camping, Chalets, Lodges and Caravan Holiday Homes Situated in one of the most beautiful corners of England Lake District, Solway Holiday Village offers you the perfect setting for your family holiday, and is ideally situated for exploring the Northern Lakes,Gretna Green, Carlisle and Hadrian's Wall. There is something for everyone, with the emphasis on family fun. There are good facilities, including a fabulous heated indoor pool, entertainment complex, all-weather sports facilities and beautiful parkland covering over 130 acres and only 100m from the sea. The nearby Victorian seaside town of Silloth is within walking distance of the park and Silloth Championship Golf Course . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solway Holiday Village

Address: Skinburness Drive | Silloth , Cumbria, Silloth CA7 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Silloth
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solway Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Solway Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Silloth
Solway Holiday Village Wigton
Solway Holiday Village Hotel Wigton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solway Holiday Village staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Solway Holiday Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Certainly not a premier lodge”
KenE123, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose elsewhere”
M664YDstepheng, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“These units are caravans and lodges. Ours was an offer via the Sun newspaper.”
42blanche, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The caravans seem to be the sweet spot :)”
476bradleyk, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“chalets are very good”
terenceh853, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Pitchup.com
USD 39* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates