We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Playa Roca Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Playa Roca Beach Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Playa Roca is located right on the beach of Las Peñitas. This is one of the places where people seem to gather making it perfect for a stay, yet not crowded or noisy at all. Close by you have the nice El Pirata bar and across the street an awesome restaurant named Sud. The $8 dorm is pretty simple but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cece S
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The last time my husband and I were in Nicaragua it was for our honeymoon. This time around, we are on a much more budget-conscious trip and Playa Roca was perfect for that. The owner has been there 10 years and being in a quiet, slow-to-develop beach town, it has become one of the larger, more consistent establishments. He offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderSouth
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This is the second time our family has stayed at this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and has an open air restaurant listen to the waves roll in while you eat. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but you can't beat the location or the price, which is why I gave it four stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had a group of about forty people traveling around Nicaragua and we stayed here for our final few days and I have never worked with a more accommodating and friendly staff. They did everything with excellence and we were treated so well. The hotel is also in a beautiful location and the food is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa H
Stowe, Vermont
Reviewed 21 April 2016

While it might not be for everyone, Playa Roca is a great place to chill out. Simple rooms right on the beach. What makes it special is the staff. From owner David to the ever helpful jefe, Max, not to forget Graciela, Darwin Wilbur, and Francisco, they made me feel very welcome Also, an easy day trip from Leon for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The mix of reviews makes you raise an eyebrow, but I thought it was fine. Sure, there's sand. You're on the beach, and the room we had with a view walked over a small dining area onto the sand. Hmmm...guess you might have some sand. This is a tranquil place along an underdeveloped coast with great beach. Reminds me of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Good food, cold beer, good waves, good people to talk with. This was my 4th time staying at Playa Roca in the last 5 years. It seems to continue to be the most popular spot on the beach for locals and visitors alike. They had the only reliable high speed WiFi I found in the area. I was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zorgnak
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I'm really struggling to find all of the problems people have stated. Stayed for 5 nights in a private room and really enjoyed it. Perfect location, food was within price range of all other neighboring locations, and our room was spotless upon arrival. Didn't see dorm conditions but I really have a hard time believing that some people just love...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank serena k
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Too expensive for what they over, dirty rooms with unfriendly ants, unfriendly stuff, the food is way too expensive, a lot of drunk people, no kitchen for the guests, only one shower for all the rooms, bad and loud music all day and night long. The beer is cold and okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredi F
playarocahotel, Manager at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Too expensive for what they over----That a mater of opinion. dirty rooms with unfriendly ants, unfriendly stuff---We don't suffer ants and our staff is friendly and happy here. Our rooms are cleaned daily by full time cleaning staff. the food is way too expensive---It's competitive, good portions and delirious. a lot of drunk people ----We don't serve drunk people and...

Comox Valley, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Great location but the owner is very shady. After talking with guest from there thankfully we saved ourselves a lot of trouble. You go on holidays to enjoy not get frustrated. We were actually there for the Super Bowl and donated a lot of money to the two pools they were running. In the end only 50% of the squares...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wkuech
playarocahotel, Manager at Playa Roca Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you had an unpleasant experience with the one day a year Super Bowl pool. Playa Roca does not set up the pool, set the rules or payoffs. That day was extremely busy and the owner did not feel it appropriate to have a public confrontation. This review certainly does not reflect the beauty of the location or the quality...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
0.0 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.0 km away
Redwood Beach Resort
Redwood Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mechapa
184 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#13 of 15 in Leon
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#1 of 8 in Las Penitas
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#2 of 8 in Las Penitas
32 reviews
0.0 km away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#2 of 10 in Las Penitas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront Hotel, restaurant, sports bar. Ocean comes right up to the property line! Volcanic Rock formation makes it unique for surfers and swimmers alike as it creates a bay like situation. Wi-Fi, sports bar, international calling, wildlife and fishing tours with excursions to Leon and volcanoes onsite. Onsite Language school, learn Spanish or English. Small to large meetings and parties space available. Sunset dining a must, bonfires too! New shuttle service to Leon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Playa Roca Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Playa Roca, Las Penitas 91701, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Price Range: $33 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Roca Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Playa Roca Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have some rooms with AC that are a little pricier but sometimes worth getting away from the heat for a good sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the south side. Some have A/C”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmD1300WP, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get the one with the sea view if you can. Nice beach noise from the waves and wind”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmS7451DG, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get one with A/C....I've stayed in the front rooms in both the north and south wing.”
 of 5 bubbles zorgnak, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose a more expensive AC room”
 of 5 bubbles 381frederiquem, 28 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay