We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avana Waterfront Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avana Waterfront Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 100: English reviews
Start your review of Avana Waterfront Apartments
 Click to rate
Taupo District, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was not what I ordered but we survived that .... Air con normally charged at 20 per day which is ridiculous should be included as this is not a cheap option... Wifi was overpriced at 10 per 200mb I rented a wireless router much cheaper.... The pool was great the outside area tidy - the beds were shocking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianneKnight
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Dianne, Thanks for your review. Wifi is expensive in Rarotonga and it is shown as an extra on our website. However your point is taken and we have changed our operator. Thank you!! Our power costs are nearly 5 x that of NZ, and believe it or not $20 p day is what air con costs. In an effort...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in one of the two bedroom apartments (#3). It was perfect for our family holiday. The apartment has two good bedrooms, balcony upstairs, verandah downstairs, open plan living/dining/kitchen, bathroom and laundry. The washing machine, fridge and dishwasher were all modern. Number 3 has a nice outlook over the lagoon entrance and ocean, is very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Kia orana Charlie,meitaki maata. The management will keep note on your comments about selling drinks, snacks and ice cream. We are on process of putting wifi router in each room hopefully Bluesky telecommunication company done it today. Thank you for your valued comments. Meitaki maata and ka kite next time :)

New Zealand
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My fiancé and I loved this place. Right on the lagoon , the quiet side yet close enough to Muri where all the activities are. The apartments are clean and have all you would want, Desiree is lovely and very helpful. We will come back to Raro , and this is where we will stay 😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunsoakerNewZealand
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Meitaki maata , so lovely to have you at Avana Waterfront Apartments! Ka kite ! Cheers for your journey as a couple!

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Great place to stay with the family. The pool and BBQ area was just the perfect place to kick back and enjoy being on holiday with the family. The jetty in front of the apartments had some of the best fish life we got to see. Desiree and Randy made us feel welcome and had great advise about activities on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 715jonnyb
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We loved to hear you enjoyed your holiday as a family! Kind regards :)

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed at Avana Apartments for one week and had a lovely experience. The studio was clean, well maintained, quiet, and had A/C. There were kayaks to use on the lagoon, and every morning we walked out on the pier with our coffee to watch the fish. It was a beautiful start to the morning. Avana is in walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomie T
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Avana. Desiree and Randy were very friendly and helpful, and left bread, milk and fruit and wine to get us started. We rented the water-view studio apartment. The kitchen facilities are basic, with only a two-burner cooktop, but there are two BBQs on the grounds. The small dishwasher was really appreciated. Rooms are cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri H
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Terri, thank you for your valued feedback.

england
Reviewed 7 January 2017

From the moment we arrived (late christmas eve) we felt welcomed, the wonderful desiree had left some fruit, bread, milk and wine out for us, just the welcome we needed, thanks! Desiree continued to be a massive help in answering questions, giving advice and just generally providing the personal touches which give these apartments the wonderful feel! In fact all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimsimmo
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review
Google Translation

Meitaki maata ! Cheers !

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I booked a 10 night stay for an air conditioned room. Noticed that they had other facilities such as internet for an additional charge. Upon reading reviews I noticed people saying they had to pay an additional charge for the use of the air conditioner - I went back and checked an this was not listed as an additional charge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marc F
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Marc, Thank you for your review, for your booking made for January but then you cancelled it. As I e-mailed you, the bank already refund your deposit and it is confirmed deducted in our bank and transfer in your credit card. However, we are not sure why your telling you did not receive it yet. I also e-mail you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a comfortable, quiet studio room with good facilities and a fabulous view. However the best thing about staying at Avana is Desiree. She was the most caring and thoughtful resort receptionist I have ever met. She gave us superb advice and made us feel so welcome and cared for. We made an initial muddle with our booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wonderfulworld159
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Kia orana Rex and Stephanie, Thank you for your review to us, we are happy that you've enjoyed your holiday with us. Meitaki maata-Desiree

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Avana was blissful. When we arrived, we were provided with lots of information about things to do and how to stay safe. We had lovely trips to the island on the Avana kayaks, used the Avana snorkeling gear, and spent many hours dozing by the pool. Our apartment was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SparrowClaw
Desiree P, Manager at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review to us. It is our privilege to have at Avana Waterfront Apartments. Meitaki again-Desiree

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
1.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.6 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.4 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
478 reviews
2.7 km away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Absolute waterfront spacious & fully self contained apartment accommodation on a deep water harbour. All apartments & studios have unrivalled views from private decks across pristine Avana Harbour to an uninhabited islet with its beautiful sandy beaches. The private jetty is the departure point for local fishing charters as well as the start of your lagoon activities. Experience fish feeding, kayaking, snorkelling, and fishing. An ideal accommodation option for couples and families with teenagers who enjoy water sports and especially fishing!  " ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avana Waterfront Apartments

Address: Kaireva Drive | Avana Lagoon, Muri 869, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range: $154 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avana Waterfront Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Avana Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avana Waterfront Apartments Hotel Muri
Avana Waterfront Apartments Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avana Waterfront Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Avana Waterfront Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Insist on what you pay for”
DianneKnight, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Has a lovely pool area, with bbq”
sunsoakerNewZealand, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Studios on bottom floor have best air flow through & easy beach access.”
tomiet, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lagoon view, quiet, very clean, great service, pool, BBQ on site, fly screens on all windows, laundry service”
Cher1973, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is unfortunate to say but if you are poor in mobility then this place is not for you due to access to bedrooms.”
andrewmK9678ES, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
getaroom.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates