We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dukes Retreat

TravelocityUSD 132*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 136*
USD 132*
USD 136*
USD 132*
USD 136*
USD 132*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dukes Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dukes Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
London
Reviewed 11 April 2017

One the quaint resorts in Khandala, away from the hussle of the busy streets of Lonavala. The rooms are spacious, good pool and a spa to complete the experience. The only down side is the road noise from the highway below but you cant hear it inside the rooms. The view from the breakfast restaurant is superb in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amresh S
Hokkaido, Japan
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We booked from Japan and received prompt warm assistance with arranging extra beds and guide. The staff were genuinely exceptional in every department. They hailed from all over India , though young, and looked after us like family. The thermometer needed for my wife early morning, the extra blanket for my mother, the attentive service during dining all made our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arun714
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Despite knowing that the temperatures won't be any gentle, we headed out to Lonavala for the weekend and decided to stay at The Duke's Retreat. Finding the hotel is pretty easy and you need to drive up hill to the reception. The first impression is great. Smooth check in and I was given a room with a partial valley view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adi_rcklyf
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Dukes Retreat Khandala ! Thank you for sparing your time to review us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the stay and loved the property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team . Your suggestion regarding the pricing is being reviewed by...

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent place for week end. Good rooms with big bathrooms. Neat and clean .food OK. View from restaurant is the best USP of this place. Costly place.it's just behind rocks.so you see rocks, when you come out OF room.swimming pool is small but good for time pass

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanganibk
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and the team was very happy to read your comments. We at The Dukes retreat Khandala, strive hard to constantly increase our standards and your kind comments about your recent stay gives us the required motivation. The team and I look forward to your...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Visited the Dukes retreat after a long time.was blown away by the updated property.beautiful garden and walking paths.ample parking space is a bonus.the rooms are amazing as all of them are valley view.sunrise view in your room is just too much.will visit again in the rains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rashmibhat
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Rashmi, Greetings from The Dukes Retreat Khandala ! Thank you for sparing your time to review us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and enjoyed the accommodation and the other facilities. Our location is the prime reason of our guests choosing to stay with us. It is a paradise away from...

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Nice resort with good location, Room service is great , Best place to relax and enjoy the nature. They have a large pool / board game activities / kids garden / Movie DVD's available with front desk / . The live music was awesome. Staff hospitality is nice. Overall had a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sankalp N
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sankalp, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and the facilities,services and the location met your expectations. It makes us very happy to see that you left with a positive impression of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back at...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Visited with family enroute travel back to Mumbai. Was looking for a break to just rest and unwind so wanted something peace and quiet. The Dukes retreat was indeed a good spot for all these, perfectly located and very good views of the valley. Arriving at the location, you are greeted with a friendly staff, we took the cottages on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarioB76
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mario, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with regards to your stay at The Dukes retreat Khandala! It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay and loved the location, peace & tranquil. Monsoons are indeed a great time to visit us. Your feedback regarding the increased variety in vegetarian options...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We had a business meeting for couple of days at this resort. It is located very near to mumbai pune express way. Nise swimming pool side restaurant. View from the rooms have a glimpses of valley. Probably the best season to visit is the rainy season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anujtambi2727
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Dukes Retreat Khandala ! It is heartening to read about your positive experience about the hotel. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service. The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Dukes Retreat Khandala in near future. Best Regards Sameer Gokhale General Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I stayed with my family in Dec 2016, this was a repeat visit, earlier it was for conferences. There were standees about various adventure activities at the reception area but staff could not answer and the concerned staff was not there. Additionally, when I enquired about nearby places to see, the staff gave me a print out but unfortunately could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saggit123
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed at the Dukes Retreat for one night with family. The resort is in an excellent location. The view from the rooms was brilliant even though we opted for the Executive Rooms (2nd Floor) which offer a partial valley view compared to the Valley View rooms. The rooms were excellent with very good interiors and comfortable beds. The washrooms very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KNitesh
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Nitesh, Thank you for sparing your time to review us. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable experience at The Dukes Retreat Khandala. Your feedback regarding our location, cleanliness, quality of service, food offerings & fun activities has been humbly received and highly appreciated. It makes me very happy to see that you left...

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (490)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Cottage (49)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Executive Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
3.5 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
10.9 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
835 reviews
4.5 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
410 reviews
0.4 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
191 reviews
4.3 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Price Range: $153 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dukes Retreat staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Dukes Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“exec rooms on 3rd floor up to room number 317 are recommended. valley view not good from the room 318 onward. Lower floor-less valley view”
Anand_Shah, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Hill View Rooms”
Shaman1402, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First Floor Rooms are the best.”
dksama, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for higher floor”
saggit123, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Valley View Rooms if budget is not a constraint however the partial view from the Executive Rooms is also pretty good!”
KNitesh, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 132* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 132
Expedia.comUSD 132
Booking.comUSD 136
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates