We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinlochewe Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kinlochewe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of Kinlochewe Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Tried to book for a meal over new year. We were a large party of 6 adults (including 1 coeliac and 1 veggie), 1 baby and three dogs, so we rang ahead to check availabilty and that they allowed dogs. 'No problem' they said, so we went ahead and booked and then drove the 45 minutes across the highlands to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarahjanekeene
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a wasted journey when you came wanting to dine with us. Under the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005, all licensed premises are required to provide a variety of facilities if they permit children under the age of 5 years onto the premises. We do not have these facilities (highchairs/ changing facilities etc.) and so we...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

My wife and I stopped by The Kinlochewe Hotel for refreshments many times enroute home from regular trips to the West Coast and had always fancied staying over. We finally managed to do so in January and were not disappointed. We booked one night's stay B&B and on arriving in the late afternoon we found the hotel warm and inviting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoy the winter months when we have a bit more time to chat and spend time with our guests and get to know them a little more than in the very busy summer months. It is good to hear that...

Reading
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Really friendly staff, great food, well stocked bar, comfortable lounge & room and decent breakfast. For the price of £50 for an ensuite single room it was an absolute bargain. Ignore reviews below of people complaining about shared bathrooms. These rooms are cheaper than ensuite and advertised as such. Enjoyed the lack of TVs and WiFi switch off between 6-9...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThomasHoldsworth
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you. Many of our guests enjoy the peace and quiet of the hotel with no televisions and a lively atmosphere in the bar. It is good to hear that you felt that you got good value for money too! The rooms are all equipped with a radio/alarm clock and we do check that they are...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We only stayed there for a few hours. We arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning. So we did not get the chance to eat there. However, the service was quite nice. It had an old feel, which added to the aura of the whole trip. Great service and lots of space in the room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickmckay6
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I hope that if you visit us again you will enjoy our hospitality for longer than on this flying visit! but we are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The building has been an hotel since at least 1850 so we try to keep some of the historic feel to the building...

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 November 2016

In late September 2016 my wife and I spent two nights at the Kinlochewe Hotel in Scotland, and we were very happy with the experience we had there. We used the hotel as a base for hiking in the areas around Kinlochewe and nearby Torridon. Besides its convenience location for these outings, we found the hotel itself to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clj3
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you. We really enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very well placed, here in Kinlochewe, to explore the delights that the Highlands around Wester Ross has to offer. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our food offering. We try to make full use of...

Texas
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Got a nice room with comfortable twin beds - plenty of space for bags and extra gear. The best place to eat is in the pub on the first floor. Great variety of beers and the fish 'n' chips was the best we had eaten in two weeks in Scotland. The staff were extremely nice and helpful, including the smiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravelGurl
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hearing that you so enjoyed your stay with us and the food and beers put an even wider smile on our bartender's face. We hope to see you again soon.

Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, not enough to judge a normal hotel, but given the lack of services here, more than enough for what is on offer here. You get seated for your meal in the bar, which is overly formal for a bar and the food is nice but overly pretentious. Wifi is turned off for most of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank scottyboy5
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

we were surprised to hear that you thought the bar was "overly formal" and the food "overly pretentious" as both the space and the food is intended to be quite simple and straightforward. Most of our guests seem to enjoy the unique wooden tables, the wooden floor and the woodburning stove and would not think it formal in any way...

Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Kinlochewe hotel. The food was superb, with a good choice - lamb shank was a favourite as it was melt in the mouth delicious and huge! There is a huge selection of whiskies and 7 different real ales on tap. The owners were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the home cooked food we offer. We have some fabulous produce available locally - including some very big lambs!!! and many of our guests enjoy our selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies ... and the Tunnocks Wafers too! We...

UK
Reviewed 9 October 2016

First comment, the "poor" rating is purely around the room that I had plus the shared bathroom. Arrived at Kinlochewe Hotel for one night 14th September, First impressions, hmm. Parked the bikes in the car park at the rear behind the bunkhouse and Into the hotel. Reception, note to self, don't be the third man in as you end up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KDM999
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

You have shared a very detailed review. We do get very busy and so the choice of rooms left when your party booked included one of our economy rooms and your friends made sure they got the en suite room when they arrived before you! Most of our rooms have "en suite" facilities but we do have a couple of...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Kinlochewe Hotel The only pub in Kinlochewe so it’s very popular with the locals and visitors. The landlord is very friendly and very knowledgeable about the real ales he sells; an ever changing choice of well-kept real ales and there are usually 6 ales available. Then pub has plenty of seating but as it serves food if you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OnieOne
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative and positive review. We are very proud of our Real Ales and of our continuing entry in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide. We do spend a lot of time and effort in keeping our beers in top condition. With Andrew being a Real Ale drinker he is very knowledgeable...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochewe
24.6 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
128 reviews
16.1 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
540 reviews
27.0 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
198 reviews
25.5 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
25.2 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Price Range: $134 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinlochewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinlochewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinlochewe Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kinlochewe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you don't mind sharing a bathroom, have the twin, if you do, dont.”
KDM999, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Those who are deluded may think this is quaint!!”
, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the double with private bathroom.”
alisonbuck01, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Super restaurant aan. Geen wifi, vonden wij wel een nadeel.”
LoukeAntwerp, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sorry we didn't stay just ate at the restaurant.”
dionysis2, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates