We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Fleece Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Called in at lunch time whilst on holiday in the area after seeing it in the good pub guide. Wasn't disappointed. Great choice of good real ales. The beef horseradish and beetroot sandwich was delicious. Great pub full of old world charm and some interesting artefacts. Staff were friendly and helpful couldn't ask for more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, we hold monthly Taste and Tours of the Fleece if you wanted to visit again and learn more about the Fleece and some of its artefacts. Kind regards Nigel Smith Landlord

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for a quiet drink and lunch, but had a change of heart after 3 drinks (one being a glass of tap water) came to £9.95! Not the prices I would have expected for a small village pub. Plus the unkempt (mowed but messy) garden littered with caravans, cars and dog poo was a little off putting too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Superdadrt
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear you felt our prices were high however we regularly conduct a review of our prices compared with other pubs and Inns local to us and ensure our prices remain competitive. With regard to the orchard we do accept a small amount of overnight stays for camper van and caravans but...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We chose the Fleece as a good place to try local asparagus. We both had asparagus soup with bread. I think the taste has been bred out of modern asparagus - if I'd been blindfolded I wouldn't have know what flavour it was, but that isn't the fault of the pub, as the soup was good. I then had poached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMC112
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and will come and see us again when we launch our summer menu on the 23rd of June Kind regards Nigel Smith Landlord

Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Had dinner at The Fleece with two friends. It is in a delightful situation, lots of interesting artefacts to look at and a splendid history. The Fleece is renowned for asparagus, and that is what we had. Possibly the best asparagus in the area. Nothing fancy, just properly cooked with either butter or hollandaise and some granary bread. Unbelievably good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our lovely local asparagus is always very popular! There certainly is a look to look at here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

milton keynes
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We met friends for a drink and a snack here before going onto Eckington Manor. It was a very good choice. We have not really seen a pub with such character before. It was really amazing. We had sandwiches which were served with coleslaw and salad. They were very fresh and very good. Service was good, and that brings me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank global traveller number one
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your meal. We have had some technical problems with our till printer which have now been resolved following the unfortunate issue mentioned. I am glad that this didn't spoil your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 10 May 2016

Went here for lunch few weekends back. The food was warm comfort food as you'd expect but there were some surprisingly modern light choices on the menu which i was delighted about as I'm not much of a meat eater. I ordered the Edamame bean dip with pita and chilli sauce followed by the Butternut Coconut soup which was delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axel D
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you (and your fluffy friend!) enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again. I am disappointed to hear that the cleanliness of the bathroom was not up to scratch and will review the regularity of our bathroom checks in light of your feedback. Many thanks

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

What an absolute pleasure and delight to have visited this place which I now call a local. A friend, Mr Ward is a local and since moving here have become mates. Met for a few beers...delightful. in the CAMRA guide. Excellent cellar, wonderful helpful staff and a rear rural village pub with amazing character. Ate there this, OMG! Out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are happy to welcome you to the village as a new local and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Waterbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I eat here on two occasions. The building is wonderfully old and rustic. They have a large selection of manually pumped beers, which gives them a very different head of foam as you get from a pressurized system. If you eat here you have to get one of their meat pies. They are locally amde and absolutely worlds above what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rr177
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our homemade pies are always very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Silverstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Called in the Fleece Inn after visiting Charlecote Park. What a wonderful place. So quaint and wonderful architecture. Excellent range of ciders and beers. I had a beautiful freshly made sandwich with homemade coleslaw and salad garnish. If you are in the area it is a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 492Hilary492
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Lots to see and do local to us so I hope you'll come and see us again soon Kind regards Nigel Smith Landlord

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We attended quite early mid week for lunch without reserving and were lucky enough to find the last remaining table for two. The beer was of very good quality though the bar was somewhat awkward to reach due to the stools obstructing the way. I don't know what sort of person sits at a very compact bar knowingly obstructing it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentgoldings
Nigel S, Owner at The Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience quite as much as is our other guests, the bar area you refer to forms the original corridor of the bar and during the rebuild after the fire it was restored to maintain the original layout since it was converted in 1842. I...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretforton
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
5.2 km away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#2 of 12 in Evesham
462 reviews
8.3 km away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#1 of 12 in Evesham
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,092 reviews
6.7 km away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
622 reviews
26.1 km away
No 131
No 131
#5 of 22 in Cheltenham
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswold's boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and traditional ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with CAMRA members and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Address: The Cross | Bretforton, Bretforton WR11 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bretforton
Price Range: $151 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Bretforton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay!”
 of 5 bubbles amgpatrick, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great beer.”
 of 5 bubbles crockett11111, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not much view but quaint comfortable and, wait for it , "HAUNTED"”
 of 5 bubbles 626ian, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early as there is only one room.”
 of 5 bubbles 212lesliew, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“book if you can at lunch time as it gets very busy”
 of 5 bubbles AxelDaisy, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay