We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern

Lot 4234 Great Northern Hwy, Paynes Find, Western Australia 6612 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Paynes Find
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family owned and operated Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern is located in a remote area on the Great Northern Highway, 420 km north of Perth. As we are one of the few independent roadhouses left, we take great pride in our hospitality and customer service. We cook and serve homestyle food & beverages 24 hours a day, every day. You can enjoy your meal in our comfortable, restaurant-style dining room or outside in our beer garden. During the opening hours of our on-site pub, your meal is best enjoyed with a cold beverage. Food and fuel as well as shop items are available all day and night, except for the Christmas and New Year’s holidays. With our kids’ menu, family-friendly facilities and accommodation options, we are well prepared to welcome the whole family. If you are looking to stay the night, there are accommodation options suited to all needs. Pitch your tent at our campground, pull up to our caravan park or sleep in one of our single, double or family-sized rooms. Our friendly team is looking forward to hosting you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Darts
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
First aid kit
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Patio
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private bathrooms
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Lot 4234 Great Northern Hwy, Paynes Find, Western Australia 6612 Australia
Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
29Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Passport47060093615 wrote a review Jan 2024
Perth, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great food and accommodation I've stayed her twice, good little bar and very friendly, they also make the best Ham, cheese and tomato toasty I've had in years. Meals at the roadhouse are great and the rooms are comfortable for after a long day driving highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Visitors wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
Spent one night in camp site. Basic site on gravel. Facilities clean and a fantastic Sunday special for diner, roast chicken with all the veg. Hot delicious and decent serve. Good value Enjoyed a cold beer served by friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
petasc wrote a review Apr 2023
Albany, Australia322 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
Passing through on a do trip with the van #women who tow. Stopped here after 7.5 hours driving and water over the road in places. Staff were friendly and eager to please travellers. Used all my own facilities but ate in the tavern, the meal was amazing . Definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Drive carefully after heavy rain as road subject to flooding and slow for heavy traffic.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ronp1954 wrote a review Oct 2022
Langford, Australia806 contributions259 helpful votes
We only stopped here last year as my wife's step father worked here as a youngster. Not much here apart from the roadhouse and a big parking lot. The roadhouse was inviting so we had lunch and it was very, very good. Generous portion and reasonably priced. On this year's trip, we pencilled in a stop here for lunch and were not disappointed. The steak sandwich was one of the better tasting ones I have had. Steak nice and tender, not tough and chewy as in some roadhouses, Staff were all friendly and very pleasant, and there was a good range of souveniers available. This roadhouse is one that we will always stop at for a decent feed and a cxold drink.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Thomas L wrote a review June 2022
Perth, Australia618 contributions152 helpful votes
We took off from Perth early to get a good start on the journey only to find massive road works that took an hour to go around the diversion. Our first stop for the night was Mt. Magnet some 500klms from Perth. We had a few stops on the way for fuel, this averaged $205-210.00 per litre. We eventually arrived at the Payne's Find Road house situated next to the Gold mine. You have to pre pay fuel or surrender a credit card or your licence due to the drive offs. That done we decided to get one of their talked about on the Internet a lot Burgers. Well, at $20.00 each what a take on. I understand there are frieght costs involved but that is rude. The worst part is no chips and it is not even the top burger! For that you pay $25.00. Perhaps a few chips on the side might have soften the blow to a pretty average Burger.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps just get the fuel and forget the Burger.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rebbrown wrote a review Feb 2022
Perth, Australia23 contributions10 helpful votes
We stopped here for dinner on a Sunday night, I had a veggie burger and roast vegetables and the vegy burger was good, nice and hot. The roast veggies were largely cold, except for the cauliflower cheese & pumpkin. My partner had roast beef & veg (which was the special), beef was very very chewy and roast veggies were cold. Service was good and quick.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gaelynschoeman wrote a review Oct 2021
Perth, Australia23 contributions6 helpful votes
Can’t believe they can charge $132 for this dump of a room. Dead flies all over the bathroom, Gritty dirty floor. Only one bedside lamp. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. It was cold, and there was no extra blanket, just a thin cover.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid staying here unless they either drop the price or fix the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Johnson, General Manager at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Hi Gaelynschoeman, thanks for your feedback we apologies for your poor experience. We are normally well know for being a clean location. We have had issues with getting and keeping good staff during Covid which I think is a issue effecting a lot of regional businesses. The rooms do not have coffee facilities due to us being a generator powered site and kettles draw large amounts of power in short bursts and have in the past with multiple guest making there morning coffee flipped the breakers which shuts power down so we decided to stop that service. There is coffee facilities in the dining room and we also offer barista coffee from the shop. Regarding the cost it is appropriate to the costs of running a independent outback business, as mentioned above we a generator powered so there are constant fuel costs, staff have to be housed onsite as there are very few locals in Payne's Find with a community of about 15 people to employ. Everything has to be shipped up from Perth and getting on site contractors can incur $1000 plus call out fees before anything has even happened. This being the case we charge a price that covers our costs. Regarding the temperature the room is fitted with a reverse cycle aircon which most guests find adequate if this was not the case, you where more then welcome to speak to one of our staff and request an additional blanket. We are 24 hours so we can accommodate requests at any hour. Extra blankets are not standard in the rooms as 9 months of the year the area is typically warm. Thank you again for your valued feedback we took the opportunity to review who was working the cleaning shifts that effected your stay and can confirm they are no longer in employment. We hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to provide you the service we are known for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jodie S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stopped in to get fuel and a late breakfast. Ordered a regular hamburger, which at first glance seemed up there in price. But WOW awesome burger worth every cent. Lots of salad, thick juicy patty and caramelised onions to boot. Was pretty quick too. Add the chips for a very enjoyable late Breakfast that will keep us going until dinner time. Really friendly girls at the counter too. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Johnson, General Manager at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Hi Jodies, Thank you so much for your feedback we are so glad you had a positive experience with us here at Payne's Find Roadhouse :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Seaside699255 wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions
I decided to stop here after passing it so many times over the months. I was served by lovely girl called Annie who was very pleasant. However i was so disappointed with my food. I ordered caesar salad with chicken and a portion of vegetables. what i got was disgusting a bowl of iceberg lettuce some bits of frayed bread and anchovies. There was no cos lettuce no egg no dressing add about 2 Tiny pieces of so call chicken it was vile. Ordered a beer did not have any beers on tap. Total cost $35 absolute waste of money should have kept drivingit like I normally do never ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Johnson, General Manager at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Hi Seaside, Thanks so much for your valuable feedback, we are sorry you had a bad experience with us. Payne's Find has a good reputation for good food with generous portions. We are glad Annie served you well, she is always teamed with one of our chefs and his food normally receives positive feedback. We have spoken with him and will be putting together menu recipe cards to ensure more consistence in our future meal services. Regarding the Anchovies we do not stock them and do not offer them as a standard accompaniment on the Caesar salad so was very surprised by that part of the feedback. Regarding tap beer for us as a business it is not economically viable for us to offer tap beer as a large part of a client base is people transiting through the area the consistency of consumption isn't there which leads to regular wastage, on top of the ongoing costs of ensuring the tap system is clean and functional. We offer a range of cans and stubbies of popular beers and spirits which normally offers enough of a range to satisfy our customers needs. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and again we apologies for your bad experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeanette H wrote a review July 2021
Perth, Australia34 contributions6 helpful votes
we stay here last night.the carpark was all mud. the germany that book us was nice.the cabin was so small you fell over suit case.next to your bed is fridge.power points to high to us.walls so thin you hear people in next room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amber Johnson, General Manager at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Hi Jeanette, Thanks for your feedback we have taken it on board, we apologies for your poor experience. We are glad to hear our staff where pleasant we consider good service an important part of our business. Thank you again Payne's Find Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paynes Find area.
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaPaynes Find
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PAYNES FIND ROADHOUSE & TAVERN 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern
Which popular attractions are close to Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
Nearby attractions include Paynes Find Gold Battery (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Paynes Find.
Are pets allowed at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Paynes Find Roadhouse & Tavern?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.