White Shells Luxury Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

White Shells Luxury Apartments

2 Seaward Lane, Marcoola, Queensland 4564 Australia
Traveller (49)
Lounge and Kitchen (viewing from balcony)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 5 apartments in Marcoola
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
White Shells Luxury Apartments are located on Queensland's Sunshine Coast commanding an enviable beachfront position in the idyllic Town Of Seaside at Marcoola Beach. A prestigious address of only 48 luxury apartments over four levels offering a complete guest experience. Our apartments have 2 or 3 bedrooms all in similar styling, colour schemes and interior design. Our Podium apartments have private pools and our Penthouse apartments have private rooftop terraces and spas with stunning views across the Pacific Ocean that will delight your senses during the day and at sunrise and sunset. Each of the two buildings has its own spectacular roof top terrace with a large heated pool, two spas and ocean and Mount Coolum views for all guests to enjoy. Located directly beachside offering uncrowded white sandy beaches, blue skies and crystal clear waters for as far as the eye can see. Also on the doorstep is Mount Coolum, an indigenous rock second only in size to Uluru (Ayers Rock) offering spectacular views from our rooftop terraces and most apartments. Boardwalks and bicycle trails weave in and out of the dunes, while virtually untouched beauty stretches out just metres from you. A haven of tranquillity, which whilst you will feel you're hundreds of kilometres from anywhere, you are always within easy reach of a bustling urban lifestyle and the Sunshine Coast Airport is only 5kms away, for easy access from a number of Australian cities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
Rooftop terrace
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Horseback riding
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Sofa
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

2 Seaward Lane, Marcoola, Queensland 4564 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Sunshine Coast Airport
73Reviews1Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 8
  • 7
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wandering Brisbanite wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia240 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 5 days at this apartment complex and absolutely loved it - great location and accomodation. The kids enjoyed having their own plunge pool and the rooftop offered a nice pool too, in addition to a cold spa AND a hot spa. I personally loved the comfortable daybed outside and the apartment having everything you’d need on a holiday, including a fantastic coffee machine.

There were however a few annoying things, which is why I couldn’t quite give it 5 stars. These things included:
1. Booking miscommunications at the beginning of our stay and talking to a disgruntled guy about the car parking situation when we arrived (as there was a car in our apartment number), even though he was listed as the contact on the packet given to us.
2. The fridge beeping at us often.
3. A very soft, uncomfortable bed (I could feel the springs very easily through the mattress).
4. Having to vacuum the carpet myself on day 2, due to continually sneezing from dust in the master bedroom on the first night.
5. Finding a grape and watermelon under the main couch, which we did not eat ourselves.

Despite these facts, we did really enjoy the apartment and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhiteShells, Manager at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Hi, This apartment was let through Coolum Holidays and is not part of White Shells Luxury Apartments. We have no control over it and as such cannot respond sensibly to the comments. The apartment was only let for 4 weeks over the holidays while the owners were away overseas.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovethemojo wrote a review Feb 2021
Sydney8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I have just spent three days in one of the 3 bedroom units (#5) at White Shells and have just loved every minute. As I sit here writing before we depart, I am on the huge balcony overlooking the beautifully maintained park across Merchants Parade. Lots of grass, BBQs, children's rides, etc. I lift my eyes and Mount Coolum dominates the horizon. 100 metres to the right is the beautiful beach, which has only a few people on it, even on the weekend. Just before the beach itself is the boardwalk, which travels for kilometres north and south along the beachfront. And the most prominent sound I can hear is the birds... I've been to White Shells' large rooftop pool and spa(s) four times during our stay and no one else was there at any time. Even better views up there! The apartment itself is large, very open to catch the sun and breeze and has a great kitchen area. The main bathroom reminded me of the Westin Hotel in Sydney. 5 star luxury all around.

I had previously spent time in Coolum, Peregian Beach and Noosa but had no idea that this area (Seaside/Marcoola) existed. I wish I'd known of it sooner. It's peaceful (well away from main roads), well-maintained, has no high rise buildings, great cafes, a great beach, is close to airport and supermarket. This is our new 'happy place' on the Sunshine Coast. We're definitely coming back to White Shells as soon as we can.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 10 Feb 2021
Hi Lovethemojo, Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Doug
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne H wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family stayed at White Shells apartments for 3 nights while up the coast for a netball carnival.
The apartment was clean and tidy, plenty of room for our family of 5. Location was stunning, very peaceful and quiet. The roof top pool was beautiful and our private roof top spa was amazing. Will definitely be coming back and staying for longer next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
apostolides007 wrote a review Jan 2021
Brisbane, Australia5 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for our anniversary but were placed in a very old apartment instead of a nice new apartment with the sea view we were promised for our special stay. No tv in the bedroom which was a surprise considering the cost of the nightly stay. Streaming service unable to keep up which made watching a film impossible. Not very clean and there was wet dirty laundry spilling out over the garage floor next to the lift which remained there for the duration of our stay. Very disappointing from a business with such a great reputation. Not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 25 Jan 2021
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. You did get the apartment you booked and all other apartments were fully booked and we could not move you. I agree that the linen in the basement was not satisfactory and we have had a word to our linen suppliers and this will nto ahppen again. We would love for you to come again and we can improve your expertience. Again I am sorry you were disappointed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReneeJeffW wrote a review Dec 2020
Brisbane, Australia54 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing little secret hideaway in the little town of Seaside at Marcoola. Apartments are spacious and very well appointed. Lovely quiet neighbourhood to enjoy some great family holiday downtime.
On-site managers, Doug & Vicky are extremely helpful and delightful to deal with.
Do yourself a favour and take a morning stroll up to see Alice at ‘Waiting for Huey’ for your morning caffeine hit ☕️
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Thank you Renee and Jeff for your review. We hope you come again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen E wrote a review June 2020
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights. Room was comfortable but needed further cleaning. Glassware and cutlery were dirty, milk pods were off and tv had a black line running through it. Large apartment with nice views.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 1 Oct 2020
I'm finding it difficult to reply to this review as we have not had anybody from Melbourne since the beginning of March and no-one by the name of Karen. Also we do not have milk pods in the apartments. I am wondering if they have picked the incorrect apartments. If the guest could come back to me with more details then I could reply more positively.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dale wrote a review Dec 2020
Sunshine Coast33 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love White Shells and will be going back again in 3 months time. Awesome location ... so quiet, right on the beach, fantastic facilities and super to have a pool within your apartment. Thank you once again Doug.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Doug Thompson, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meredith24 wrote a review Sept 2013
Brisbane, Australia71 contributions38 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never experienced such shocking treatment on a holiday. If i had not experienced it myself i dont know if I would believe it.

I have been to over 30 countries and work in the industry myself and have never encountered such disgraceful treatment by management.

We stayed two nights, Friday and Saturday. On the first night we were having nibblies and drinks on the balcony of the penthouse talking and laughing. We received a call about 8pm from the manager Karen. She was screaming down the phone complaining about the noise to the point we could all hear her through the phone. We were all shocked as we didn't believe we were that loud and the apartments noise constraints don't come into effect until 10pm. We didn't want the hassle so went out for the night at around 9pm.

The following day we noticed the fridge was warm so called to let the manager know there was an issue. We were again greeted with abuse accusing us of breaking the fridge and berrated about the noise from the previous night. The managers accusations were completely unfounded, she hadn't even seen the fridge and I doubt she is a fridge mechanic. We had to throw out all of the meat we were intending to BBQ and the manager never offered any compensation. She came up and turned the fridge on and off saying it should cool down. It never did and she never sent anyone to fix it.

This is completely unacceptable treatment, we paid for the penthouse plus another apartment and were never offered another room when the fridge broke, Nor was the issue ever addressed. We told the manager twice we had to throw out our food and she did not care one bit.

Things break, it can't be helped. Management normally do everything they can to resolve the issue without impacting your stay too much, this was the polar opposite.

It's a real shame as the apartments are lovely and we would have had a great time if the manager handled herself as such.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhiteShells, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 20 Aug 2017
Since this review there has been new owners and management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie W wrote a review Sept 2013
Maroochydore2 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Last year along with a friend from New Zealand who had been through earthquakes, lost her job and needed significant repairs to her house I spent a relaxing week at White Shells Apartments and we loved it so much we decided to make this an annual event.

She now has a job, her house has been repaired and so we are booked to go back in early November.

My husband and I decided we needed some R and R so made a reservation for 20 September for 5 nights. On our first day there we were absolutely appalled by the behaviour of the women in the apartment above, in fact I thought I had stumbled on to "Schoolies" Week" with a mob of drunken teenagers.

I am even more appalled by the reviews written by these 30 year old so called "Professional" Women. I don't know what the "Profession" is but I suspect it is a very old one. The noise was unbearable with screaming and shrieking going on for hours. We went out for a couple of hours in the hope that they would tone down in that time but no such luck so day 1 of our break was ruined by these inconsiderate people.

At about 9pm I called the manager to our apartment and she phoned the women from there to ask them to tone down the noise. This was about 9pm and there was no screaming so I am absolutely astounded by the comments below.

The women went out shortly after and for the rest of our stay all was peaceful and relaxing.

On check out I thanked the Manager and asked her to ensure that we would not be subjected to such behaviour in November and was assured that these people would never be accepted as guests at White Shells again so at least they are in complete agreement on that.

We do feel sorry for the Manager in that her business has been maliciously attacked on a public website when all she did was respond to our complaint and of which I understand we were only one of a number of complaints.

We really enjoy staying at White Shells, the apartments are beautiful comfortable and immaculately clean. The manager and her team are all really friendly and they make us feel very welcome.

I would not hesitate to recommend White Shells to anybody looking for a thoroughly pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from familyogfour, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 25 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review and I am sorry that the beginning of your holiday was ruined by these inconsiderate guests. I am often asked by our regular guests as to "what really happened" ? This group of eight females booked two apartments and were advised at time of reservation that this was a quiet area and that there is a zero tolerance policy for parties and excessive noise. This was again discussed at check in and they signed a conditions of stay. They advised that they were a group of mothers just wanting to get away from their children and relax We had extended an early arrival and they congregated in one of the apartments, which unfortunately was located above you) and proceeded to drink, so that by late afternoon they were very intoxicated, shrieking and screaming. At 1900 they called and demanded I bring them ice and advised that they had taken the cover off the fridge icemaker and now couldn't get it back on or shut the freezer door. I asked them to remove the cover, shut the freezer door and I would fix it in the morning. I then received your call regarding the noise and the screaming and came up to your apartment. And whilst there I called them and asked them to please be considerate of other guests and tone down the noise. They then went out screaming and shrieking for all to hear whilst waiting for the taxis. I called them at 0900 the next morning to advise that I was coming up to fix the ice make cover and they advised that they had put the cover back on and all was fine. At 1100 they called and said that the fridge was not working so I reset this and advised I would call in an hour to check that it was cooling down, and if not I would bring in a fridge repair person. When I called back they advised that all was fine and the fridge had cooled down. On departure they advised that the fridge hadn't cooled down sufficiently and demanded a refund. I was considering a partial refund.............. until I checked the apartment on their departure and discovered that it was a mess, the air con was left running on full fan set at 18 degrees and with all the external doors and windows open, which I can only assume was to damage this. I then checked their rooftop spa to discover that they had filled the spa with detergent. As we were fully booked and with a guest arriving at 1400 the spa had to be drained, cleaned, refilled and rebalanced. A fridge technician was brought in and we discovered that they had left the freezer door open all night and as a consequence had frozen the evaporative cooling pipe to the fridge. A hairdryer sorted this out. When I called one of these guests to discuss this malicious damage and advise that due to this I would not be refunding any monies,I was abused and threated with negative postings on this site. And whilst I only met two of the group of eight during their stay I note five posted reviews :) Valerie, we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexis wrote a review Sept 2013
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia8 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful spot on the Sunshine Coast with an amazing view of Mt Coolum. Unfortunately our stay was negatively impacted by the appalling behaviour from the hotel manager Karen. The way in which she managed different situations throughout our stay was impolite and most certainly unprofessional. In the end perhaps she recognised her behaviour and stopped being so rude but by that stage it had already spoilt the weekend. When people asked how my weekend away was unfortunately the constant unpleasant experiences with the manager was a standout.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhiteShells, Owner at White Shells Luxury Apartments
Responded 20 Aug 2017
Since this review there has been new owners and management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnbritton4 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Brisbane, Australia20 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Roof top suits with their own spar are great"
Read full review
Eddie C wrote a tip July 2017
Greater Sydney, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had appartment 15"
Read full review
Ange wrote a tip Nov 2016
Brisbane, Australia230 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms towards the south are the most away from communal pool area, definitely get a rooftop spa anyway"
Read full review
Sislia11 wrote a tip Sept 2016
Brisbane, Australia10 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely try the 2 Bedroom Executive apartment with private rooftop spa"
Read full review
RedDogWA wrote a tip June 2016
Newman10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would probably not pay the money again for the roof top spa as there are two spas and a pool available for everyone on the roof anyway"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marcoola area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$237 - AU$455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastMarcoola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHITE SHELLS LUXURY APARTMENTS (AU$237): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Marcoola) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about White Shells Luxury Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Marcoola Beach (0.9 km), Marcoola Market (1.0 km), and Felix Parry Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Curly's on the Boardwalk, Bulli, and Marcoola Surf Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is White Shells Luxury Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Marcoola.
Are any cleaning services offered at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at White Shells Luxury Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to White Shells Luxury Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ballarat (6.4 km).
All Marcoola HotelsMarcoola Hotel DealsHotels near White Shells Luxury Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars