We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having the opportunity to discover the malaysian rainforst and staying at the Belum Eco-Resort during two nights was a real chance. Steeve and his team are fascinating and teaches you a lot on the ecosystem, the country, the wildlife etc. Talking about the food, I think it is one of the best and simple food I've ever eaten. The small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred-from-Paris-FR
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear Fred & Maud, On behalf of my team and I thank you very much for you very kind review, I feel so proud to give you a happy memory here in Belum Eco-Resort. I am waiting to serve your children in the year to come. We look forward to serve you again. Warmest regards, Steve

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed there for 2 nights. The people were all very nice. The rooms were simple but clean with an own terrace and bathroom with a great view:) The food was very good as well. It is the perfect place to stay, do jungle trekking and do watersports on the quiet lake. Furthermore they try to raise awareness for environmental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cloud1114
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear friend, I really feel great with your happiness and satisfaction staying with us, we get very encouraged with guest compliments and motivated to do even better next time. Have a good day and thank you for your kind review. Sincerely yours, Steve

Catterick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Eco-Resort. We were picked up at the jetty at lunchtime and as well as our very informative and helpful host, Steve Khong, we met up with a party of keen Malaysian and Singaporean bird watchers who were also staying there. On the first evening we travelled by boat to an observation point...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richard_blows1
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear Richard, You are one of the many who know how to enjoy good holiday! some people get upset with small little things and get the whole trip ruined ! We understand you didn't get the best guide, and you also didn't see that many animals in the wild, and yet you know how to make yourself enjoy the jungle...

Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed there for 4 days and wished it would have been longer. It's a really special place in the middle of unfortunately endangered nature. Once you've been there you'll understand why it's worthy to protect it and keep it safe from any mass tourism and the industry. During our stay, Steve, Robert, Tom and his team showed us a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matze977
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear customer, Our greatest responsibility to you is to ensure your stay with us is happy and enjoyable. it is easy to say than done because many a time things can't be beyond our control, like weather, boat breakdown hitting submerged stump and perhaps getting a guide that doesn't perform ! In your case we are happy that we conquered...

Kelkheim (Taunus), Germany
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Steve and Tom Khong run this resort with a lot of passion and have assembled a great and very friendly team. This is a real family-run outfit with perhaps not as many amenities as you would expect of a premier resort, but it's very authentic, and you know and see exactly where the money you pay is going. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tmebay
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear customer, My sincere thanks for your kind review, it is good to get compliments at time, your compliments will be our encouragement to perform better!! Thank you so much, Steve

Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Let's start with the good things. the environment is really great. And the chef makes every time an more than excellent meal for us. That is why we give it a good rate. About the excursions we are not so satisfied: -Round island cruising= the boat was just making a round and there was no one who point out something...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bvo73
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear customer, We appreciate your kind review and thanks for your honest opinion. the problem of getting good English speaking guide from among the local boat operator is a major problem, it is not about money, it is about availability especially during the peak season. we have used 90% of the decent operators here in lake Temengor, the really good...

holland
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We got picked up bij Tom by boat and went to the resort. The resort is great. It is hidden in the jungle and we were the only guest on the Island. Tom and his staff are all Very Nice and try to make your stay Very comfortable. The next day we went on a trip by boat to see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liananas
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear customer, Thanks for your kind review, yes I fully agree with you the quality of good English speaking guide going to Royal Belum is always our biggest problem ! this problem has been conveyed to the authority for years but the problem continue to exist, there is little an operator can do unfortunately !! we have excellent English speaking...

kuala lumpur
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A road trip was in the air for along time and so it came to pass. that we pounded the miles to Grik.We had seen lovely shots of the area so it would surely be good.Well untouched rain forests and a good drive it was.And a terribly expensive and poorly kept resort made us forget everything else.Food was listless and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suntanKualaLumpur
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Dear Mr Tan, I am sorry that you and your company didn't enjoy your trip as you expected, my sincere apology for that. Perhaps it was our man fault to assigned you a chalet of the older design due to heavy booking and first come first served priority . Sorry I can't comment on the price and food quality as...

tapah, perak
Reviewed 3 August 2016

nice and relax for family activities and good experienced...giving sweet memories for kids.. the jungle forest tracking is good but have to be get ready for kids..it was quite tiring after the jungle tracking and the tour guide helping a lot..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank machauwai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I went there on July 2016 with my family members. We was brought to the resort by house boat and it took about 1 and half hours to reach. The 1st stop we went to track the Rafflesia then we proceed to the resort. We had stayed at the A shape chalet which was clean and well maintain. Just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chen300
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this review

Hi Mr Chen, My apology for this late response ! I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as you have expected! water rafting was promoted some 5 to 8 years ago but due to the severe logging activities the river that we used to enjoyed rafting is literally vanished ! the silting and great reduction of water flow make...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerik
0.0 km away
Belum Rainforest Resort
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Haven Ipoh
0.0 km away
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Felda Residence Hot Springs
0.0 km away
Pangkor Laut Resort
0.0 km away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Belum Eco Resort ( BER )is the only private island resort in Lake Temenggor with pristine scenic environment offers guest a unique place to experience the 130-million year old rainforest of Belum-Temenggor forest reserved. It is the only resort far away from Banding island where noise and air pollution from the East West highway is most disturbing. Due to our strategic location our guests enjoyed the best opportunity to spot wildlife, birds and insects in its natural habitat plus the ever surprising magical sun rise and sun set scenery that occurs from time to time. BER offers guest excellent swimming, fishing and canoeing activities in the pristine environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.

Address: 25 Hala Rasi Jaya 7 | Banding Island, Gerik 33000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Price Range: $284 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd. Malaysia/Gerik, Perak
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd. staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The chalets numbered seven and up are undisturbed by the generator that runs by night.”
 of 5 bubbles tmebay, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Change it several times”
 of 5 bubbles suntanKualaLumpur, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good scenery for natural forest lover...”
 of 5 bubbles machauwai, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Toilet was located outside and a bit crammed”
 of 5 bubbles RockyKS1091, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are narrow and not suitable for tall people. Long walk to rooms on cobbled walkway so need to have reasonably strong legs and stamina. Insect repellent definitely recommended. ”
 of 5 bubbles sightsandfood, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay