We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bull Street, Maentwrog LL41 4HN Wales
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (26)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maentwrog
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grapes Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, located within the heart of Snowdonia, conveniently located to explore North Wales. The Grapes is one of the oldest coaching inn that offers charm and comfort and is one of the most popular venues for eating, drinking and relaxing. The hotel has 6 en suit bed rooms and two on site traditional snug welsh cottages that have recently been refurbished. The hotel is family friendly where you can relax on our newly built balcony and watch your children play on our play area.
Read more
Room & Suite (26)26
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Darts
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
374Reviews1Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 93
  • 28
  • 19
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
maddisonjm wrote a review Oct. 2020
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed as a solo traveller for a hill walking weekend and chose the Grapes as had happily stayed a while ago and was conveniently located for my routes. Once again very welcoming, nice room and food was very good, both in quality and value for money. Very popular with locals which is reassuring, and busy but warm atmosphere in evenings. Nothing really to disappoint, Covid restrictions were adhered to and nothing was too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ideally not over the bar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jay F wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution
I have tried lots of eateries in the area, and grapes has got something special. Upon knowing we were going there for dinner I thought it was going to be expensive.. But it was VERY reasonably priced. The staff were on the ball with an excellent waiting time to be served, and were incredibly helpful and cheerful, so much so, there was absolutely no hesitance in putting a tip on the bill. Fantastic atmosphere both inside and out, tidy and impressive beer garden and best of all, childrens playground. Upon discussing our experience, I learnt that Grapes Maentwrog has always been an excellent place. I don't usually write reviews, but after my experience today I just couldn't help myself. Keep up the good work! Bloody brilliant! PS. Adherence to guidelines surrounding COVID was beyond what is required with a bottle of sanitizer at every table.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
CliveG917 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom43 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights, met expectations room had everything we needed. The pub food choices varied, well cooked and decent portions. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nice relaxed atmosphere. In the current COVID environment we felt very happy with all the measures in place without being overbearing. I would recommend and revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Davies, General Manager at The Grapes Hotel
Responded 23 Sep. 2020
Thank you very much for your positive review and that you felt our covid measures made you feel happy. Hope to see you again.
Read more
Betti Z wrote a review Sep. 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We have visited this place mid July. When we arrived everything seemed alright we were welcomed by the bartender and a manager (?) We have got one of the cottage as we have requested. It looked nice etc... It was cold and a bit smelly but the electric heather has sorted that. After the road trip we did return to our cottage, had a nice dinner in the garden (this was the only one positive thing also the bartender was great). And then this is when the problem has started... had shower upstairs and it was raining downstairs through the light fitting. This was addressed to manager, there was two option to sort this out they said: 1. leave this place or 2. offered a tiny bedroom on top of the pub...for the amount of money no thanks! We have managed to get the other cottage thanks for that young couple. When we tried to go to sleep - i was already coughing a lot as i have a bad asthma so i thought it something isn't right... - i put my phone onto the bedside table and discovered that it was covered with WHITE MOLD! (i can share pictures with you if you don`t believe me) Of course we have left this place after all of this and yes we have got one night refund also we have got the snooty manager`s phone call at the middle of night that telling us all sorts and calling us all sorts! Disgusting customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Davies, General Manager at The Grapes Hotel
Responded 8 Sep. 2020
Really pleased that the cottages looked nice, you had a nice dinner in the garden and you felt most of the staff was great. I do recall the issue with the shower, there were two cracks on the tiles in the shower which led to water coming through, this was not possible to patch and we felt it was too dangerous for you to stay there, the shower surround was replaced the following day, you received a refund, we apologized and we moved you to the other cottage. There may have been a bit of mold on the table, they had been unused for three months during lockdown, but with regards the manager phoning you in the middle of the night!!, no chance, he would never do that, it is not in his nature. Its one thing raising these issues which were addressed but to include false allegations against a member of staff is disgusting of you!!
Read more
samwatkinson wrote a review Sep. 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom39 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a two night break. The staff are extremely friendly as are the owners, they made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely with a double aspect looking over beautiful views. Great facilities, very clean and an amazing shower! The food is really very good and reasonably priced and they have a lovely veranda and beer garden. The pub does get very busy with locals too but we had no problem with that, it was also nice to hear the Welsh language being spoken. Really lovely breakfast staff too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 103 - USD 134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesGwyneddMaentwrog
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grapes Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Grapes Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Plas Brondanw Gardens (5.0 km), Cellb Cinema (6.5 km), and Llyn Trawsfynydd (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grapes Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Grapes Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grapes Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grapes Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Caffi Kiki, The Eating Gorilla, and Isallt Coffee House.
Is The Grapes Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Maentwrog.
Are pets allowed at The Grapes Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grapes Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Harlech Castle (12.4 km), Yr Ysgwrn (8.2 km), and Portmeirion Village (8.0 km).
Does The Grapes Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Grapes Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.