We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Maqueda Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maqueda Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of Maqueda Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent level of service and hospitality. Very clean and welcoming. Full day safaris included expert guide and personal service. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to visit Kruger and surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review -it is highly appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future Warm regards David. On behalf of the Maqueda Team

Southport
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment you arrive David makes you feel so welcome. He and James are the perfect hosts. The meals supplied are all first class even for those with special dietary needs. The Trips into Kruger with James were mind blowing getting so close to wild animals. Unbelievable. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 921,200
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Wow - we highly appreciate your feedback and are of course delighted that you had such a great experience with us. Even better is the fact that you will be coming back to us which we really look forward to Many thanks again Sincerely David. On behalf of the Maqueda Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The perfect place to explore Kruger We were looking for a place close enough to Kruger so as to have great access to the famous park but not be inside the park itself, which attracts extortionate prices. To this end Maqueda Lodge was a great choice, lcated just a 10 minute ride away in Marloth Park (which is essentially just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mateus C
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Wow – many thanks for your wonderful review! Very much appreciated and we will stock up on lemons and Castle when you book your return trip! Please come back soon and we hope that you have a fantastic time whilst in this amazing country Warm regards David – on behalf of the Maqueda Team

sydney
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The manager - David - is the heart and soul of this place. Forever friendly, helpful and enthusiastic he made our stay interesting and enjoyable. Marloth Park is a fenced off part of Kruger which has been sub-divided and people have built holiday homes (most in astonishingly bad taste). Maqueda is built into the bush so this is not an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SydneyFlash
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - it is always very important to receive feedback from our guests as it is the only way we can improve - and there is always room for that. We are delighted that you enjoyed the game drives - the early starts can certainly be draining but it is always best if you can get...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed at Maqueda Lodge in Early December. David was the perfect host during our stay. The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of space. The communal dining experience was wonderful, as was the excellent food. James our safari guide was incredibly knowledgeable and ensured that we had an amazing experience in Kruger. We were fortunate enough to spot the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review - it is highly appreciated and especially as you mention all aspects of your stay Please come and stay longer next time! Kind regards David - on behalf of the Maqueda Team

Stendal, Germany
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Our stay was a pleasure, from arrival to departure everything was perfect and over expectations. We were warmly welcomed by David, the Manager of the lodge, who took care of us during our whole stay. We had our breakfast on deck while enjoying the friendly service and the special atmosphere. Besides the dinner was very delicious and excellent. The lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElkeUli
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for such a positive review - we highly appreciate it and would love to welcome you back! We hope that you had a wonderful Christmas and we all send you our love for the New Year PLease come back! Kind regards David..on behalf of the Maqueda Team

Tonsberg, Norway
Reviewed 11 December 2016

This is a lovely little hideaway & thank the universal that not too many people know about it. I had the was most excellant stay, they were sooooo accommodating it was peaceful & relaxing and David is the right person for the job he made everyone feel that they were special. I will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoegrivas
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review of Maqueda Lodge. It is highly appreciated and we would love to welcome you back in the future Kind regards David - on behalf of the Maqueda Team

Malelane, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We had a wonderful relaxing time at Maqueda Lodge in the bush. On our arrival David welcomed us personally and let us feel at home. The lodge is beautiful and nestled right in the bush, where we could relax in the quietness of the nature. The rooms are neat and the food of high 5 star standard, with friendly, helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerhard779
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a great time with us and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Thanks for mentioning all aspects of your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team. Kind regards David - on behalf of the Maqueda Team

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Had an awesome stay at Maqueda Lodge. The dining/lounge area is stunning and has a homely, relaxed feel with comfy armchairs, lovely decor and great mood lighting. The rooms are very comfy and spotless and the showers are great. The three-course evening meals are delicious and you get big portions, so you never feel like you haven't had enough. General...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andykun26
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thnaks Andrew for your wonderful review - it is highly appreciated and we would love to welcome you back with us in the future. Many thnaks for mentioning all aspects of your stay with us Kind regards David..on behalf of the Maqueda Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I am reluctant to write a review of Maqueda Lodge. I may not be able to secure a booking next time I visit. What a hidden gem! Beautiful African location and setting and complete with the perfect host! This small boutique lodge with accommodation for 18 guests and communal dining room is a sensory experience of what you would imagine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank intouchfayveitch
DRHollingworth, General Manager at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - it is highly appreciated. I apologize for the late response but I have actually been on leave for a few weeks. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and describe us as a 'hidden gem'. We work hard to differentiate ourselves in this competitive world of hospitality so it is very...

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
5.3 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 30 in Marloth Park
375 reviews
2.1 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 30 in Marloth Park
302 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 30 in Marloth Park
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 169 in Kruger National Park
87 reviews
1.6 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
199 reviews
18.0 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Price Range: $244 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqueda Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maqueda Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the hot water--sometimes it needs a quick "fix".”
 of 5 bubbles ror255, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good!”
 of 5 bubbles 285JennyP, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good. You'll spend your time out in the game park or lounging around the beautiful lodge surroundings”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We had one of the two upstairs rooms. Charming but I would have liked a more direct light in the shower. A/c but we didn't need it.”
 of 5 bubbles DianneR884, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Stairs up to some guest rooms might be steep / slippery for some. If in doubt request a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles S5646XJdavidb, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5