We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

My Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
My Village Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 316: English reviews
Start your review of My Village Hotel
 Click to rate
Leicestershire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay with a good team, there was only one person who spoke English but he was generally on hand. We organised 2 safaris with them both of which were great. The food was also of a high standard and the thali for dinner was enough to feed two. The shower wins the best we had in Sri...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGromits
China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we found this hotle by accident but it's really a good choice. when we came back from, Yala safari the room was cool and the food was good. you should try their cooking. the fried veg rice was the best we had in Sri lanka. and if you like sunset, the Tissa lake was right in front of the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summertimeke
North Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and thought it was great. Lovely, clean , spacious rooms with fabulous breakfast-go for the Sri Lankan option and you won't be disappointed. The hotel is a bit of a walk from Tissa centre and you will need a torch (there was one in our room), as there are no lights on the road....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bargainhunter6
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This hotel is a real find - a modern boutique hotel down a dusty lane just out of the centre of Tissa. It's near the lake but doesn't have access to it (if it did the prices might have to double!). It's newly built in polished cement. Rooms are fine but the extraordinary thing is the public spaces. There's room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We used this place to go to Yala National Park. It's about thirty minutes driving to the entrance of the park. After going to the park this is a good place to relax. Good food, good service and a clean, spacious room. WiFi works OK. Only thing is the power went down a few times in a row, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeroen l
psbbank
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This guest house is wonderful. It is not only excellent value, but just excellent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the garden is beautiful, the lounge areas are comfortable and relaxing. The staff can't do enough, nothing was too much trouble, not even being up to prepare a packed breakfast and lunch at 5am! The breakfasts and dinners we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psbbank
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 28 December 2016

+ beautiful hotel area and garden + good location to go on a safari + lovely packed breakfast and lunch boxes (pre-order) for safaris + mosquito net over the bed + tasteful dinner with huge portions - small menu - surrounding of the hotel dirty and unsafe Nice to know: --> 60 mins to Udawalawe NP --> 25 mins to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eurostar89
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This place is fantastic. Easily the best I have stayed at in Sri Lanka and one of the best anywhere. Beautifully done out guesthouse with statues and art everywhere in a lovely peaceful garden. Apparently it is owned by a designer and it shows. Rooms and surroundings are spotless and beautifully furnished. Breakfast and dinner were both lovely. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard A
Pondicherry, India
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Very relaxing place, good service, extremely clean. The place has a lovely atmosphere with the funky colors and lots of plants and trees. The shower didn't work great on the first night but it was fine the second night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trave11er00
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean and basic. We got the rooms downstairs but have heard the ones upstairs are bigger. Didn't get to try their food (aside from the free breakfast) as they were too busy for us. Located at 10 mins from town centre, so it's quieter (except for the howling dogs nearby).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeaniecyl
Myvillagelk, Owner at My Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you For your response . I have to mention , why don't you told me those points during your stay because i could have to help you . i was little surprise when i get average review for this because i tried to treat you my best to you during your stay . Anyway thank you what ever your...

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tissamaharama hotels
0.7 km away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
251 reviews
0.9 km away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
514 reviews
4.5 km away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lake View Cottage
Lake View Cottage
#3 of 14 in Tissamaharama
335 reviews
7.4 km away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
249 reviews
0.7 km away
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
Elephant Camp Guesthouse
#6 of 69 in Tissamaharama
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
My Village is a unique and exclusive garden guest house situated on the shores of lake Tissamaharama. Arriving at this lovely guest house hidden away behind unassuming plain walls with only three individually designed rooms. You are assured of peace tranquility and a professional service tailored to meet your individual needs. Restaurant serves Continental food and its specialty is traditional southern Sri Lankan cuisine, which takes your tastebuds all the way to heaven. ... more   less 

Additional Information about My Village Hotel

Address: Court Road | Punchi Akurugoda, Tissamaharama 82600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tissamaharama
Price Range: $53 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your My Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from My Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor gives best views”
 of 5 bubbles 350AndrewP, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The first floor rooms have more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles TharakV, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think I chose an upstairs room from all the reviews on TripAdvisor!”
 of 5 bubbles wrenren, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SueT349, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room in upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles samyedgar, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5