We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Belfry at Yarcombe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Belfry at Yarcombe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only had a night stop here, but would gladly have stayed longer. The Belfry is a lovely grade II listed building, full of character, but not short of modern comforts such as large, comfortable beds, nice towels and good quality toiletries. We stayed in 'Coleridge' - a spacious room that contains a nice sofa as well as a large,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constantgardenerKent
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Looking for a central place to stay whilst visiting such treasures as Lytham St Annes, Beer or Dartmouth, this is perfect! In a converted school the rooms are all different, with such comfortable beds, indulgent bathroom L'Occitane products, great range of complimentary in room hot drinks (no UHT milk in sight) and that old world charm, you'd expect from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flamingalaska
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Easy to find...and park! Going though the small village of Yarcombe, the building is very easy to find, but more importantly has its own private car park which is around 30ft from the front door. Go just for the breakfast... If you are passing through, do call in advance and pop in for the full English breakfast or the ‘Belfry’...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 771Foodie
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Booked for 5 couples walking weekend and get together. Cant speak more highly of the Belfry, owners were great, very welcoming and pleasant, and accommodating. Stayed 2 nights, breakfasts were great, excellent choice. Rooms very comfortable and well appointed. We had the restaurant all to ourselves Saturday night and had a great Roast Beef diner with all the trimmings, fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stonton
Crowborough
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

While the room was clean, though cosy, and I enjoyed a very nice English breakfast, this is not a restaurant with rooms as marketed, which was extremely disappointing and frustrating. To make matters worse, the advertised wi-if was none-existent for guests, although strangely enough there was a signal to process my credit card. One wi-fi for owner and one for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia G
hotelownerresponse, Owner at The Belfry at Yarcombe, responded to this review

No, we converted to a B&B very recently due to me sustaining a back injury and being offered a full time job. You booked through Booking.com who we requested change our name 6 weeks ago. We have put in the important information which was on your confirmation letter "Please note the restaurant is closed except for Saturday nights until 31...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This BnB is nestled away in a beautful valley where only the sound of bells break the silence. The Belfry is a characterful building with a unique feel. The hosts were very attentive and managed the busy breakfast spell well. On the topic of breakfast, a delicious, non greasy fry up of local produce and classy alternatives such as smoked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Maidstone
Reviewed 2 September 2016

A lovely oasis of peace; close to the A303, a great place to break your journey. You can be sure of a friendly welcome and a great English breakfast largely produced from fresh local ingredients. The Belfry is an interesting blend of olde worlde charm and modern creature comforts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripmanager
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Belfry , good rooms - superb breakfast , comfortable beds and excellent service from a really good host - thank you for making our overnight stop a real pleasure and for the recommendation of the The Candlelight at Bishopswood for supper as your restaurant was closed that evening ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethSparrow
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

I had the pleasure to stay here twice recently, and would very happily go back. As others have mentioned, the bathrooms have L’Occitane products, and there is an abundance of sweets and biscuits, and fair-trade tea and coffee. The rooms have TVs, access to free Wi-Fi, fans, hairdryers and additional electric radiators, but the central heating came on during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vic_sf49
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

An exceptional B&B, the place, and room was lovely, I had a lovely view over the valley. What made it exceptional was that the owners seem to be passionate about what they do....and they seem to do it really well. So many things were done to that bit a higher level, I'm wishing I'd made a list as I write...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover256

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarcombe
13.9 km away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
14.6 km away
The Pig - at Combe
The Pig - at Combe
#3 of 5 in Honiton
184 reviews
12.1 km away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#2 of 5 in Honiton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
260 reviews
0.0 km away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
22 reviews
27.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and unwind in our beautiful boutique 4* Restaurant and Rooms hotel set within an historic grade II listed old school built in 1870. With stone mullioned & leaded stained glass windows, fabulous individually designed decor and L’Occitane bathroom products, The Belfry provides the quality & level of service you would normally expect from a much larger hotel. Just off the A303 & close to the dramatic Jurassic Coast and Antiques Galore in Honiton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Belfry at Yarcombe

Address: Main Street, Yarcombe, Honiton EX14 9BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton > Yarcombe
Price Range: $125 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry at Yarcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Belfry at Yarcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Belfry at Yarcombe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are ground floor room if you prefer no stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles flamingalaska, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the diner at restaurant sat night if they carry on excellent food”
 of 5 bubbles stonton, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Having a room on the first floor would have better views than those on the ground floor if that is important to you”
 of 5 bubbles Steve25_12, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the church”
 of 5 bubbles derek19509, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“We had a front room by the road but didn't hear any noise. Ear plugs provided as Church bells may be intrusive but we had no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeW3750, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay