We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buckley Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Buckley Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough of the people who run it. It really was a rare treat for me. They were so knowledgeable about the surrounding area too,which was huge. I'm going back while they're there. If you asked a question and they didn't know the answer they would know someone who would.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lee Many thanks for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased we could assist. I'm also rather pleased you'll be returning, it is not only good for business, but it also makes us feel good about the service we provide, it means we're getting something right if folk want to come back. We'll be looking forward to making you welcome...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed at The Buckley Arms on Saturday, October 01, 2016. We arrived as weary guests following a flat tire on our rental car during our journey there from Bath, England. Gay and Keith, our gracious hosts, welcomed us into their lovely lodging, opened the bar (for a very welcome drink) and proceeded to assist us in our plight to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear from you again Nancy. I'm pleased we could be of assistance, although not much because it was the weekend! As you have written this review I can only assume the remainder of your trip went without any further hitch/es! It was a pity your hire car company weren't closer to assist but as you discovered we are...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I can't rate The Buckley Arms enough. I had a rare weekend off so decided to getaway or a night with my partner. Browsing on the internet I came across this gem and booked the superior room (Sir Edmund Buckley). Upon arrival we were greeted and shown our room, just lovely! The view out of the bay window with large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What can I say, apart from thank you for your lovely review. The only other thing I can add is it was our pleasure, we had a great weekend too with happy and responsive guests. Makes all the difference. Like I said, our pleasure. Gay

South coast
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Passed through Dinas in early October and stayed at a local campsite. Called in at the Buckley Arms to get dinner about 7pm. Staff were rude and unhelpful and we were told there was no food. I asked what time they stopped serving and was informed "we're just not doing any food now" At 7pm ? Jeeeezzz We needed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethpagejet
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion. I remember your visit well. I'm sorry we weren't doing food for casuals diners only residents. This was because there was staffing problems that week. I can only apologise for the reception you received, I can assure you that those involved will have further training. I'm sorry your experience wasn't up to standard and I...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This is an excellent family run hotel. The room was very nice with excellent beds and a bathroom with separate bath and shower. Hearing the sounds of the countryside whilst we were going to sleep was also very pleasant. Our evening meal and breakfast were also very good. I would be very happy to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we would be really pleased to welcome you back, just give us a call or email, whichever is most convenient. Thank you for your kind review, it is always good to hear everything went well. regards Gay

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, very comfortable rooms with friendly atmosphere absolutely fantastic views from our bedroom window, beautiful food cooked to perfection, breakfast and evening meals, very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas, all the staff we're very helpful we will definitely visit again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clifford H
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello again, good to hear your weekend went well, including the weather! That's always a risky one. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. All the very best, Gay

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived late on Friday night but was still greeted with a smile and a friendly face , we were shown to our room which was nice and clean . Full English breakfast was fresh and tasty . Food in the restaurant was plentiful and again fresh , price was about right , a very nice visit which I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david c
buckleyarms, Owner at Buckley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope your journey back went smoothly. Maybe see you again sometime. All the best Gay

UK
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Four of us (two couples) stayed at the Buckley Arms for a couple of nights over the Easter weekend. We had one superior and one standard double and both were a good size, clean, had character and we all seemed to sleep well. Given the choice, I'd pay the little bit extra for the superior- it was bigger, very light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank growlershot
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We stayed on a Thursday night in August which was quiet, but we received a warm welcome. Our room in the front was a little noisey due to cars passing on a wet road outside and the single glazed window in the listed building. Other than that the room was fine; a little tired in places, but it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huw E
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We stayed Hereford one night, as a base to attend a wedding in nearby Talyllyn. Well what a fantastic warm and friendly welcome at this venue. Beautiful surroundings, lovely olde worlde atmosphere amongst the beautiful furnishings. Fabulous hosts and rooms that are very good sized with all you need in them. A huge breakfast with plenty of choice. Our first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elainor w

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
23.1 km away
White Lion Royal Hotel
17.0 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,323 reviews
16.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
276 reviews
15.7 km away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
83 reviews
26.7 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Buckley Arms Hotel

Address: Minllyn, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales (Formerly Buckley Pines Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: $130 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Buckley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buckley Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Buckley Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid - you're better off having a beer in your own tent. There's bound to be more atmosphere and better service”
 of 5 bubbles Bethpagejet, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We highly recommend The Buckley suite- four poster bed and stunning view up the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles Parsleysage, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are a little quieter and have the views across the valley to the surrounding mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Dean-Traveller, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Romantic getaway? Ask for the four poster room.”
 of 5 bubbles CazBirmingham, 3 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Choose a rear room as there is considerable road noise”
 of 5 bubbles Twofreespirits, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay