We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Milford Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Milford Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for South Milford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 290: English reviews
GY
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This hotel appears to be in the middle of a refit, the room (room 171) we stayed in was clearly one of the rooms that hadn't been given a "facelift". The room itself was comfortable enough, if a little dated (the bathroom really needs replacing), it needs a lick of paint at the very least. Having said that, the TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GYsps
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GYsps, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to South Milford. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the lounge as our food offering is something that we have been working very hard on over the last few months. You are correct in your assertion that...

Reviewed 4 September 2016

The first stay was much better than the second stay. First stay had nicer staff (more hospitable, welcoming and chatty). The second stay the staff were like drones doing a job with the exception of two member of staff. One is the balding night-porter. The other is the older lady that works the bar/restaurant. There is a pool on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore S
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Salvatore S, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your recent visits. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your first visit, although obviously concerned that you did not feel that you got such a warm welcome on your second visit. I hope that should you return then you will experience...

wales uk
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We visit York and area about 3-4 times a year as a family with 2 teenage lads who are 6ft+! The family rooms in Premier Inns which are well over £100 per night near York are far too cramped with nothing to do but sit in the room. Here at the SM hotel family rooms are a reasonable £85 per...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CariadRed
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CariadRed, Thank you so much for your particularly kind review following your recent visit. It goes without saying that the team and I are delighted to receive such positive feedback. We share all reviews both positive and negative with all team members and those mentioned in your review will be most gratified to receive your comments. We continue to...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night after spending the day at leeds festival. Once checked in the first thing I wanted to do was have a shower. Unfortunately there was no hot water! Spoke to reception and they had no other rooms and we were advised to "wack the taps" and hope that worked... it didn't. We checked the water again this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninaballerina69
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ninaballerina69, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit over the Leeds festival weekend. I do apologise for the response you received from our night porter suggesting that you "wack the taps" if he did. By now our GM will have been in touch with you to hopefully address your concerns. I am however...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

As we were not camping, we was looking for somewhere local to Leeds festival. It was about a 20 minute drive which wasn't too bad. We had 2 rooms and paid 70 per night each. As we were arriving early we asked for early check in for one of the rooms which was £20, not bad considering thats £5 each....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Leeds festival. You are quite correct in stating that there were a lot of people attending the weekend festival resident on this weekend as we are probably one of the closest hotels to the venue. I am delighted to hear that...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Here is a big, rambling hotel in desperate need of care and attention. Despite having asked for a room on the ground floor due to problems climbing stairs, our room (admittedly on the ground floor) was approximately 120 yards from the reception desk; along corridor after endless corridors. THE ROOM: This was adequate, just - no bedside table on one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Auldgirth
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your long, vitriolic and withering review. You failed to state that you were provided with 2 complimentary drinks, I guess that you also forgot that you only walked down 2 corridors, ( as opposed to I quote "along corridor after endless corridors") I guess we both need to note if we pluralise. I would also note that...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here. Had a twin room booked, it was two single beds pushed together as a double. As we were colleagues staying in this room, this was awkward. We asked for another room at reception n was told fully booked (dont worry we were willing to pay) there was only a family room available But the lady said as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MandW108
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Having investigated thoroughly your review, and knowing the team here at the hotel well. I can state that it bears no relation to reality and simply ask that the kind visitors to this site reading this review, disregard it as spurious and read other more helpful factual ones. Thank you David

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Visited recently whilst attending a wedding not far from here. Great hotel, really warm and friendly staff. Our room was classed as a small double room and in fairness it was fantastic, better than other more expensive hotels. If ever we're up in Yorkshire again I would definitely stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin J
amancalleddave, Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. The team and I are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, found the room to be fantastic and value for money. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With Thanks and Kind Regards David

Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

It's been a few months since we had Sunday lunch here and, once again, we were not disappointed. A large group of us have just spent a delightful couple of hours trying the summer lunch menu. As always the service and attention could not be faulted with every request we made quickly responded to. Restaurant staff were attentive and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mizmoz3
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Travelling in from Edinburgh to London and this hotel was on route and available . Quite surprised at the decor of the rooms as the outside isn't much to talk about. It doesn't look like a hotel. Really needs a revamp. Pool area smells mouldy and not very clean but the pool itself is nice. Kids enjoyed it. Restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nixierodrigues

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
3.7 km away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
515 reviews
9.5 km away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
11.1 km away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Address: Junction A1 / A63 | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Milford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles andrewjetjockey, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“107 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles keithf153, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 103 easy access”
 of 5 bubbles angelahamilton255, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was in the 200s and was quite a walk from reception.The hotel is spread out rather than having several floors”
 of 5 bubbles 666Gothrob, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spend a couple of more pounds and go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Mariekev484, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5