We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull Inn

Northside, Matfen NE20 0RP, England
Save
Lowest prices for your stay
04/02/2018 05/02/2018
Are these your travel dates?
TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MatfenSee available hotels in Matfen
Traveller (4)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good9%
  • Average0%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“the pub” (13 reviews)
“warm welcome” (7 reviews)
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Pool
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Visited with a group of friends on a Hadrian's Wall walk. Lovely food in a fantastic setting. Then stood at bar having drink with owner who was so friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. A couple of friends arrived at 10.30 and he offered to quickly cook...More

Thank Woods833
Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 8 December 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. Your party was a delight to serve and were a great addition to our Thursday dining club! I hope the weather (snow) wasn’t too atrocious and we’re pleased you made the walk successfully. Call again next time you’re up this...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

Called in at The Black Bull for Sunday lunch yesterday, 3rd December 2017, first time there. Quite small inside, look larger from the outside. Real fires which given it was a cold day were welcomed. Good range of beers and a very well presented and...More

Thank Steve_Ellwood_13
Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you call in again soon. Alison

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Highly recommended! Go out of your way for Sunday lunch at this pub! Although we booked a table for 9 and arrived with 10 full-grown people, our extra person was readily accommodated by a local giving up his regular table with great good humour. The...More

Thank suecassidyburgin
Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for that positive review. We enjoyed your table’s company very much. Do call again.

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We dropped in here at the weekend, hoping for evening food. Unfortunately, they had just changed to winter hours a few days before, and were not doing food that evening. However, the landlord and landlady, Nige and Ali, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful,...More

Thank foxale
Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 19 September 2017

Thanks for that lovely review and sorry you missed out on our food. That is the challenge of being a "hidden gem" I suppose. Do call back again when you're next up proper North. We'd love to see Ellie's ears again! Ali

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I have eaten fabulous meals in restaurants, pubs and cafes before but never felt compelled to write a review….that is until I sampled the delights on offer during the Black Bull's 'Spanish night' last Thursday. The food was amazing, cooked fresh, locally sourced (or locally...More

Thank yfullwood
Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am really pleased you enjoyed our experiments in Spanish food - we had another customer in that night who regularly travels extensively through Spain and was also really impressed by the authentic nature of the food....More

About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Details
  • Location
  • United Kingdom >
  • England >
  • Northumberland >
  • Matfen
  • Also Known As
  • Black Bull Hotel Matfen
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil H
23 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Alison C | Property representative |
We are very dog friendly and have lots of equine visitors in summer. By "pet", what species do you mean? I wouldn't fancy meeting your pet tarantula or rat... 😨 Cheers Alison
0
Votes
Vanessa A
3 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Alison C | Property representative |
Sorry Vanessa, we do not have rooms here. Thanks for the enquiry.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Not applicable to our visit - we did not stay overnight but just visited the pub which is recommended."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing