We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bell Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Essex
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Called in to The Bell Hotel on the off chance that Sunday lunch was still being served, as just passing through Clare. We were seated very promptly and ordered two traditional Sunday lunches, one meatless and one with turkey. The food was so good, nice and hot and the variety of vegetables was superb; green cabbage, red cabbage, green beans,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexReviewer
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and it is very nice to finish on a high. We will be, unfortunately, leaving The Bell Hotel on February 4th but very nice people (Becky and Tom) will be taking over and I'm sure they will work to maintain the high standard. I've passed all your comments onto our staff and...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night due to working nearby, booked late on but no problems. The Bell is in a lovely sleepy village called Clare, has parking round the back and has a nice feel to the premises. The bedrooms are a good size with comfy beds, the ensuite was ok but for some reason the radiator had been isolated and due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rurapudding
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in writing this nice review. We take on board your comments about rates and will have a look, although our last rate review found that, with the exception of Ship Stores (a lovely local BnB) we were very competitive. We're very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service from our staff and look...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

So okay I normally give Greene King places a bit of a slaking but this place is an exception. It's in Clare a sleepy little town between Cambridge and Bury st Edmonds (a reason it's better?) mainly it's a pub that does food, but, the food is fantastic, none of this bitvest RUBBISH all prepared on site, tonight I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FEOE
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very informative review. Greene King are, I'm sure, very pleased as well and I will let them know. My husband, Dirk, is the German and he's over the moon to be described as "smashing" and he very much agrees. We will try to sort out that extractor fan and the other little bits mentioned...

Reviewed 10 January 2016

Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch in here yesterday, much improved by the new management deserve every success, ideally situated in the middle of Clare quaint bar areas with real fires, will be back again soon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean159
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very nice review. We, and our staff, have worked hard over the past year and are glad that there are some visible results. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Zara

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We have lived in the area for 20 years and have seen the Bell pub and food go from good to bad and back again several times under different owners, managers and tenants. The place has had more chefs than Master Chef; some good, some bad and some indifferent. Recent reports from friends were not encouraging so it was with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeLaLe123
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bell Hotel. It has indeed seen various chefs and owners over the years but we hope that over the past year we have brought it a little stability and an improvement in food and service. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and shall certainly work hard to "keep...

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Originally booked due to its location being 100mtrs from home, what a pleasant surprise we experienced. Surperb quality food, generous helpings and great hospitality. When word gets around locally that it serves the best Christmas fare in Clare,( and surrounding area) the opposition Should look to there laurels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger C
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We have had some fantastic comments over the Christmas period and I'm very pleased that you concur. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Zara

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We were recommended to try a meal at the Bell Hotel, Clare and chose to make a pre-Christmas visit to sample a festive menu. Having made a reservation we arrived and were shown to a table within the beamed classic period surrounding of the restaurant. Our food was duly served which met every expectation and more throughout our choices and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alansandra
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We always aim to please and the staff very much appreciate your kind words. We hope that you remain as happy on future visits and will work hard to ensure our high standards are maintained. Many thanks Zara

Clare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The place looked drab and urgent need of a face lift. Service was quite poor at the bar, and Tv poorly located, in a room that used to be the dining area. When we have eaten there in the past the food was reasonable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

As always, many thanks for your time and effort in posting a review. The TV is indeed located in the games room which was, previously, a dining area. It is situated there as it is near the bar, has access to the courtyard and is a self contained area. I'm sorry that you did not appreciate the location and we...

England
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Stayed there for two nights the other week. The rooms were a very decent size and clean. The bed was very squeaky (old fashioned spring noise every time you rolled over!).. We had dinner the first night there which was not good. We had 5 meals, and none of them we rated 4 out of 10. It was a shame.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiasusee
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

As always, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I confess to being surprised at your comments on the food as I believe you have included breakfast in your meal total and this may be the first negative comment on them. I do agree that we need to give precise information on check in as,...

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

My wife and I checked in last Friday 20th and enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Bell Hotel, for my 40th Birthday. Great room, huge size, lovely and warm. Also had 2 breakfasts which were great. We also dined in the hotel on the Saturday night, and that was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm sorry for the late response. I did pass on your compliments to all the staff and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks Zara

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
9.5 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
492 reviews
9.3 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
121 reviews
15.0 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Travelodge Haverhill Hotel
10.7 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,036 reviews
20.6 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Address: Market Hill, Clare CO10 8NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Clare
Price Range: $134 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sudbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good sized family room”
CaraF1983, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms outside which have their own front door”
298becksh, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book it”
horatio1805, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware there are no lifts so you need ground floor if stairs are a problem”
Batista012, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was very nice, we have stayed in the outside rooms before that are bigger but inside room was best!”
bigsteveking, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5