We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Horseshoes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Four Horseshoes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Four Horseshoes
 Click to rate
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came across the Four Horseshoes while staying in the area and stopped in for a lunchtime drink. Although not busy there was a really nice atmosphere and the staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. Good range of gins! We enjoyed it so much that we returned for dinner where the food was of excellent quality and value for money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeamTrone
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit! I'm glad you liked our range of gins, we're always looking for new brands to try, so we'll have a few more next time you're in. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

donpele
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently went to the Four Horseshoes for a meal on a Saturday evening, although the meal I had was very nice I was disappointed with the menu, there was nothing on it that you would not have for a mid week meal at home, If the menu had been on their website I would not have gone, I decided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donpele
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your recent visit. The Chef's are currently putting together our Spring/Summer menu, which will be available soon. Please do come and have a try! Get in touch and we'll be able to send you a copy to see if there is anything that takes your fancy. Thank you...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the pub cosy, comfortable and welcoming but were generally disappointed overall with our visit. Firstly, as there were 9 of us we had booked ahead and asked for a particular table & this was confirmed. When we arrived we could see another group were at the table so mentioned this to a member of staff. We were told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank No5ila
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your latest visit. We do always try to accommodate table requests where it is possible. I do regret that you couldn't have the particular table that you wanted on this occasion. As we only bring in fresh locally sourced meats, we cannot (as regrettable as it is) have...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the pub with my family on a Saturday lunch and we had forgot to book but the kind waitress Grace managed to find us a lovely table in the bar area. I'm a vegetarian and there was a wide range of choices on the menu and the one of the waitress behind the bar Emma, was really helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireGooch
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Hi Claire, I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, the team in the kitchen are always happy to adjust any of the dishes if they can to accommodate any dietary requirement. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, please do come back and see us soon!!

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Only popped in for a drink and snack on our way down to the Suffolk coast. We were immediately greeted by the barmaid Izzy who was incredibly friendly and mega efficient. There was nothing particularly exciting on the snack list but the quality and freshness of the sandwiches we had ( together with some chips and salad) was truly lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfer12Bedfordshire
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to leave us such a sweet review, Izzy will be thrilled to hear she helped to make your visit! Please do come back and see us soon!

Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

i love this place . i stay here 3 or 4 times a year and enjoy every minute . the welcome and service is always friendly and professional . well looked after and lovely ambience . a proper country pub with good food and drink . i wouldnt go anywhere else for a lovely weekend ,on myown , or with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We always look forward to your stays, don't leave it too long!!

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

I was really looking forward to our meal as I'd heard great reviews however my husband and friend ordered lasagne as they discovered it was cold in the middle .The meals were replaced with piping hot food and lots of apologies but not once we're we offered a reduction in the bill .I had the Strawberry cheesecake and was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAWNNSCOTTY
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Whilst I am embarrassed that your original meals were not quite up to temperature, I am slightly confused as it almost sounds like you're complaining that the returned meals were piping hot (as they should be) and that our staff were apologetic over the mistake! That's a very odd thing to be complaining about! It is difficult for staff to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My wife and I spread our visits to Pubs in East Anglia for mostly lunches, choosing those with consistently good food, ambience and attentive staff, especially those where the meals are freshly made and cooked by the chef. So many are buying in the popular dishes readymade, the same dish shows up all over the place. We have visited the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryan904
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Hi Bryan, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely recommendation for our food and service! We are very lucky to have such a beautiful building and a team who work tirelessly to continue to bring fresh takes on old favourite dishes. We all look forward to your next visit! Many Thanks Sarah

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

It's nice to find a dog friendly pub while you are on your holidays and the owner made a big fuss of our dog. We both had Sunday lunch and settled for the carvery. Good selection of meat and a wide array of veg. Meal was good but the veg and potato's could have been a little hotter. Good service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Luke K
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, I'm glad you found us on your holiday and enjoyed your meal with us. Please pop in and see us again when you are next in the area! Many Thanks Sarah

Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Popped out for a quick lunch time snack. Ordered a cheese and pickle sandwich on granary bread. Unfortunately the bread was very stale. I returned it and said that I would have the same filling but in a warm baguette. It was soon replaced but I'm sorry to say that the baguette was not warm and didn't really seem cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilightfull
Sarah K, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Oh no! This doesn't sound like our usual high standards! Our staff work so hard to try and make every guests visit a pleasant and relaxing on, (although some guests just aren't looking for that!) Please try to enjoy your time with us next time and maybe allow staff to help if your meal isn't to your satisfaction.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham Magna
6.5 km away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
6.7 km away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
415 reviews
9.0 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
302 reviews
0.8 km away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
310 reviews
2.1 km away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Said to be Suffolk's oldest inn, The Four Horseshoes is a family run traditonal thatched inn, dating back to the 12th C.We have 7 en-suite B&B rooms, with evertything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our rooms are decorated on a yearly basis and we have held a 4 star Visit Britain rating every year since taking over in 2008!Our restaraunt and bar areas boast an extensive menu of traditional homecoooked food, using fresh and local produce. We also offer a range of daily specials and delicous desserts. At the bar you'll find a range of wines from around the world and a selection of award winning real ales.Our two function rooms can cater for a range of occasions - be it a business meeting with use of our projector and screen - or a party for 10 to 100 guests, we offer many different options.We hope you will find a warm welcome and a comfortable atmosphere at The Four Horseshoes, and below is a list of what else you may find...........~~~ Free WI-FI ~~~ A Whole Acre Of Car Park ~~~ Countryside Walks On The Doorstep ~~~ Large Enclosed Beer Garden ~~~ Iglenook Fireplaces ~~~ Large Sheltered Smoking Area Patio ~~~ Friendly & Helpful Staff ~~~ ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Horseshoes

Address: Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thornham Magna
Price Range: $116 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Horseshoes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Four Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes Hotel Thornham Magna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Horseshoes staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Four Horseshoes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“never stayed over as it is within 40 minutes of home”
bryan904, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Since we did not stay we only went there for Sunday lunch”
Agbhol14, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the room for spiders!”
CrackerDC21, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were at the back and the only sounds were birdsong. No noise from the bar or the smoking area even with the window open.”
ChristineT24, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 21 24 and 26 , all excellent”
jayjayjc, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5