We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Smari

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Smari
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Hotel Smari was our first stay in Iceland, and we were pleased with the accommodations. Staff was friendly and very willing to help with our questions. We stopped by early to see if there was a place to store our luggage while we did some early sightseeing, and we were pleasantly surprised to be able to check in, since the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MizCharli
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear MizCharli, Thank you for choosing Hotel Smari and for reviewing the hotel too. We are very pleased to read your lovely review and proud of your compliments too. We hope we can welcome you back one day. Best regards

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Great breakfast and clean, quiet rooms.The water smelled like sulfur. I am guessing that is normal for Iceland. I would stay here again. Location right on road from KEF airport and within walking distance to mall. Great India Street Food just up the street. Staff very helpful in making connections with tours and ferry to Westman Islands.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel I
Maria M, Receptionst at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear Daniel I, thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated your stay here at Hotel Smari, and we agree with the nice Indian restaurant in 2 minutes walking distance. Thank you so much for the compliments to our lovely staff. Best regards.

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in Iceland, I didn't pick this hotel as booked this trip through Groupon, so pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. Reception staff were so helpful regarding tour pick ups and couldn't do enough to help us. Would recommend the golden circle tour with gray line. Gray line tour company has been fantastic, would definitely recommend them, haven't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachfoley1510
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear rachfoley1510 Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate your review and recommendation for other guests. Our staff is delighted you enjoyed your time here.

Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The room was reasonably large for Iceland and was kept immaculate. The staff was alway friendly and helpful It was walking distance to a mall (quite expensive like most of Iceland) and several restaurants. We had a rented car it was a 10 minute drive to Reykjavik. In short, a nice, conveniently located and less pricey place to stay when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr Mike A
Maria M, Receptionst at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear Dr Mike A Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward welcoming you again and again in the future. I am very glad that our service concept came through as we are here to make the stay as friendly and relaxed as possible. Best regards

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We used Hotel Smari as our first (on the way in) and last (on the way out) hotel in Iceland. It’s easy to find as it backs up to hwy 41 and is painted blue. You can see it from a half mile away. It’s also located to Iceland’s largest shopping mall, which is quite nice, if you’re into such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank runner24
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear runner24 We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Iceland and we do appreciate your thorough review. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again someday.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

firstly there are/were two hotel Smari's, one at the Keflavik airport ... one next to Reykjavik in Kopavogur (this one), but the one at the airport has to change it's name apparently as it seems to be causing confusion and poorer reviews for the real Hotel Smari. These guys seem to know what they are doing. The hotel staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nearby2
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Iceland. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Smari. Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your thorough and descriptive review. So much appreciated. We are sorry about the teaspoon. ;) Hope to see you again!

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived very late and our room had some issues. We were immediately helped and were even served breakfast at 4 o'clock in the morning! Overall it is a very neat hotel that has very friendly staff and very nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sven L
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

We are so delighted to hear you had a great stay with us this summer and truly appreciate that you took the time to rate us. We would love to welcome you again any time.

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Room was okay, but way too noisy, as facing a street. Unfortunately, windows in the room cannot be opened, so it was quite warm after some hours of midsummer sun. Service was okay, dinner (halfboard) was less than that. Our highlight was the breakfast, which was really much better than expected.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bastoK
Maria M, Receptionist at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear BastoK We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Iceland and most importantly we do appreciate your thorough review.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Smaril. It was conveniently located (we rented a car). The room was small but well planned, the wifi worked well. The room included breakfast which was all you could want or need for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JL452015
Helena V, Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this review

Dear JL452015 Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Hótel Smári. Hope to see you again soon Warm regards Helena

Borgarnes, Iceland
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Hótel Smári in Kópavogur is a nice hotel me and my wife have visited in wintertime for the last seven years when we are doing our christmas shopping in Kópavogur. Smáralind Icelands finest shopping mall if few hundreds meters away, with great cinema, shops and restaurants, there are also other restaurants in the neighbourhood. The hotel is very clean, the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank HVITAtravel

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (48)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
243 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
997 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Smari is a three star hotel in the great capital area, Kopavogur, with well furnished rooms for business and leisure travellers who are looking for a comfortable stay in Iceland. We have 47 rooms with private bathrooms, TV, hot water kettle, coffee/tea, hairdryer and free WIFI. Free parking on site. Included is a continental breakfast served all mornings. The hotel is located in a business area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is ready to assist guests with booking of excursions, rental cars and other travel arrangements. From Hotel Smari to Reykjavik center is 10 minutes by car and 20 minutes by bus. Our guests have free parking and easy access for buses. Our staff can arrange pick-up and drop-off from Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik Bus Terminal on request. The hotel is located in a business area only 300 meters from Smaralind, the largest shopping mall in Iceland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Smari

Address: Hlidasmari 13, Kopavogur 201, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Price Range: $183 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Smari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Smari staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Smari staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not close to downtown but it is accessible by public transit”
 of 5 bubbles jbyne26, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were allocated Room 302 on the third floor .It was at the end of the building and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles janbU4627YI, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles 1to3sold, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“choose a room on the 3rd floor. Get to breakfast 7-8.30am is the best time.”
  • wet room shower
  • view from room
  • view from room
 of 5 bubbles radicol2001, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room opposite of the front door if you don't want to see blinking lights from building across from hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles tinag6813, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5