We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 559: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros, 1. Good and helping staff 2. Not very high pricing (mid range) 3. Not very crowded place 4. Very close to a beach (beach water is not very clean) 5. Good place to relax with family 6. Good quality and tasty food (at least for vegetarians I know as I am :-d ) 7. Recommended for families Cons, 1....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krishan_PSingh
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our main problem with this hotel is that we paid approx. $125 a night on Booking.com. You wouldn't pay that much for this room at this hotel anywhere else in the world, let alone India. The breakfast buffet was fantastic however and breakfast staff was very friendly. Reception also helped out. The water was hot. Wifi barely worked. Wouldn't go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoverRose
Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located near Vainguinim Beach which is almost outskirts of the city and moreover from all the major tourist attraction. You will not find any local transport facility near the hotel moreover no hiring facility available nearby for self driving cars or bikes. The only transportation available is at the hotel lobby, who will charge you a fat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rexsonjjoy
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel to relax in, clean and well equipped. Downside was the noise levels, we could hear kids running around outside our room. Decent musical entertainment and dining options. Pool was also nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenbess
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! Thank you for the great rating and a review. Since this resort is mostly preferred by families we get kids too and they can be difficult to control sometimes. If you prefer quieter room we request you to kindly mention your preferences. We take room preferences and try and fulfill all...

Moradabad, India
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Went to Goa in September and stayed at sandalwood with my family. It's a great place to be. We were given a suite on third floor which was a two bedroom air conditioned apartment with a huge living room. There were 3 balconies. 3 TVs, 4 split ACs, a big fridge, kitchenette and even a small bar counter. Couldn't ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VineetMalini
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! It's an immense pleasure to read such great reviews as it gives the team the moral boost to go over and beyond in serving our guest. We thank you for the response and a fantastic one. We look forward to your future visits, Warm Regards, Kamran Siddiqui General Manager

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Visited Oct 2016. Hotel was not great. Location was ok. Reception staff were not friendly. Rooms look very old and small. Pathetic maintenance. AC doesn't work sometimes. We changed our room as AC was not working. Lot of insects/mosquitos. Not clean environment for a Goan environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhanu P
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! We regret that you didn't find our hotel as per your requirements, I request you to write to us in detail about your stay experience. As per our records you stayed in a room which is a large 50 square meters suite and there is no room change registred. However we...

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We were a family of three who stayed from Oct 9 to 13 2016 in a single bedroom suite (Room 231). I had driven all the way from Bangalore to Goa for 11 hours and when I reached the hotel, I was greeted by an unfriendly, rude lady at the front desk. Even the manager, Mr. Casper, to whom I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sukhdevbsingh
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The restaurant and staff are perfect specially Philip the restaurant captain , food and breakfast is absolutely good, maybe the strongest point of the hotel is the restaurant. We arrived early in the morning but they gave us room so we didn't have to wait till 2, The rooms are mediocre, the cleaning can be improved, and rooms need some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamed g
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Id give this place a 2 star , because it was basic. but the hospitable staff made up for it! I liked the friendly nature of the staff and employees were Extremely cooperative ( took printouts for me for free etc ) So, I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days , and It was pleasant . but Kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nycl907
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! I would like to thank you for taking out time and reviewing us here. I am glad that though you rated us low but you are still all praises for our hotel and the team. Yes I agree that it's located at a quite place and is meant for people who...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Hotel is <ok>, Food is <ok> , location is also <ok>. But the staff is terrible, extremely rude and not at all cooperative.Although they are in hospitality business but they lack even basic sense of understanding that not everyone come for holiday to hear their loud noise and slutty Bollywood songs.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank madhavi s
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! We regret that a two hours Music from a different group disturbed you however I wish to inform you that as a hotel we have to cater to all type of guests and sometimes one groups likings may not match the other hence such programs are kept crisp and short. We...

698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
Adult Pool (15)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Premier Room (52)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (58)
Viewed
Penthouse (101)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
1.3 km away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 11 in Dona Paula
1,288 reviews
6.3 km away
The HQ
The HQ
#1 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
240 reviews
0.1 km away
Prainha Resort
Prainha Resort
#3 of 11 in Dona Paula
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
16.3 km away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 16 in Anjuna
363 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 62 in Candolim
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Region: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Price Range: $87 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Hotel And Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat Goa/Dona Paula
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dona Paula
#2 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and lonely resort”
 of 5 bubbles rexsonjjoy, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are four adults go for the suite room instead of 2 rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles VineetMalini, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a good hotel to select Good room...”
 of 5 bubbles BhanuPraveeng, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid higher floors as there are no elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles sukhdevbsingh, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Garden facing or Pool facing.”
 of 5 bubbles nycl907, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay