We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Red Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Visited the Red Lion on the off chance. First impression was that the menus may be expensive - but to our surprise the food on offer was reasonably priced. The welcome was good and our waitress was very attentive. We decided upon a main course from the A la carte menu, and whilst waiting for them to arrive we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 188buckleberry1
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We're glad you found the food to be reasonably priced and that you had such a great lunchtime experience. We'll look forward to seeing you on your return visit

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I decided to meet a client halfway and chose the red Lion as I had been there with my family before. The client is a fussy old devil and takes delight in finding something however small to complain about. He was disappointed - he couldn't find anything to complain about. Service was good the food is ridiculously good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meatyffoeg
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

I guess we're glad your client was disappointed and couldn't find anything to complain about (I hope for your sake they don't read reviews on trip adviser 'fussy old devil')!! Thank you for posting a review of your latest visit and we hope to see you and your family back again soon.

Wargrave, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was rather picked at random since I was attending a wedding event in the area, what an excellent choice it turned out to be. My single room (#2) was compact but very comfortable, the bed especially, everything was spotless, the hospitality tray second to none (but I would have liked an Earl Grey tea bag - but no biggy)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for both of the reviews you have posted for us. Its lovely to be so highly recommended and we really are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Hope you return to us and the area again sometime soon.

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent traditional country pub. One night stay and wished it could have been more. From the food to the friendly welcome everything was amazing. Dogs are welcome and next time I visit I will be taking mine. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The food was fantastic and the hosts very friendly. There is nothing negative to say about this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittlekingT
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for posting such a lovely review about your stay with us. Its so nice for everyone to read such great comments. We all look forward to seeing you and your dog back here again very soon.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This was our third visit to the Red Lion, with two friends we made a long weekend attending Ragly Hall game fair, the Red Lion topped the weekend. It is such an pleasure to stay at a traditional country pub within 40 minutes from Ragly Hall. To state that we were made more than welcome is an understatement, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
RedLionManagers, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

WOW!! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you, your guests and the dogs had such an enjoyable weekend. As people that travel with a dog too we know how difficult it can be to find comfortable accommodation which is genuinely dog friendly and I'm pleased to hear we ticked all the boxes....

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Just had the most perfect Saturday Lunch at The Red Lion. Really friendly pub and the dog made to feel especially welcome. Have eaten here before but never written a review, but I really think this place should be commended for being consistently excellent Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aitkenfamily63
RedLionManagers, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of The red Lion. It is always a pleasure to see you all (and of course Digby) and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Thank you for recommending us so highly!!

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights, 2 rooms, as a birthday surprise for an elderly friend. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and we will definitely be back again. Highly recommended if you are in the Cotswolds area - one of the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Red Lion. I'm glad the birthday celebrations were a success and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We were travelling South to a Wedding and drove past this Inn, feeling hungry and tired we stopped, doubled back and parked up. The settings was wonderful and the greetings we received was first class. We sat down and could tell immediately it was a well run and busy place. Drinks arrived soon after the food was on our tables....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Very glad you chose to take the scenic route to the wedding and came across us. Thank you for the lovely review, kind comments and your top marks will be passed on to all the staff. Hope you all had a nice weekend away and hope to see you again soon!

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We were four including one disabled one vegetarian. Access for disabled reasonable from the good carpark...the staff told us that it is better from the front . The choice available was excellent ...we went Prix Fix 2 course three soups one pate, three fish cake ensemble and one chicken breast with real savoy cabbage...everything a real delight. Good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank langman2016
RedLionManagers, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Red Lion. We're pleased you all enjoyed your meals from our Prix Fixe menu and, now you've found us, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a great lunch here. Nice decor, friendly polite staff. Wonderful red pepper Brie and spinach filo parcel with pesto cream and each main served with lovely freshly cooked side vegetables and potatoes of your choice. My husband had a calves liver which he loved , good portion sizes too. Fabulous banana and pecan bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky T
RedLionManagers, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time post a review, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. The calves liver is a always a winner! We hope to see you again very soon.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Compton
8.4 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,003 reviews
8.4 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,759 reviews
21.1 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
937 reviews
11.7 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
288 reviews
8.5 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lion at Long Compton ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Main Street, Long Compton CV36 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Long Compton
Price Range: $150 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We ate at the pub and rated as a pub not a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles P9813YJrachelc, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, just ate in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 928RichardS, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Well furnished rooms and the pub is in a great location. Close to the wonderful Cotswolds. Perfect for both business and leisure trips.”
 of 5 bubbles mdsnape, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 is comfy with good bath”
 of 5 bubbles dwinpenn, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would seem to be very similar”
 of 5 bubbles roger0744, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5