We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essex Golf & Country Club

Save
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good35%
  • Average23%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Essex Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
80
113
81
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
80
113
81
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtscontinental breakfastleisure centrepulse barpool facilitiessauna and steam roomgolf breakground floorchristmas partythree course mealcar parkpleasant staytwo night staystayed here for one nightgreat golf coursefollowing morningcomfy bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

This is a 3* hotel. Good clean accommodation, comfy bed, great shower and bath, very helpful staff, brilliant facilities! I mean where do you get a pool, spa, sauna and golf course for £60-70!! Seriously!! If you complain your being completely unreasonable!! It’s not a...More

Thank jc3cook
Response from TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country ClubResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for this lovely review, We hope to welcome you back in the future. Many Thanks

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed for a friday night only in room 12 which is on the ground floor close to the entrance. Room size is fine but looks out on to a walk-way for golfers a metre or so from the window, so can see right inside...More

Thank caulifl0wercheese
Response from TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country ClubResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We really appreciate all feedback with a view to improve where ever we can, with your reference to painting, we are in the process of re-painting all rooms and hope...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

A one night stay here. Stopped in the lodge which was fine. Clean room, comfy bed and a great powerful shower. However the issues here revolve around food. I had to wait a fair while for my evening meal, which when delivered was the wrong...More

Thank sowie
Response from TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country ClubResponded 15 January 2018

Hello there Sowie Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and I'm so glad to hear you were happy with your room , I do hope you managed to make use of the great facilities also. I am sorry to hear about your issues...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

The facilities for the hotel are pretty basic. It seems to be aimed at golfers staying overnight rather than operating as a regular hotel. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Staff are very friendly and helpful and friendly. Catering for our breakfast was very poor....More

Thank Debbie H
Response from TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country ClubResponded 26 September 2017

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms to be clean. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a nearby wedding. It was an interesting stay, with it's downsides - but the things that went wrong were rectified swiftly and quickly by the amazing staff here. At 65 a night for the golf view,...More

Thank mikebrown84uk
Response from TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country ClubResponded 26 September 2017

Good Afternoon Mike Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view of our course from your room and the fantastic leisure facilities on offer to our guests. I'm sorry to...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Golf Course
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 77 - USD 119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 77 - USD 119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (5)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Katiee E
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TheEssex | Property representative |
Hello there, the facilities are open from 7:30am-8:30pm on a Saturday and Sunday but please note children are not permitted before 9am and after 7pm at the weekends. We look forward to welcoming you.
0
Votes
IceGemzB
20 January 2017|
Answer
Response from TheEssex | Property representative |
Here at the Essex, we offer a large range of Techno Gym equipment, everything from free weights to cross trainers. With also a large amount of classes to choose from, there is always something going on. To see our current... More
1
Vote
Adele B
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheEssex | Property representative |
Hello Kevin, If you would like to contact us directly, the reservation team will be able to send you over a menu. Best wishes, Hotel Manager
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Great views from the Gold View rooms, but hopefully the lawnmower doesn't wake you up!"
Read review
"Ask for a golf course view or face the car park !"
Read review
"The lodge was fine for a night or two. Rooms looking out at the golf course."
Read review
"no.38 overlooked the golf course"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing