We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,031: English reviews
West Linn, Oregon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A large well appointed room with a great view of the estuary and it's magnificent tidal and bird show. This hotel has everything one would want including an indoor pool, great restaurant, good hiking and a pub 5 minutes away. I've told all my friends about this place and I'm planning a return stay soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a two night B & B stay for a getaway weekend here and got a brilliant out of season deal on a deluxe room with an amazing breathtaking view over the river estuary. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and always ready to help in any way. We ate in the hotel on the first night which was...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaxh56
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaxh56, Thank you so much got your review! I am looking forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went October and New Year's Eve fab hotel staff great loverly food we had the room with view and balcony and extras the swimming pool is great although pool could be bit warmer cant wait to go back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in October and New Year!! We will look forward to seeing you soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had just a one night stay here and for what we paid it was great value. Clean and tidy, with a lovely location (estuary views) and food available in the restaurant or attached pub. One lamp shade was a different colour to the others, there was only one pack of biscuits for two people and tea/coffee was limited. Shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you wanted more biscuits or tea and coffee, our reception team would've been more than happy to supply this for you. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice spacious rooms good wifi nice food in the pub friendly reception unfortunately gym was not open so no feed back on that. Directions to hotel need more signs explaining how far from turn off the main road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adam G, Thank you so much for your feedback. I will share your review with the rest of the team. Kind Regards Carley Warren

Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here using Tesco vouchers and were not disappointed. Having read very mixed reviews, we were slightly anxious about our visit. However, the room was great - a standard room, but very large,; clean; views over the estuary;and adequately well appointed for a 3 star hotel. The decor had a slightly institutional feel throughout, and carpets on stairways could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mblacker
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mblacker, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will look forward to sharing your review with the team We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated at the end of a no-through road on the river, this is a very smart hotel with friendly welcoming staff. We had booked a cheaper room situated opposite the hotel in a 2 storey motel-style building (no lift though) - the room was a very good size and had all the amenities you'd expect including tea & coffee. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John L, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our Lodges which are part of the main hotel, and are the same price our the rooms in the main building. I will look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest...

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We book last minute. Just as a quick getaway on our bikes. We booked a deluxe rooms with a view and it was lovely. Nicely decorated, spacious and nice view. We really enjoyed the breakfast as it was served and not a free for all buffet. We also stayed in the Best western in Dartmouth before and they done the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69Brooksy
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 69Brooksy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the good bits. We had a deluxe room with a lovely view of the estuary. The balcony was great at 12 o'clock as we could see lots of fireworks in the distance. The room was clean warm and comfortable. We did have a very good price as we booked way back in the summer, after staying for one night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Serendipity10_10
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Serendipity10_10, Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry but I believe there has been some confusion about our New Years Eve meal at the hotel. There was a open night party at the hotel, which anyone could book tickets to attend, this does get booked up very quickly in advance and then the guests see the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over Christmas 2016 and enjoyed the experience on the whole. The appartment was self-catering and apart from a slightly illogical layout to the kitchen (eg a fixed table in the way of the microwave) worked well. The view across the estuary was impressive with only a slight distraction caused by an industrial plant on the far bank. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GrahamM, Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay with us. I am aware that the Manager discussed this with you in length during your stay. I do hope that you would consider staying with us again so that we can provide you with the superior...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
10.6 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.1 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
199 reviews
11.4 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
600 reviews
6.2 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Price Range: $83 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick one over looking the water”
 of 5 bubbles 862donaldw, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If staying for a while or on holiday it would be worth paying the extra for an estuary view.”
 of 5 bubbles 328lesleyl, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“205 had lovely views over the estuary, but was over the bar so could be noisy if the hotel had an event going on so check when booking”
 of 5 bubbles Mblacker, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No lift in the annexe rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 420JohnL420, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room with view”
 of 5 bubbles Serendipity10_10, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay