We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Olde Bell Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Olde Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 816: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We took a trip here again after spending our wedding night here in 2013. Well after 2 room changes we settled only just for a freshly painted room in the main building. So fresh it was headache worthy. The first room given to us was an adapted room?? Over on the right hand side of courtyard. We did not specify...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologise for the poor condition of your room. I totally understand your frustration and disappointment. I have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that other guest do not face the same experience. Also my senior team have audited all of our bedrooms and we have failed to find any traces for the same....

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Restaurant booked for lunch with two friends. Wife and I booked to stay overnight. Restaurant extremely cold, only 4 dinners, and no heating on. Waitress arranged for it to be put on but hardly warmed up by time we had all finished. Late morning, prior to lunch my wife tripped over unlit step, immediately left inside main hotel entrance, on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveLyons
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great wedding venue, with lots of possibilities, the staff really listens to your wishes. We had decided on a small and intimid wedding. Getting married late afternoon and have a nice 5-course dinner as evening activity, with all guests staying over in the same building. For us, the Library was the perfect location to say 'I do'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline. Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing our hotel for your wedding celebration. I'm happy that you enjoyed your special day and I'm looking forward to welcoming you again the the future. I have shared your review with my entire team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held our wedding reception here in 2006 and thought it would be nice to return for our 10 year anniversary. We booked a celebration package in a superior double room. We arrived and we're a little disappointed at the state of the room - there was nothing superior about it. The tiles in the bathroom were dirty, as was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RPullen82
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations. It was disappointing to read that your return visit was not as memorable as your wedding reception and I am truly sorry. Since your stay, we re-trained our housekeeping team to ensure...

Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for two night stay to accompany a reservation at the nearby Hand & Flowes in Marlow for our anniversary, a fortnight ago.The luxury room description promised a little slice of heaven/incredibly peaceful/in-room claw foot bath tub,views of the grounds stunning gardens. The Confirmation email read that payment would be taken up front. I was more than happy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrice B
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of visit to The Olde Bell, our main priority is to be able to offer every guest a very well-maintained and...

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a Luxury Double and was disappointed to see this as I walked in to my room. More like a student bedsit with poor lighting. Needed to shower in the complementary slippers given the state of the shower tray too. Could have been so much better as it's a wonderful old building.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panini999
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve our services. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. we are in the process of decorating our rooms and I am sure that you will see an...

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had Sunday lunch yesterday, Sunday 6 Nov 2016 at the Ole Bell in Hurley. My meal and 2 others' meals were very poor. Starters: Whitebait. Only just warm and rather soggy. I sent mine back and it was returned hot but still soggy. A friend had tomato soup with no bread. He asked for some and it arrived after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah M
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your lunch with us at The Olde Bell. At the Olde we pride ourselves on constantly improving our service, so I am grateful you have taken the time to inform me about your unsatisfactory experience with us. I have shared you comments with the Head Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager. I can...

Rising Fawn, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having come from an abysmal room in London at a similar price, and it being lusted as a "bolthole" bedroom, I expected not much, but was quite pleasantly surprised. Although across the street from the main, it was modern, warm, and quiet. It had every standard amenity and an especially roomy shower. I would happily consider it again, should I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soarjean
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your most recent visit to The Olde Bell. I am pleased to hear that our rooms was " modern, warm, and quiet". At The Olde Bell we value customers like yourself and so I am so very pleased you have taken the time to inform us about your enjoyable stay with us....

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Should your stay not go as planned or you find yourselves needing to contact this hotel following your stay. Do not expect any help. After an unsatisfactory stay I have been promised telephone call backs from Reception and Management team that never happened. I escalated my complaint and the wider management do not care and have no interest once they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah D
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah We are deeply sorry you have not received our contact on both Monday and today. I was not at the office for the past couple of days, but have personally sent you e-mails on both occasions addressing the issues you mentioned, also thanking you for the compliments on our team, hoping you would give us the opportunity to...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

*Disclaimer* I am a very honest, firm but fair person. I will start with all the positives and add any experiences or areas I think need some attention to toward the end. We stayed for one night in the actual Olde Bell itself in room one. Car parking is fantastic. Free and right next to the hotel, so rest assured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triprag
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on the recent stay with us, it was a pleasure welcoming you. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and are particularly happy with your comments on our team, thank you. We do apologize, however, that our breakfast was not up to you expectations and we'll keep on working to improve...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
9.6 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
530 reviews
1.1 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
7.9 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#6 of 11 in Maidenhead
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
6.4 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
707 reviews
4.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful 12th century inn, set in the heart of the pretty village of Hurley on Thames. The coaching Inn, updated. Using locally sourced food cooked simply, the Inn provides eating, drinking, lodgings. Parts of the building date back to 1135, with nooks and crannies and crooked floors. For the warmer months, enjoy local ales and eats from our summer kitchen in our huge meadow garden, or in the winter, make yourself at home inside by our open fires. We also have 48 bedrooms and 7 individually designed rooms in various auxiliary buildings, seating from 8 to 150 people for weddings, meetings and private parties. Only 45 minutes from central London, 20 minutes from Heathrow with good road transport links and Maidenhead Train Station 4 miles away and free wifi throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Olde Bell Inn

Address: High Street, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Hurley
Price Range: $92 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Olde Bell Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Olde Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Olde Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Olde Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Luxury Rooms with the roll top bath in the room is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles coachdibs, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for an upgrade room with a bath in the centre of the room.”
 of 5 bubbles tinaf701, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The upgrade rooms look really nice”
 of 5 bubbles peterdN4408NR, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“find an alternative hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 815MichaelK, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request the main building”
 of 5 bubbles yung26, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay