We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Olde Bell Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Olde Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 843: English reviews
Start your review of The Olde Bell Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited with friends for in February, found the restaurant expensive, fairly uninspiring menu, service not at the level for prices charged. Receptionist didn't say goodbye when we left despite us walking very close on our way out. Michelin star prices for food not even at gastro pub level.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaypeetee1953
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jaypeetee1953, I am very sorry to read of your disappointment and can only apologise for the service you received. I would like to assure you that this is certainly not typical of the Olde Bell Hotel and I would welcome the opportunity to look into this matter further for you . Please feel free to contact me directly on...

reading
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed and had Christmas Party there. Not what we were told as was having Xmas Party in the tithe barn instead was in a smaller one. Poor service to tables. Food ie the beef was tuff,Showers were tired and dirty.Needs a refurbishement, I hope that takes on this hotel does this as its a shame when you have such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisaReading
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear lisaReading, I am very surprised to read this review and cannot agree to all said. As we have already discussed numerus times your party were extremely happy with the Venue, the running of the event and complimented our Head Chef, Food and Beverage manager and her team for all their efforts. We have also received a complimentary letter from...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this place as a surprise for my hubby's birthday as we were going to eat at the Hand & Flowers in Marlow. All the rooms at the restaurant/pub were booked so this was the next best option. It didn't get off to a great start to be honest. The receptionist was less than friendly, told us where our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma-Louise B
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Emma-Louise B I am disappointed to read your review on this site today and can only apologise for your current perception of our Hotel. Given the time length of time that has lapsed between your stay and your decision to post I cannot check your comments regarding your room or breakfast. However, it is extremely rare for us to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love this place. It is beautiful and steeped in history. The location is splendid in the centre of a wonderful village on the Thames with fantastic river walks. The staff are extremely friendly and all seem happy and settled in their work. The garden is beautiful. The food is lovely. The bar is cosy. The restaurant has French windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lucy G I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Olde Bell Hotel and I am pleased that all the team ensured that you felt at home and welcome. Thank you for your wonderful review, rating and kind recommendation, it is greatly appreciated by us all and I do hope that we can...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit, first time I stayed in a deluxe room, very large and lovely but found dirty lingerie at the back of a chair. This visit I had dinner in the restaurant, fantastic food, only a few choices on the menu though and quite pricy. Breakfast in the morning was £10 for a buffet. Nice enough food/choice. Stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hannah S Thank you for your feedback today and I will pass all your comments on to the head of departments to share with the team. We do value your honest and constructive comments so that we can ensure that our usual service levels our maintained consistently at the hotel and I will be delighted to welcome you back...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful olde worlde pub/restaurant/wedding/conference venue. We stayed here and travelled to Marlow to eat at a famous persons' mitchelin starred pub. When we checked in we glanced at the menu and wished just a little that we were eating here instead. After a disappointing meal out we returned for a drink in the bar next to the log burner -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Thank you for your wonderful review and rating today following your recent stay with us at the Olde Bell Hotel. I will, of course pass your kind words to the team at the hotel and we all look forward to being able to look after you again very soon. Kind regards GM - The Olde Bell Hotel

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is overall a good place to stay. the staff are friendly and the rates are very reasonable. plenty of car parking and the rooms although normal sized are warm and the bed is soft. it is a old style inn very historic, with a good breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stephen b, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Olde Bell Hotel and would like to thank you for your extremely positive review and rating today. The Hotel and staff always work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us and we really do appreciate the comments you have...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a voucher to stay at The Olde Bell Inn as a Christmas gift from someone who had stayed here previously and recommended it. Trying to book was a bit of a palaver as you couldn't book through the voucher website with the gift card you had to phone the hotel and book with them. When I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4became6
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear 4became6 Thank you for your review and your comments. Your observations have been noted and in conjunction with my team we will look into the matters you have brought to our attention. However, I am little confused about your feedback regarding breakfast....as although the cereals, fresh fruits, breads, yoghurts, juices etc are presented in a buffet style, the cooked...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Olde Bell few times on business trips with mixed experiences so decided to leave the review after my most recent stay. Was given luxury double room number 6 which is in main building above pub. Room is split level, with bathroom at bottom and up to very steep stairs to the bedroom area. Several doors within bedroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bogdan M
General Manager T, Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bogdan, Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and provide us with some feedback following your recent stay at the Olde Bell Hotel. I can only apologise for the room issues and service you experienced at breakfast and will, of course, pass your comments on to the Food and Beverage team. Please feel free to email...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I use it stay here a lot over the years. The hotel got gradually more and more tired. Stayed over the summer for few nights and it was not clean. Room just wasn't clean enough. Staryed else where, Stayed this week, and I think it is getting better. Staff seem frendly and try and make an effort. Hotel was busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devontiger
General Manager T, General Manager at The Olde Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tigerbeer Z Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Olde Bell Hotel and for recognising all the efforts made by the team to look after you throughout your stay. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back again very...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
7.8 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
646 reviews
1.1 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.8 km away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
555 reviews
3.6 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
6.4 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful 12th century inn, set in the heart of the pretty village of Hurley on Thames. The coaching Inn, updated. Using locally sourced food cooked simply, the Inn provides eating, drinking, lodgings. Parts of the building date back to 1135, with nooks and crannies and crooked floors. For the warmer months, enjoy local ales and eats from our summer kitchen in our huge meadow garden, or in the winter, make yourself at home inside by our open fires. We also have 48 bedrooms and 7 individually designed rooms in various auxiliary buildings, seating from 8 to 150 people for weddings, meetings and private parties. Only 45 minutes from central London, 20 minutes from Heathrow with good road transport links and Maidenhead Train Station 4 miles away and free wifi throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Olde Bell Inn

Address: High Street, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Hurley
Price Range: $86 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Olde Bell Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Olde Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hurley
Ye Olde Bell Hotel Hurley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Olde Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Olde Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go in the rooms across the road - They are terrible!!”
 of 5 bubbles emmalouiseb556, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a deluxe room if you're not fussed about having a bath in the room”
  • Tap squirting water everywhere
  • Bed could do with drapes?
 of 5 bubbles 4became6, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for brick barn”
 of 5 bubbles Devontiger, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay that little bit extra for a luxury room to make use of more space and the roll top bath!”
 of 5 bubbles gemmar794, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Brick Barn”
 of 5 bubbles Mazbot2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5