We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Vista Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Arenal Vista Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arenal Vista Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Beautiful natural setting with gardens, is a little removed from the town of Fortuna (20 mins) but if you bring in a car is ideal, facing the lake and Arenal Volcano, there are even hiking make short walks in the private forest hotel, incredible view of the volcano. The correct spacious rooms with balconies and great views. Friendly staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Arenalvista, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks, Regards.

Reviewed 17 May 2015

We arrived in the evening to that wonderful place, service is very good and attentive. Very delicious food and the view of the lake and Arenal volcano is unique. 100% recommend, my family and I are very happy and very soon we will return to this beautiful hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moises U
Arenalvista, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks, Regards.

Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Although the view of the volcano and lake are spectacular, the hotel could use some upgrading. The staff was not bilingual but tried to be helpful. The food was very basic and the hot water was sporadic. The location is remote and has a long bumpy road to get there. The grounds are very well maintained, and the rates are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayJayJr62
Arenalvista, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Vista Lodge, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas tardes RayJay. Realmente sentimos que las molestias del camino y el cansancio y principalmente su enojo por el camino,...

Paris, France
Reviewed 9 March 2015

I stayed here two nights in a row during a wonderful 2-weeks trip in Costa Rica. This hotel was the only bad experience I had during this trip. I don't know what was the worst part: - the horrible food with something looking like an insect in my plate - the dirty room: we found an old biscuit packet under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clar1234
Arenalvista, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Vista Lodge, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas tardes Clar1234. Realmente sentimos que las molestias del camino y el cansancio y principalmente su molestia por el camino,...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Very basic, rustic. Room was spacious with a good view which we didn't get to enjoy due to rainy and cloudy weather. Hot water for about 2 mins per shower. Unless you rent a good car, you'll pay a lot extra for transfers to tours, like $60 each. We found the driving over potholes for 10km each way stressful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff189
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 December 2014

This is a terrible choice for anyone travelling to the Arenal area. The view might be attractive, but everything else is disgusting. We booked our hotel room two days before our stay, but because of a sick family member back at home we were forced to cut our trip short. We visited the lodge the next day, still 24 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bfurness
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a comfortable, clean and friendly hotel. Yes they speak little English but they more than make up for it with their willingness to help with whatever you need. The hotel is frequented mainly by tour groups as you just can't beat it for the views with double glass fronted wall overlooking the volcano and lake. But if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soni186338
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wonderful, friendly staff, great location, basic rooms, did i mention GRREAT LOCATION never been to a location so stunning...... lake & Volcano..... treated to a chorus of birds/howler monkeys every morning. we stayed at the Vista lodge for 5 nights, very remote, unless you are driving, be prepared to pay for £30 US dollar per trip. Tours are difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay V
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The views of the Arenal volcano are just spectacular from this hotel. Also, in the morning you can hear the howler monkeys if you're not a heavy sleeper. Rooms at this hotel are nothing special, but it was clean. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but manageable. As with other hotels, only the basic soap was included (no shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanieg51
Albany, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The view of the Arenal Volcano is breathtaking! However, if you're spending anytime in your hotel room, it's less than desirable. The rooms were dirty, the lock on the door was just a chain, and there are areas all around that are in need of repair (paint, chipped concrete, etc) The food was good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bateach

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
1.2 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
189 reviews
1.7 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
592 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,141 reviews
1.2 km away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
2.2 km away
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
#2 of 5 in El Castillo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the northwestern region of Costa Rica, 30 minutes away from La Fortuna, in the BiologicalCorridor between Monteverde Reserve and Arenal National Park, our lodge rests marvelously in one of the surrounding hills of the Arenal Lake, enjoying a unique view of the Lake and the Volcano. Coming to our lodge, you will be surrounded by a dense tropical forest, where more than 300 species of birds can be seen, as well as 100 species of mammals and 2500 species of plants and orchids. The Hotel Arenal Vista Lodge was conceived from a prevailing necessity derived from the deficiency of facilities in the Arenal area. We felt the need for a place that took advantage of the natural beauties the area, while offering the national and international tourists the commodities they require in the Biological Corridor between Arenal Volcano National Park and Monteverde Cloud Forest FEATURES: • 25 comfortable rooms, each lodged up to four guests. • Every room includes a private hot water bathroom, walk-in closet and a balcony with spectacular view of the volcano and lake area. • Facilities equipped to care for disabled people. • Restaurant and salad bar with costarrican and international recipes. • Swimming pool, wet-bar, souvenir shop and a meeting room, natural forest trails. Internet facilities. Parking area with 24-hour security • Restaurant, which fits 90 guests, Bar and Souvenir shop • Conference room for 30 people and swimming pool with wet bar • Optional tours: hot springs, canopy, horseback riding, boat rides, transfers to Monteverde. We offer laundry service as well. Special offers for honeymooners, students, families and cycling groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arenal Vista Lodge

Address: 25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Price Range: $95 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Arenal Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Vista Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arenal Vista Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms higher up have the best view, but you have to walk many stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 976emma, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the lobby have wifi. Otherwise you'll need to connect in the common area.”
 of 5 bubbles L2137OLlisam, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“view arenal volcano, view lake arenal, the best prices in costa rica”
 of 5 bubbles W2318PXmariav, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Bungalows view, restaurant view, Lake arenal”
 of 5 bubbles moisesu492, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for one overlooking the volcano with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Soni186338, 6 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay