We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

After spending a great day in Bath we broke up our trip back to Southampton with an overnight stop at The Swan. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was nicely presented and clean but the bed a little uncomfortable and although there is secondary glazing, rooms roadside are still a little noisy. We had dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracyh3003
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and I am sorry specials weren't running on the weekend you stayed. We have just moved over to a new menu and I took specials off temporarily whilst the kitchen concentrated on that. Please do come back and compare us again and we hope we can wow you next time. Liz

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

After a lovely day out in Bath we booked a nights stay here as I had an appointment in Southampton the next day. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food in my opinion was average and not very good value for money. The room was clean but the bed was very uncomfortable and being on the main road it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nharp11
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read that you found our food only average and that your bed was uncomfortable. As we use memory foam mattresses we usually get good reviews for our beds - I can only apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Liz

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We called in for breakfast on route to Cornwall. Breakfast advertised from 7am on a board outside. We arrived at 10. We were greated and told to go through to the bar and yes they were doing breakfast. No table and chairs ready. Really should of realised then that this wasn't a good idea. Asked if the scrambled eggs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read your review. We are prepared for breakfast from 7 am as we feed guests in 13 letting rooms, I can only apologise that you felt we were unprepared as we do not lay up tables with cutlery until and order has been placed in the bar area. I am sorry you did not enjoy...

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Having looked at the pictures and reading the reviews beforehand we was looking forward to our stay at the swan, however we felt a bit let down with the dated room, bedroom mix up, the busy road, tiny TV and the fact there was only one waiting staff at the busy breakfast. However the food was nice (not amazing) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roachie369
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Swan and I am sorry that your opinion of your stay did not reflect those which you had read by others. I am glad you found the staff friendly and the food nice. Liz

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

It was the worst lunch out I have ever had ,the meal was cold had to go back in the microwave again and the girl that served us said sorry but we're busy and I've had to come down from cleaning rooms and toilets to serve food well that's red rag to a bull where I'm concerned

 Report
Helpful?
Thank briansuzie333
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry this constituted the worst lunch you have ever had. The staff member in question was trying to be helpful, as we were unexpectedly very busy, and ensure you were not kept waiting - however, I will speak to her regarding your comments. Liz

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Pulled up with caravan and 2 children. Not expecting much but a bite to eat to see us on our way, but such a warm and genuine welcome deserves my first ever trip advisor review. We too own a business and reel when someone writes a less than perfect review so I vow never to leave unnecessary negative comments. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa H
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review which was joyous to read! Comments like yours reminds me of why I work in hospitality and make it all worth while. Thank you once again. Liz

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We found The Swan on the internet and booked to stay for one night on our way down to Devon. We arrived stressed and tired because of terrible traffic out of London but Aran made us so welcome that we soon forgot our travel woes! He checked us in and showed us up to our room (something very few hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliMackBedfordshire
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you well. Liz

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Swan at Stoford for 2 nights. The location was perfect as we could explore the many attractions in this area. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the breakfast which had a great selection. The rooms were also comfortable and well priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back soon. Liz

Chorley , Lancashire
Reviewed 18 October 2016

What a lovely place, a little gem. Stayed there recently on a whistle stop trip to Salisbury (which is only a very short drive away), found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was cosy and clean with all the usual's you would expect from a more expensive hotel (also has free wifi). The Swan has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brilo3892
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Swan. We appreciate your kind words and hope you do come back and visit again. Liz

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Brilliant! What a great find. 6 Miles from Salisbury City center and (about) the same to Stonehenge. This country Pub with food is just the ticket, the Staff were super friendly and helpful (above and beyond I would say) and the rooms are clean, modern (but not in your face), comfy clean and well appointed. Room 7 is so large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianofsec
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review, I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that my team looked after you. We hope you do come back soon to enjoy our lovely river views. Liz

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
250 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
251 reviews
7.9 km away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
736 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: $102 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan at Stoford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Low number rooms overlook the river but also overlook the road.”
mintmoocher, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 3”
badger762015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Advise against room 2”
oebep, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher numbers not so near the busy road.”
Philferry, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don.t eat in the restaurant”
270christinec, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5