Shearwater Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shearwater Resort

17-23 Shearwater Bvd, Shearwater, Tasmania 7307 Australia
Traveller (25)
The beach at Shearwater - low tide
Pool & Beach (5)
Kitchen
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 special resort in Shearwater
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Discover Tasmania at Shearwater Resort. Located at Port Sorrell near Devonport on Tasmania's North West Coast, Shearwater Resort has 49 apartments, with a choice of studio, 1 and 2 bedrooms, all self-contained. The resort facilities include a private 9-hole Golf Course, tennis courts, indoor heated pool, games room, sauna, spa pool and an onsite bistro and bar. With every need taken care of, Shearwater Resort is the perfect base to explore nearby beaches, wineries, art galleries, Cradle Mountain National Park, and Lillico Beach - home to Tasmania's fairy penguin population.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Game room
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Golf course
Billiards
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

17-23 Shearwater Bvd, Shearwater, Tasmania 7307 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 46 out of 100
46
Devonport Airport
Launceston Airport
70.2 km
See all flights
144Reviews2Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 55
  • 33
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eisie wrote a review Feb 2020
20 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice area, although a little remote and not too convenient for touring the country. Had a nice balcony overlooking the golf course, beyond that was a beautiful beach - but you had to walk across the golf course to get to it. Nice heated indoor pool, but not much seating around it. The furnishings were very tired - like from the 60’s and the kitchen was not very well equipped. The second bedroom only had 2 bunk beds, with no other furniture. The WiFi was next to impossible to access, and if you did manage to log on, you had to do that every time you wanted to access it. It could be a very nice place with some updating.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LeighR423, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. Thanks for your positive comments but I am afraid we will have to agree to disagree with regard to being not convenient for touring Tasmania. We are located in the middle of the Northern part of the state with Launceston and the Tamar Valley being an easy hour's drive, Cradle Mountain an hour and a half and up to Stanley around two hours along the coastal road. People do underestimate the size of Tasmania as it looks small compared to other states on the map! As far as a centralized position for the Northern part of the state we feel we have that covered. We are working through a refurbishment plan and we are very excited to be progressing this in the near future. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne S wrote a review Mar 2021
Adelaide, Australia156 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a week at the Resort in an upstairs room that on first impression when we arrived looked old and tired. (very Dated Furniture and Fittings).
But as we settled in and spent our first night in the room we found it to be very Comfortable and quite adequate.
Staff at the resort were very friendly and Very helpful.
Parking was plentiful and a space was allocated close to the unit.
The Resort has 2 Swimming Pools, a Tavern is attached and it is also on a ( Hole Golf Course.
A good place to relax and spend a quiet week, also within easy driving distance of Devonport, Launceston, and many Tourist areas.
Definitely Recommend and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: A Room with a View of the Golf Course would be a good option.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service our team provide, facilities that we have on offer and the location of the property. We certainly think we are situated in the perfect place to explore the Northern half of the state. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max wrote a review Apr 2023
7 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is very good. Has everything you could wish for..except one thing..excitement.
The two bedroom suites are very spacious, light-filled and comfortable .Good Wifi and a big TV is in place.
Shearwater is probably a lovely quiet town to retire. However for the visiting tourist, there isn't much to do there. The tiny shopping centre is a giveaway. Real Estate offices in force as well as a large Dental Surgery. As a result, we did a number of short day trips to Cradle Mountain and Devonport.
As to the resort, the office reception is strong on providing details on local attractions.

Tips: Avoid F Section,it is a centre for a lot of amplified voices. section F is enclosed and sound really travels. There is a laundrette there with people coming and going. Also, there is a room for the staff and you will hear them chattering early in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 3 May 2023
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Resort and the accommodation, wifi and big TV. We like to think our little village is perfect because of it's size, Tasmania like most places you do have to drive to different attractions and places and our location is pretty much in the centre of all the best things to do in Tassie. Day trips are perfect for when you are on holidays. We do have to see you return again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianne M wrote a review Oct 2021
Perth, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
For a property that has such a great location, the 'Resort' is consistently 'badly ' managed. Staff turnover high, food consistently below average, cold, yucky, and very overpriced. Location desperately needs better MANAGEMENT! Fantastic potential.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate all feedback received as it assists us in not only maintaining our levels or product and service but also improving upon them. Please accept our apologies with regard to your feedback, however we must admit to being quite perplexed by it as we have not received any similar feedback directly. Our staff turnover is actually very low, usual feedback on food is of a high standard and our pricing is similar to other similar places. I would encourage you that if there is an issue with your food to let us know at that time (or anywhere you are dining) so we can have this fixed for you and ensure you have a pleasurable dining experience. We do hope to see you return. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne D wrote a review Feb 2020
Hobart, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Shearwater Resort. The room was comfortable and the food at the tavern was well suited for a holiday location. Office staff were extremely helpful with hints for sightseeing and in arranging trips.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LeighR423, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We appreciate all feedback received as it assists us in maintaining and improving upon our level of services and products. To read such wonderful comments is truly rewarding and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith G wrote a review Feb 2022
Sydney49 contributions48 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We last stayed here approximately 10 years ago and were surprised then at the dilapidated state of our unit. Unfortunately nothing had changed this time! We have been staying at timeshare accommodation in Australia and overseas for the last 30 years and this resort would definitely be at the low end of the scale. The "kitchen" is poorly designed and most inadequate for a family. The bathroom is very dated and fittings in awkward places. The shabby concrete outside the units together with bird droppings is most unpleasant. We found the air heavy with dust in the lounge area - not sure whether it was the carpet, curtains or the lounge. All furnishings had stains and needed a good steam clean or tossing out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Look elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2022
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it assists us towards maintaining and improving upon our levels of products and services. We are aware that our rooms require a refurbishment and we are working through a plan currently to get this completed in time. I can assure you our carpets and couches are regularly steam cleaned. Fortunately / unfortunately with our setting being in a lot of green space we do have a lot of local wildlife and with that comes their droppings. This is again regularly cleaned, however we can't stop the bird droppings. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time with us. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspiration456650 wrote a review Feb 2020
Russell, New Zealand168 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Looked great from the photo's but sadly the 2 bedroom units are very dated and need total refurbishing. The carpet was stained, the bathrooms old, everything about it was old but clean. The second bedroom had 2 sets of bunks which was not suitable for another couple. The staff were great, it's such a pity that the insides don't look as if they have ever been updated. Close to nearby shops and on a golf club, despite the dated decor, we did enjoy the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LeighR423, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. Thanks for your positive comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We are working through a refurbishment plan and we are very excited to be progressing this in the near future. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry B wrote a review July 2022
Niddrie, Australia27 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place to visit (the town and the resort). We received a welcome message while we were on the road from the Ferry, acknowledging our forthcoming arrival and informing us that our room would be ready by mid-morning. Check in at Reception was pleasant, efficient and friendly.
During our stay, we required a DVD player, as we had brought some DVDs to watch with us. The manager promptly found a unit and all was well. The cleaning staff ladies turned up during the week and were wonderful. Nothing to complain about as everything we needed was available. The rooms were heated and comfortable, beds good, location quiet and secluded. One thing missing that we needed: a pair of scissors, otherwise - absolutely great place to enjoy!! Would choose there again next time!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If stairs are a problem (only one flight but narrow stairs) request Ground Floor option.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 12 July 2022
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is so pleasing to read such wonderful feedback and we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raelene B wrote a review Dec 2022
Australia38 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Shearwater Village is an awesome and tranquil area for an escape. The Shearwater resort is in the throws of updating some rooms but many are a little dated and tired....look past that.
The staff go above and beyond and housekeeping couldn't be more on point.
Thank you Craig and Chelsea for making our stay delightful... Tasmanian hospitality is awesome, definitely visit Craig's recommended travel options, especially the Meander River experience.
Great village services, IGA, Wine Bar, Fish shop, Shear Beauty, Bonnie & Clyde (Hair) and the Muse (Food and Gifts) excellent morning brew ... say hi to Boof for us if he's working!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try for F area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and took on the Reception team's tour advice. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert J wrote a review May 2021
Mornington Peninsula, Australia74 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 7 nights and were fortunate to have a ground floor room which we had requested. Room was quite adequate overlooking the golf course. Resort has all facilities and a tavern is located within.
The only downside of the room was the shower over the bath which did not suit a 6 foot male without a lot of bending! Also being located next to the guest laundry made a lot of noise from early morning to night. Nice undercover BBQ area with washing facilities and warm pool.spa and sauna.
Good place to explore the northern part of Tasmania and not that far from lovely wine regions and Launceston.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem better as no lift.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Reid, General Manager at Shearwater Resort
Responded 16 May 2021
Thanks you for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed our many facilities including: the Tavern, BBQ areas, pools, spa and sauna. We agree that our location is perfect to discover the whole North of Tasmania. I understand your comment regarding the laundry noise however we do limit the use to the hours between 8am - 8pm. Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Leigh Reid General Manager Shearwater Resort and Shearwater Resort Tavern
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dgsnyder2016 asked a question Sept 2016
Calgary, Canada
Do you allow small dogs?
Answer from jillyo88
Reservoir, Australia238 contributions120 helpful votes
No, pet free resort
AustraliaAnon asked a question Sept 2015
australia90 contributions31 helpful votes
Hi, does the resort supply pool towels?
Steve wrote a tip Nov 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good facilities such as pool, tennis courts and plenty of barbecues to cook up a meal."
Read full review
rayjohnson706 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Anna Bay, Australia29 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make use of the facilities. Take time to talk to the people in reception. Make sure of your initial travelling directions if driving yourself"
Read full review
linda l wrote a tip Apr 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A great relaxing spot, make the use of the beach through the other side of the golf course - its lovely."
Read full review
Raelene B wrote a tip Dec 2022
Australia38 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try for F area."
Read full review
Traveller540 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Melbourne, Australia219 contributions114 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room facing the golf course was good for the view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shearwater area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$121 - AU$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaShearwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHEARWATER RESORT (AU$121): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Specialty Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shearwater Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shearwater Resort?
Nearby attractions include Beaches Bar & Bistro (0.1 km) and This & That Collectables (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shearwater Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Shearwater Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shearwater Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shearwater Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shearwater Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Waves Restaurant, Hennessy's Cafe Bakery, and Purple Pepper Pizza Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shearwater Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Shearwater Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Shearwater.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars