We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quinta do Vau

Save
Share
Quinta do Vau Alem-Rio, Mertola 7750-301 Portugal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (46)
Pool & Beach (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mertola
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Quinta do Vau their guest house of choice when visiting Mertola. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the guest house.

Quinta do Vau features a sun terrace, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool. If you are driving to Quinta do Vau, free parking is available.

While in Mertola be sure to experience nearby cafes such as Cafe Guadiana or alsafir.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a castle, such as Mertola Castle.

At Quinta do Vau, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Mertola.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Hiking
Fishing
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese
140Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 33
  • 9
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
joanne joaninha wrote a review Aug 2021
Lisbon, Portugal8 contributions4 helpful votes
There was no evidence of sanitisation occuring at this facility, apart from the cleaning staff wearing masks. There is a wierd ambience here on arrival. Nobody meets you, and so you wander round trying to find staff. I was given a room that, unlike its clear description on the booking platform, did not have a verandah. When I managed via mobile to speak to the owner, I was told the wrong photos had been put up. The bathroom was quite basic, verging on shabby, with mould starting to form around the bottom of the shower. The basket where the toiletries were kept was stained. It was a cheap room rate, but it felt that way. Do not bother with the 6 euro breakfast. You are provided with a box of stuff, so no chance of any toast or eggs. The coffee is basic, and is an embarrassment to the great portugese coffee that exists. The sliced cheese under clingfilm was starting to sweat. On the plus side, the location is amazing, with a great view of Mertola. The pool is nice, although did get crowded when the place was full. The cleaning staff are nice and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Dont expect the description on the booking site to match reallity.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
70ava wrote a review Jul 2021
Beijing, China687 contributions265 helpful votes
That is exactly what everyone is looking for when travelling. A sublime location with amazing views from any direction. Super comfort - spotless, modern, spacious room with all the necessary amenities including a small kitchenette, sitting area, veranda, wide bath and extra double bed. Reasonable price - you can not beat the price here. They also have an amazing swimming pool - heaven on earth. Do not go anywhere else in this town. The only thing here is that you need a car and they have ample free parking. Did I forget anything? oh, wonderful breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Filipe B wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, using one of the most popular booking platforms online (where you can find my review there as well), I booked for a night in the place to stay. Long story short my companion got a call from the doctor that she add a strong probability of having COVID. I messaged and try to call them, contacted also the platform which tried to reach them and nothing. During the following week I tried to called them many times and they didn't pick up the phone. Finally today almost a month after they picked up and when we talked about it they remember the situation saying that they implemented the no cancelation policy due to covid, in their opinion after I paid it was my decision to go or not with or without covid they would be an unconcerned party. Meaning if I payed I should have gone even if it meant puttuing all the other guests and staff at risk. In their opion due to the panorama we live today that is the smart thing to do. I didn't go even if anyone add any symptoms even if I wouldn't get any money back because that is the responsible thing to do. I'm pissed today that I finally called them that they are so unconcerned with covid and at said platform BOOKING because they don't do any background checks and don't instruct their partners to investigate any possible cause of infection and take any secuirty measures that they should take, this place never again, and serious starting to consider if booking is the platform I want to book my vacations for me, my family or my emplyees do to how unconcerned they where and are. You can check my review at booking but since they are hiding it you need to sort it from newest to old to get a glimpse at it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lack of any security measure
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luis Costa, Diretor-Geral at Quinta do Vau
Responded 11 Sep 2020
Hello to all the people that read this coment. I am Luís Costa, Hotel Manager at Quinta do Vau and it's the first time that I have de answer a comment about us in Tripadvisor, because of everything that this guy says, it's a LIE. The health of our guests and employees is very important, without the guests and the our workers, Quinta do Vau, would be nothing, and we thank all our guests. It's because of them that we have 4,5. This Guy never stayed at Quinta do Vau, he doesn't know anything about us, and the way we are dealing with Covid. This Guy booked one night to stay with us, in the 09/08/2020, and he payed Booking. In the 09/08/2020 - he sent to us a text message saying that his travel partner was not feeling well and if she got better maybe they would come. At 14:00 he sent us another text message, now saying that he wouldn't come because maybe his partner was not feeling well. One instance he says one thing and in other one he says another. We honour our contract. We had the room available in 09/08/2020 and the book conditions don't alow changes and late cancelatinos, and now he wants Quinta do Vau to give him a new date even though we lost to reservation of the room that day. He wants 2 nights for the price of 1. In portuguese we have a word for this - RESSABIADO Thank you to all our good guest and good people, we are here for you all - Thank you. Luis Costa
Read more
Clare M wrote a review May 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom26 contributions5 helpful votes
WE stayed here for 4 nights.The room was lovely and had a balcony.The bathroom was as big as the room and had a fantastic shower.The Breakfasts were really excellent.Lots of choice and in a lovely restaurant.There was a mini fridge in the room which was very useful.However what made this stay so fantastic were the members of staff who were so friendly and so helpful and so kind to us.We would gladly stay here again and hope to do so next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
alan H wrote a review Aug 2019
Lagos, Portugal93 contributions77 helpful votes
Very helpful and friendly staff, nothing was a problem. Good views of Mertola or river from rooms and gardens. Swimming pool small but pleasant with nice views of river. The breakfast was good and reasonable for 5 euros. Value for money and not expensive. (they are extending to add some 1 bedroom apartments ) Yes there was a small drain smell but we have experienced this in country side properties in Portugal before.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just ask for your preference they are very obliging.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 45 - USD 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalAlentejoBeja DistrictMertola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Quinta do Vau
Which popular attractions are close to Quinta do Vau?
Nearby attractions include Castelo de Mértola (0.7 km), Parque Natural do Vale do Guadiana (0.4 km), and Igreja de Nossa Senhora da Anunciação (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quinta do Vau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Quinta do Vau?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
Is parking available at Quinta do Vau?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quinta do Vau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Tamuje, Espaco Casa Amarela, and Restaurant Terra Utopica.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quinta do Vau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Quinta do Vau located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Mertola.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Quinta do Vau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Quinta do Vau?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre do Rio (15.2 km).
Does Quinta do Vau have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.