We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

A very disappointing evening. Menu tried to be upmarket but did not deliver. Food bland, poorly presented and service slow. Live music in another public area of hotel which was so loud and not particularly good. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josefina1960
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening with us and our food was not at its normal standard. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen and hope that you will return to try us again. As for the live music, the artist we had playing that evening is very popular with our customers, unfortunately maybe just...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

They just opened their Gin Bar, and had live music, we stayed at Cary Place and had dinner at the George recommended by the B&B. Excellent and creative menu, service was a little slow but it was full. The food was excellent, we all had a very good meal, speciality steak, and lovely starters. Sad we had no room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeonaidMack
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to welcome you back in the future (the mango and chilli sorbet will be worth it!)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding.Excellent British-with-a- twist evening meal, attractively presented and reasonably priced, with superb homemade desserts.Given the high quality of the food,it was curious that the room I had was so awful. Stuck in a noisy courtyard which doubled as a car park and refuse area, it was hard even to locate it as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cerihoram
Turners Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

A good full English but : I booked a double room in January, confirmed it by phone in June, and arrived in August to be told that they had no trace of my booking on their computer !! I had no option but to accept a twin room ( instead of a double I booked ) because it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomandgill2015
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for a wedding in a nearby village, checked in and everything was very nice, its a very nice setting and has obviously recently been refurbished. The room was nice and the shower was above average for an independent hotel. However upon our return from the wedding at about 1am, the key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenJRS
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

As per my email, as soon as we were made aware of the situation, we did everything we could to rectify the situation. We offered you a new room with a later checkout. This room was the only free room due to unfortunately needing maintenance from a leek the day before but we thought you would appreciate being able to...

Swindon
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We went here based on a recommendation and were not dissapointed. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the restaurant is contemporary and very welcoming . There is a good choice on the menu at reasonable prices. I had a steak with salad and it was cooked exactly as I wished and the side salad and garnish was beautifully presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockboffin
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

whitstable
Reviewed 29 August 2016

A beautiful hotel, staff extremely helpful and pleasant .Unfortunately our stay in room 16 was marred by our lack of sleep due to the noisy kitchen extractor fan outside our bedroom which ran on all night. plus the beer cooler noisy fan. Possibly with windows closed its not so bad but as weather was hot and room was even hotter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john s
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have taken on board your comments and have rectified what we can at the moment. We have recently refurbished our bar area and the rooms are next on our list. We hope to welcome you back to the George one day.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Tripadvisor has this place listed as a hotel, but in fact it is also a very nice bar and restaurant. We went in for a drink and stayed on for lunch and had burgers and sandwiches, chips and puddings, and were well looked after by Ian. The prices were reasonable and the food very well cooked, presented and tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyClockwise
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to welcome you back to the George again soon.

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We walked into Castle Cary one sunny afternoon looking for light refreshments. The George looked nice across the street from the town hall, your quintessential English pub. So we walked in and order a few beers, the selection is small with three ales on draught and your standard lagers and others. Beer turned into having chips, and these were excellent!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the George and hope to welcome you back soon.

Southampton
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Sunday lunch: interesting vegetables with the roast and nicely presented, but overall not the best main course we've had. The thing that would take us back would be the dessert menu. There's a variety of interesting sorbets and ice creams on offer,as well as other puds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinkLilly1954
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, apologies that your main course was not up to our usual standard. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen and we hope that you will return and try us for lunch/dinner again.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
6.3 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
557 reviews
10.9 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
869 reviews
16.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
902 reviews
5.2 km away
The Pilgrims at Lovington
The Pilgrims at Lovington
#1 of 8 in Castle Cary
131 reviews
5.0 km away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George Hotel is a friendly, family run, thatched 15th century Country Town Hotel, situated in the centre of the historic town of Castle Cary, nestling in the beautiful undulating hills of South Somerset. The George Hotel offers all-round hospitality any time of the day and is an ideal base for the many local attractions.The Knight's Restaurant has recently undergone a complete menu overhaul offering modern British food as well as hosting one off events such as a 7 course taster menu. We still offer a traditional full english breakfast within the price of the accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Market Place, Castle Cary BA7 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Price Range: $122 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Somerset
George Hotel Castle Cary, Somerset, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fabulous Dinner in Castle Carey”
 of 5 bubbles SeonaidMack, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the front of the hotel was noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tomandgill2015, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floors at the back of the hotel seem to be much nicer (unsure if they're expensive)”
 of 5 bubbles BenJRS, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“not a back room”
 of 5 bubbles johns972, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“no 10 is the best that is available but it is in the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles limousin, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay