We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Aberystwyth, Wales
Reviewed 28 October 2016

From the outside this looks like a decent but ordinary pub but inside it's a pearl. A great deal of care has been lavished on the ground floor public spaces - snug in some places - open in others and everywhere there are quirky and tasteful decorative elements. But the food... oh my gosh the food. Whilst my colleagues were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzyJohn
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The downstairs of the hotel has recently been refurbished and the bedrooms are next on our list. I hope that you will decide to come back for a visit in the future and see some more changes.

Oregon
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The George Hotel has a very welcoming feel, with a nice bar and restaurant area. It seems that there are rooms upstairs in the main building. There are also rooms in a building along the back of the hotel, with entrances accessed directly from the outside parking lot. This is where our room was. It was decent for the 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Our rooms are next on the list to be redecorated and hope that you will return in the future to see the changes.

Langport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Called into the George on a Sunday Morning to see if we could get something to eat. The general appearance on entry was pleasing, we were nicely greeted and offered several options as to where to sit as the establishment has various rooms we opted to sit in the bar. We were offered the Sunday Lunch Menu which had several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, apologies that your food wasn't up to our normal standard, I will pass the comments on to our kitchen and hope that you will return to us in the future.

Selsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed on a busy Saturday night. My room was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and well-equipped. It didn't bother me that the curtains and the blind were rather smaller than the window but it's the kind of thing that might bother others. The bar and restaurant were very busy and noisy but the atmosphere was convivial. The restaurant was fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_D1096378
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us. Apologies that you had to ask for menus and for your order. We pride ourselves on providing excellent table service normally. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

A very disappointing evening. Menu tried to be upmarket but did not deliver. Food bland, poorly presented and service slow. Live music in another public area of hotel which was so loud and not particularly good. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josefina1960
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening with us and our food was not at its normal standard. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen and hope that you will return to try us again. As for the live music, the artist we had playing that evening is very popular with our customers, unfortunately maybe just...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

They just opened their Gin Bar, and had live music, we stayed at Cary Place and had dinner at the George recommended by the B&B. Excellent and creative menu, service was a little slow but it was full. The food was excellent, we all had a very good meal, speciality steak, and lovely starters. Sad we had no room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeonaidMack
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to welcome you back in the future (the mango and chilli sorbet will be worth it!)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding.Excellent British-with-a- twist evening meal, attractively presented and reasonably priced, with superb homemade desserts.Given the high quality of the food,it was curious that the room I had was so awful. Stuck in a noisy courtyard which doubled as a car park and refuse area, it was hard even to locate it as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cerihoram
Turners Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

A good full English but : I booked a double room in January, confirmed it by phone in June, and arrived in August to be told that they had no trace of my booking on their computer !! I had no option but to accept a twin room ( instead of a double I booked ) because it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomandgill2015
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for a wedding in a nearby village, checked in and everything was very nice, its a very nice setting and has obviously recently been refurbished. The room was nice and the shower was above average for an independent hotel. However upon our return from the wedding at about 1am, the key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenJRS
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

As per my email, as soon as we were made aware of the situation, we did everything we could to rectify the situation. We offered you a new room with a later checkout. This room was the only free room due to unfortunately needing maintenance from a leek the day before but we thought you would appreciate being able to...

Swindon
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We went here based on a recommendation and were not dissapointed. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the restaurant is contemporary and very welcoming . There is a good choice on the menu at reasonable prices. I had a steak with salad and it was cooked exactly as I wished and the side salad and garnish was beautifully presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockboffin
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Cary
10.9 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
888 reviews
6.3 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
566 reviews
18.8 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
431 reviews
5.0 km away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
54 reviews
10.5 km away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George Hotel is a friendly, family run, thatched 15th century Country Town Hotel, situated in the centre of the historic town of Castle Cary, nestling in the beautiful undulating hills of South Somerset. The George Hotel offers all-round hospitality any time of the day and is an ideal base for the many local attractions.The Knight's Restaurant has recently undergone a complete menu overhaul offering modern British food as well as hosting one off events such as a 7 course taster menu. We still offer a traditional full english breakfast within the price of the accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Market Place, Castle Cary BA7 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Castle Cary
Price Range: $113 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Somerset
George Hotel Castle Cary, Somerset, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are very quaint in keeping with the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles TheKingsArmsInn, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fabulous Dinner in Castle Carey”
 of 5 bubbles SeonaidMack, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the front of the hotel was noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tomandgill2015, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floors at the back of the hotel seem to be much nicer (unsure if they're expensive)”
 of 5 bubbles BenJRS, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“not a back room”
 of 5 bubbles johns972, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay