We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso

Save
Share
Carretera Arucas-Banaderos, Km 1, 35400 Arucas, Gran Canaria Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (160)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 17/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 17/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Arucas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In Arucas, near to Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, you will find an authentic Paradise, La Hacienda del Buen Suceso, situated within a luxury and rural atmosphere where you will be able to relax and enjoy yourself. The rural hotel maintains the splendor of a big country estate from long ago, situated in the heart of a large banana plantation of 500.000m2. It preserves all the colonial architecture of a period full of history, when time passed by at a slower pace. The country estate on which La Hacienda is located is the oldest one on the Canary Islands (1572), being the ideal surroundings to enjoy the wonderful climate on one of our garden surrounded terraces, or by our swimming pool overlooking the sea of banana trees. Enjoy these unique views savoring an aperitif or even in the wintertime warming yourself by the chimney in the noble Tres Palmas Lounge. At the La Hacienda del Buen Suceso you will enjoy all the comfort and service without losing the Colonial atmosphere.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
123Reviews3Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 31
  • 13
  • 7
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Conor C wrote a review Jul 2019
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
We spent three nights here in May 2019. The hotel is a bit of a drive out of Aurcas and you would really need a car. It is located in a very peaceful setting in a banana plantation and it is extremely quiet at night. Rooms were colonial style and while nice, were quite tired. Estephania (?) at reception was lovely and really couldn’t do enough for us but other staff had less English and were less friendly. Breakfast was ok but not great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MalaliG1, Recepción at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Responded 2 Aug 2019
Dear Guest, Thanks for your commets and your time, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards and my best wishes!
Read more
CLA wrote a review Feb 2019
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Could be amazing but I agree with the previous reviewer. Building and location are stunning. Unfortunately the restoration has been poor and internal walls mean you can hear everything. The rooms are quirky which means that your room may be next to another mezzanine floor which can be noisy. We had a good room but heard other guests talking about it. Staff seem demotivated. No cleaning 2 days a week and poor other days. Does not appear to be busy. When we arrived there was no one about and a sign saying back in 10 minutes. Not particularly welcoming. Wifi confusing. Food very disappointing. We booked half board and one dinner was soup, approx 8 pieces of fried fish on a sauce or chicken croquettes and then fruit, icecream or yohurt. No vegetables or side salads. Jacuzzi and pool are great. Good location for Arucas restaurants and walking in the area
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MalaliG1, Recepción at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments its important for us, We are working to improve our services, the hotel being historic has its wooden floors intact being normal that you can hear some noise, with the theme of the readiness in the letter of welcome indicates that if you want every day cleaning is question to say it in the reception in the morning. We invite you to come back in the future and check all the changes made. Kind Regards.
Read more
christine o wrote a review Jan 2019
worcestershire uk29 contributions19 helpful votes
The hotel was rustic and full of character set in the middle of a banana plantation. If you are looking for something unique and different this is perfect. We had a very large comfortable bedroom and there were lots of nice outdoor seating places. Great pool and characterful spa area set in a stone barn. The location was great to visit the north of the island and walking distance to the town of Arucas which we loved...... visit the fab church which is beautiful. The staff were friendly and welcoming and we generally found the people in the north of the island this way. Only constructive comments would be the signage for the hotel on arrival in the dark was poor and as we stayed in January it was cold in the mornings and evening. Fabulous salon had a huge fireplace which if a fire was lit in the evenings would have been more cosy and inviting to take a drink in there. I know it was suggested that we could request it to be lit but shouldn’t have to ask....it did open onto the restaurant too so think the hotel are missing an income here? However all positive from us thank you Hacienda staff
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MalaliG1, Recepción at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Responded 20 Jan 2019
Dear Christine, Thans you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take note for the lighting of the entrance to the hotel, as well as we intend to turn on the fireplace every day while it is winter. We hope in the near future to open the restaurant full time for the enjoyment of our customers. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you again as clients in the near future. Best Regards and my best wishes.
Read more
greenpanther30 wrote a review Dec 2018
Camberley, United Kingdom1,078 contributions197 helpful votes
This hotel is a mixed bag of good and bad. The photos are accurate and the buildings and surroundings are stunning. The hotel sits within a banana plantation and has views of the surrounding mountains and sea. It’s a stunning location and setting, sadly there are a few things that need serious attention. The positives: Location is great being 30 minutes from the airport, in the peaceful countryside and with Arucas only 5 mins drive away. The building is just wonderful, showing off the old building styles of the Spain and making use of this site which clearly was a farm for many years. It is now a banana plantation and in almost every direction you are surrounded by the plants. The pool area is very pleasant and offers enough sun and shade to relax and enjoy the warmer days. Jose was very useful and helpful to us when we had a problem and needed to change rooms. He was understanding and accommodating, resolving our issue quickly. Cleaning staff were very friendly each time we saw them always greeting us kindly. The evening meals were tasty and well priced, being competitive with the local restaurants in price and quality. The negatives: Other than Jose, the two ladies who were in reception when we checked in and also at all other times appeared bored with their jobs. They weren’t friendly at all, when we checked in we were ordered to read the instructions given in an envelope to us as other guests had complained and didn’t read the instructions. She was authoritative and very officious. This really didn’t help with making us feel welcome. The breakfast staff is just one lady, who is very young, not unpleasant however never any offer to make a coffee for guests or any kind of interaction. The rooms downstairs have a serious noise issue, we had to change rooms as we simply couldn’t sleep in our first room on the ground floor. The noise from both above and to each side was very disturbing at night time. We couldn’t sleep well at all, in addition a lovely fountain runs outside the rooms, this is great during the day, however it only turns off around 2am and so keeps you awake. The beds differ in firmness, our first room had a bed that felt very old and soft, our second room had a much better bed with firm mattress. The TV in the room has limited channels and the screen is often fuzzy. WiFi, there is only free wifi in the reception area and a lounge area. You can get it in your rooms however it’s a 6 Euro charge per device for 24 hours. When you have spent 100 Euro’s a night for the hotel wifi in the room should be included, especially in 2018! Pool area is a nice size, and the pool water itself was cleaned daily. The area around the pool was not swept all week, there is a problem with flies too, I believe due to the banana farm so cannot be helped, but they were annoying! The working farm had a tractor which sat with it’s engine running for an hour next to the pool, again it’s a working farm but it’s rather annoying when you are trying to relax. Breakfast was simplistic, I’ve not had such a bad selection of breakfast items at a hotel in a long time. It seems like the hotel had attempted to make the breakfast as cheap as possible. Only one hot item is available each day. Every day we had plain yogurt and cold meats. Plain bread with butter and a toaster that takes at least 10 minutes to toast anything. The dinning room also has very little atmosphere and with only 1 server doing everything he is run off his feet if he has 25 people eating, which is quite possible. With some changes and urgently needed updates this hotel could be incredible, however right now it’s not living up to it’s full potential or its price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose a TOP floor room as you will suffer from the wooden floor boards in the lower rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MalaliG1, Comercial at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Dear Guest, first of all, our apologies because your stay with us has not been as you expected. We are managing the hotel since one year ago and we continue working on improvements, so we are sure that we can offer a better stay in a shortly future. We can offer you a nice discount. Concerning our staff in Reception, we will speak with them about that. they do their job very well (back office), but they must interact more with clients.
Read more
Willem B wrote a review Nov 2018
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands23 contributions
Once this hotel located in this old Haciënda was very nice. But now it is outdated and not looked after with love and passion. Lamps were broken, bathroom dirty, woorden Floors in rooms dirty, swimmingpool doesn’t look fresh and we could not use it Anyway because a filmcrew was filming. Jaccuzi was broken and water was foamy. Turkish bath was not turned on. Breakfast absolutely below Every standard with cheap plastic cheese and ham of bad quality and orangejuice wich taste like lemonate. Plastic flowers in The lobby Area etc. We complained about our stay With The Managing Director of The hotel and he took good care of us and he was interested to hear our complaints. This hotel has a lot of potential and could be one of The best 5 star properties of Gran Canaria. But it needs a lot of money and a lot of new staff. The current staf is not interested and has no idea about hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MalaliG1, Comercial at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Responded 13 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, In spite of you had not a good experience in our hotel, we really thank you for taking time to let us to konw everything that you find not well. This is the best way to improve everything, as we need to know what the customer feels to change the things that are not ok. As you wrote, the Hacienda is a wonderful place with a lot of potencial, but it´s a very old building and due to that it is also magic and unique. Our company manages the Hacienda from 1 year ago, and from our begining we saw that it is a marvellous hotel wich needs a few improvements. We have been working hard to offer a good service and doing everything under priorities…. Unfortunately we can not check everything everyday, so we need customers like you to let us to know everything wrong to do the changes. I say that a claim, is always welcome and the best oportunity to improve. About your review, I would like to share a few words: SWIMMINGPOOL Every night our guard clean the swimmingpool and our maintance man does a daily upkeep during the mornings. I have to be honest, and our swimmingpool it is not 24 hours extremely clean this is true, it is due to the weather and the environment as we are in a rural place and latest we have not good weather conditions As you saw, our wonderful hotel it is in the heart of a banana plantation…and it is difficult to keep everything clean all the time. Also, I have to say that we usually have not recordings or filmings…even…the last company did a lot of them, as the hotel is nice to do it…but we want not to bother our customers wich ones are lookinf for a quiet place to relax and disconect… JACUZZI Maybe it was a confusión, but the Jacuzzi has been working ok without problems and we usually have not foam, sometimes when a customer use it after a shower with gel or cream then appear a few of foam but our maintenance man does an upkeep everyday to keep the wáter clean and clear. TURKIS BATH It was maybe a misunderstunding, but the turkish bath is always off to take care with the enviroment and during the check in we alwasy inform that it is off but if you would like to use it, then you can request it at the reception and in 10 minutes is ready to use it. --- It is true that we have to improve a lot of things, as a lot of hotels..in this industry we are people working for people 24 hours…so it is imposible to have everything ok always… I think that the most important thing is to have predisposition to hear and try to improve step by step with a good treatment. We have a wonderful team, and as I already wrote, we are here from 1 year ago. I think the same tan you, it coulb one of the best hotel in Gran Canaria and we are working hard to do it posible. Thanks one more time to share your experience and do not hesítate to contact us for more improvements. If you come back to Gran Canaria, would be great to take time to visit us again, I am sure you will have a nice experience next time. Best regards, Jose Carlos Falcón Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 77 - USD 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hacienda del buen suceso hotel arucas
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsGran CanariaArucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso
Which popular attractions are close to La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Nearby attractions include Playa De La Concha El Cotillo (7.6 km), Paseo de Canarias (3.7 km), and Iglesia de San Juan Bautista (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cómo Como 15, Terraza El Patio, and Restaurante Casa Brito.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to La Hacienda Del Buen Suceso?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casco Historico de Arucas (1.2 km), Centro histórico de la Villa de Teror (7.5 km), and Caves Of Valeron (7.0 km).