We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haven Hotel Dunmore East

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunmore East
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Haven Hotel Dunmore East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Haven Hotel Dunmore East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Just back from a lovely relaxing 2 day break at The Haven. Fabulous building, recently refurbished in its original style, fabulous fireplaces in downstairs rooms. Comfortable bedroom, amazing sea view, vast grounds, and so peaceful and tranquil. Friendly courteous staff, who could not do enough for you. We ate there both nights and food was great, with very generous portions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the haven. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Hope to you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This is about my 6th trip to the Haven 1st time 27 years ago on honeymoon! 2wks ago for the bluegrass festival and 1st time since refurbishment. Place looks great still has the character! food fantastic, room beautiful and spacious (as i requested spacious) even though the hotel was thronged because of the festival and there was so much going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deedeedoheny
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Dee, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We were keen during the refurbishments not to loose any of the character so we are glad you liked them! Looking forward to seeing you again soon at the haven. Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

What's not to love about the haven hotel. For families it's the only place in Dunmore catered for. Ample room and parking. Plenty of space for the kids to run around outside and have fun. Even if it rains there is room inside. Resulting in happy family! The food is delicious. Great friendly staff. The outside food prices are also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peterkelly64
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the haven. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Reviewed 2 September 2016

Visited during bluegrass festival and was disappointed to hear the haven was not taking part their moto was anything but the grass which I found inappropriate and insulting to others businesses taking /part. They had organised a barn dance for 8 o clock but this never happened leaving people disappointed as their nice was wasted nobody could tell us anything...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jack C
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Jack, Thank you for your review. Our 'Everything but the grass' festival was a massive success. We have never been busier as one can see from all the photographs on our Facebook page. We don't believe that a music festival should just cater for individuals but instead, cater for all tastes and types of music. We will be continuing...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I have visited the haven on a regular basis for the past three years for social nights out and have always found it a pleasant experience but on sat 27th Aug my opinion changed. While I appreciate that it was very busy as a music festival was on there was no need for the staff to be so rude. When...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank elizabeth n
carlow
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I recently spent a week in beautiful Dunmore, we ate out every evening anf tried all the restaurents and the Heaven was by far the best . Best for value, best beef ever, great fish, my sister said the bonoffi desert is the best she ever tasted. The view is stunning the staff were fab, .. Great for families with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duckettf
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you for all the kind comments, I will be sure to pass these onto our staff members. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Wouldnt recommended .went for dinner this evening staff were friendly enough .food wasnt great .we were sat beside emergency exit that other people were using to walk in and out so sat freezing eating dinner with jackets on .staff did try at one stage to stop it but then they started to use it .dining room like a hall which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Jennie, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your visit to the haven was not up to your standards. We aim to make all our customers dining experiences as relaxing and stress free as possible. We hope this isolated incident will not deter you from returning to the haven again in the future. Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Fab food, fab staff, wondeful owners. Stunning veiw. Nicest beef I have ever eaten. Have been here many times this summer and the haven has never disappointed :) well done to the jelly family for bringing it back to everyone! We missed it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonhickey1989
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your times with us at the haven this summer. We pride ourselves on top quality food and service. It's good to hear that all the hard work is paying off. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

Templemore
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I recently visited the Haven hotel for coffee. The food smelled delicious so returned the next day for dinner with my family. Couldn't fault this visit. Good was outstanding, staff were incredibly friendly and efficient. Great family experience, so much so that we went AGAIN the following day. Now let me tell you the difference a day can make.. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosheen79
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Rosheen, Thank you for your recent review and drawing our attention to this issue. I will immediately speak with all of the staff and I can assure you this matter will be dealt with accordingly. On behalf of myself and the staff at the haven I would like to apologise for this isolated experience. On a brighter note, we...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Rory and I had our wedding at the Haven in May 2016. Sharon, Paul and the team offer an exceptional service, which takes the stress out of wedding planning from the very beginning, so we never felt like there was anything to worry about. Everything was sorted out before we even thought of it!. We exchanged vows outside on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tina B
heavenDunmoreEast, Owner at Haven Hotel Dunmore East, responded to this review

Hi Tina and Rory, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your special day with us at the haven. You and your guests were a pleasure to serve. We will pass on all your kind comments to our staff! We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind regards, Paul Kelly.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
0.5 km away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
65 reviews
12.0 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
10.5 km away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
13.9 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,049 reviews
10.3 km away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Haven Hotel is a truly unique venue and we are dedicated to making your time with us special. Celebrating its reopening in 2016 The Haven has been carefully renovated and refurbished but still retains its quirky charm. Owned and managed by the Kelly family for over 50 years, the hotel is set in stunning surroundings in the heart of the beautiful fishing village of Dunmore East, in the Sunny South East we like to think we have something for everyone. We pride ourselves on serving delicious home cooked food and celebrate Irish produce and use products from recognised Quality Assurance Schemes, specialising in Roast Rib of Prime Irish Beef and locally caught seafood. Food is served all day. As a must for music lovers we have live music in the bar most weekends and on the new outdoor stage on Sundays in the summer months. Children are especially welcome and we host Family Fun Sundays throughout the summer with live music, bouncy castles, ice cream and BBQs. As The Haven started life as a private home all our bedrooms are different sizes to accommodate families and couples alike. They have recently been completely renovated and refurbished, and each boasts comfy beds with crisp white sheets, a flat screen multi-channel television, hairdryer, tea/coffee hospitality tray and free WIFI. We have 12 bedrooms in the main house - many with stunning sea views. We have a further six bedrooms in the Garden Rooms. One of our bedrooms on the ground floor is wheelchair accessible. Our bridal suite comes complete with four poster bed. We look forward to meeting you at The Haven Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haven Hotel Dunmore East

Address: The Haven Hotel Dock Road | Waterford, Dunmore East, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dunmore East
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haven Hotel Dunmore East staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
dublin ireland
over a year ago
tipperary
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Haven Hotel Dunmore East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seaview at front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hopperheadKildare, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a bungalow room alongside the hotel which was very comfortable and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles avbteam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles deedeedoheny, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask Sharon for advice.”
 of 5 bubbles bmorrissey541, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Must ask for Ocean facing room, views to die for!”
 of 5 bubbles WaterfordPremier, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5