We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Raheen Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Raheen Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Raheen Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We have just returned from another superb stay at The Raheen Woods. There were 29 of us in all celebrating our Dad's 80th birthday. From the extremely efficient check-in, to the delicious food, super service and fab comfy rooms I couldn't fault a thing. Chris in the bar and Philip in the dining room deserve special mention for their quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick R, Thank you so much for your recent review following your family celebration of your Dad's 80th Birthday. It was a fun night and we were delighted it went as well as it did. Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Gloucestershire, England
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

These is our 10th stay at the hotel and again we had a wonderful time. We stayed from New Years Eve until the Sunday. Even with there being a wedding on the day we arrived, the service we received was top class. The breakfast we had everyday was brilliant, always plenty for fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurts and they always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meggy29
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear meggy29, It's always fantastic to receive repeat guests again and again and thank you for taking your time out to post a review for Raheen Woods Hotel. Your long visit over the Christmas period is always a busy period with weddings and family functions and we are glad that during the festivities, you as a couple were able to...

Dublin
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We had our wedding in the Raheen Woods Hotel on the 29th August 2014 and it was the best day of our lives. This would not have been achieved without the help of Frances. She was without a doubt the best person we could have met while deciding to book our wedding. Frances spoke to us as if we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dublingirl64
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dublingirl64, Thank you so much for the fantastic review......it really is great to receive such lovely comments! It goes without saying that we are delighted you choose our hotel for your wedding and we are delighted that everything went according to your expectations. As you have experienced, we enjoy working with our Brides & Grooms to Be in fulfilling...

Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

I attended a wedding here its a hidden gem lovely quiet spot for wedding ,function or get away! The food is lovely the rooms are very spacious and comfortable staff are lovely and very helpful would definitely like to stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bo33
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bo33, Thank you for your recent review of Raheen Woods Hotel having experienced your friends wedding celebration here. We put a lot of work into making each and every wedding special for the happy couple and its always nice to have this recognized on or off line. So thank you Bo33 and please spread the news and hope you...

Sligo
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Poor options for breakfast i.e. no yoghurts, muesli, fruit. Your toaster system for making toast is not very effective, long queues when busy. Hot food was just warm, tea the same. Seemed to be understaffed in restaurant for breakfast as when items of food etc ran out they weren't efficiently replaced. Room was too warm but that was probably our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank martinB4177GS
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martinB4177GS, Thank you for your recent review and I would like to take this opportunity to just clarify a few items. Our breakfast buffet does include muesli, yoghurt and fresh fruit so I'm unsure as to their whereabouts when you had breakfast that morning but assure you they are available. In regards to the toaster, most hotel restaurants in...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty comfortable hotel with nice food and friendly staff. I didn't use the pool/leisure facilities but others have said that they're great; however I'd have to take a point away for the very old (and small) tv in the room, and the room heating was substandard for the time of year. Other than those two problems (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonanMcGrath79
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RonanMcGrath79, Thank you for taking time out to review Raheen Woods Hotel as your input alerts us to positive and negative feedback and I'm glad to see that your own feedback was mostly positive. In relation to the heating in your room, we unfortunately had some issues with our heating system however investment has now already gone into rectifying...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

recently stayed here for the second time this year for a weekend away with friends. could not say enough good things about the staff...they are really what makes the place feel so homely. food is great and hotel rooms are nice and clean. will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salcol84
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear salcol84, Thank you for your review of Raheen Woods Hotel and delighted to hear that we are hitting the mark with repeat visits! Look forward to seeing you back in 2015. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Dublin
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Recently stayed in Raheen Woods Hotel on a Special Offer - we were given a lovely friendly Irish welcome at check in and every staff member we interacted with were lovely and friendly and super efficient. All the public areas were spotless and very well maintained. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast but a lot of the fruit was tinned....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maggiemayhoward
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear datura1, Thank you for your recent contribution to Tripadvisor and we're delighted you had an enjoyable but short visit. Hope you return again sometime. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2014

only spent 1 night at this hotel but really enjoyed it. the room was basic but very clean. we had dinner in the bar - fantastic homemade burger and very friendly barman. we arrived quite late and popped into the lounge for a night cap. we ended up having 2 drinks and were even given food even though we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank datura1
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear datura1.....love your lovely review!! Thank you and hope you return again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Brian Bourke

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Arrived back at hotel 2am for a nitecap Barman said go to the residence lounge...it was locked. Returned again to Bar only to be misled a second time. As reception was unattended I phoned from my room to be told that the Residents lounge would not be opened for another 10 Min. (2.30am) I gave up. No drinking water in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matthewgerr

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
26.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,584 reviews
15.9 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
743 reviews
15.2 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,782 reviews
11.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
992 reviews
11.6 km away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Price Range: $121 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Raheen Woods Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Raheen Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check Hairdryers when you arrive!”
 of 5 bubbles cathyamodio, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are all very good”
 of 5 bubbles meggy29, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Room105 has a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles bredag658, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were very good.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarbar63, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book a suite it was magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles 851fergalm, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5