We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

KwaThabisile Game Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
KwaThabisile Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of KwaThabisile Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We went to this great little place for my parents 37th anniversary and my mother's birthday. We stayed in the Bush baby house that was really great. Lots of space to move around and great feather down duvets :) Shower door is broken, just to let you know, but was not a major issue. Would also recommend some ice as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uzzy01
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the the review and recommendations, it is much appreciated! I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves for your parents' anniversary and birthday and the flower hearts! I will definitely forward your appraisal to Prince and the staff, they will be encouraged and always enjoy hearing positive feedback. The lions that you heard roaring are most likely from the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

No manager in sight throughout our stay. Not even a phone call to "welcome" us at least. Only two staff members were available, who were alright. I am just surprised that the two units which we occupied were not serviced. Self catering does require one to wash their own dishes and tidy up, but I did not expect a total...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mmathabo D
Alexandra R, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mmathabo Thank you for taking the time to review KwaThabisile. I did reply to you via email. In the meantime, I would like to let you know that we have assessed the points that you mentioned. Unfortunately, you were not available when the manager was there and did not want to disturb your privacy. Should there be a problem,...

Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

The accommodation really was top class and was in an awesome environment where you can hear lion as well as other animals. Unfortunately the inside of the thatched rooms were a bit dark but other than that it was an awesome 10 day stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad you guys had such an awesome time and well done to all at the rowers at the National Rowing Competition at Roodeplaat Dam. We appreciate your input and will definitely take your advice. In the meantime have a wonderful year and really look forward to seeing you all again...

Hamilton, NZ
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A bit nervous when we first arrived - it's out in the middle of nowhere off a dirt road. But this turned out to be a good thing, as it was so secluded and peaceful with no city noises. Quite empty when we arrived, took a bit longer than I would've liked for someone to come and meet us -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank z0mbean
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue! It is much appreciated and valued …We have definitely taken note and will make improvements where needed. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially by the Pool and Boma area. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are next in South Africa!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Another wonderful break at KwaThabasili. We just love spending time there with the dogs. The sunsets are incredible and the stars at night awesome. If you have bikes take them along otherwise take a walk with the pooches-they love the exercise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny312583
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jenny We have thoroughly enjoyed having you back with the new addition to your family. I have no doubt that Max and Bibi loved making new friends. Your review is lovely and look forward to seeing you again with your little pooch! In the meantime take care ...

gilwern
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have stayed twice, as we transferred from Durban to Jo'berg when flying long haul; once in June, and once in April. When flying in from Europe where I work, it was so nice to be met at the airport, and to spend a couple of days in peace and quiet, unwinding and relaxing before going off for a hectic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank christopher b
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Christopher and Nicci Your review was lovely and very much appreciated. I am so glad that you, Nicci and the children enjoyed themselves with many memorable moments! We are so looking forward to see you again in South Africa for another reunion with friends and family. In the meantime take care ...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We booked kwa Thabisile having visited Safarinow then directly at kwa Thabisile's website for a group of 7 European friends-English,Italian and German with a couple of SA local guests-after our visit to Zambia,wanting to be somewhere driveable from JNB airport at a late hour and after a sad bereavement which brought us to Africa in the first place.We managed this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank davidalan14
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David and Alan We much appreciate your review and shared experience! We are so glad that all of your overseas guests had such a wonderful time with you at the lodge. Until next time …

South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at KwaThabasile, but were very disappointed that our expectations were not met. Their webpage mentions that one would “wake up to game grazing beneath your bedroom window” Firstly, the accommodation is fenced off, so no game can get near “your bedroom window” & secondly there are 4 dogs who would chase the game away. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidandShirley
KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David and Shirley We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience. We do value your review and will communicate our offerings more clearly to avoid future disappointments. The balance outstanding was a mistake on our behalf which was clarified at the time before your departure. Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
22.7 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 72 in Pretoria
136 reviews
3.0 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cullinan
115 reviews
25.0 km away
Mongena Game Lodge
Mongena Game Lodge
#1 of 14 in Hammanskraal
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Tranquillity Day Spa & Lodge
6.1 km away
Horseback Africa
Horseback Africa
#1 of 17 in Cullinan
123 reviews
11.9 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 17 in Cullinan
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
KwaThabisile Game Lodge is an Old Farm Estate in the heart of Gauteng, Dinokeng 'a place of rivers' and Leeuwkloof Valley. KwaThabisile is surrounded by wildlife roaming in a 400 hectare Game Reserve. Wander over to the pond or laze by the pool and enjoy sunset drinks overlooking the valley. Enjoy the sounds of birds singing, see and hear the night come to life. At KwaThabisile you can experience nature even though you are close to many other enriching activities such as nearby Cullinan and experience 'All of Africa in a day.' ... more   less 

Additional Information about KwaThabisile Game Lodge

Address: Plot 29, Boekenhoutkloofdrif | Leeuwkloof Valley, Cullinan 1002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
KwaThabisile Game Lodge Cullinan, Africa - South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from KwaThabisile Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Jhb and Pta and no MTN signal at all!”
Uzzy01, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Antelope with its stope overlooking the bush.”
Jenny312583, 8 Jun 2013 | Read review
“No fitness centre that we were aware of but who needs one in the most beautiful bush country”
davidalan14, 4 May 2012 | Read review
3 of 3