We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Horseback Africa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Horseback Africa
 Click to rate
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hard to put this into words. Did the walk with the lion tour and was so blown away, did it again the next day! The staff were fantastic. Matt was superb in answering all of our questions about the lions and their release program. Theory and Colin were such wear hosts. Great chats around the fire at night after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Dear Terry, It was OUR pleasure to have you with us. WE look forward to having you here again as soon as you can! It was wonderful talking about our passions, and you will be going back to your after the mini-break with us.

Wettenberg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay, best service, excellent meals (we are vegetarians!!!)!! The horse ride was perfect, we saw a lot of animals...it was a safe adventure! Also the lion tour was just great, Matt and Colin explained everything we wanted to know and now we can trust that all the lions are safe when they are released to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornelias200
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Your review means a lot to us. It tells us that we are meeting your expectations. Thank you for visiting us!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hi Tanya I just recently returned back home to Australia after an amazing trip to Johannesburg. The high light of my trip was visiting Colin's Horseback Africa. I would like to give special thanks to yourself, Shannon, Matt, Brandon and Colin on making my visit there a special one. From the moment my group arrived you made us feel welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sydneylisa2017
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Wow, it was an amazing time!! We look forward to the next time, right?

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great time with the family and the animals. Unfortunately the place is overpriced for South African standards and the activities were to short. The place is not the small personalized family business as it was 10 years ago.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillianGaagje
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding value for money. We will do all we can to improve on this point. We are also very grateful for your input.

Pretoria
Reviewed 20 February 2017

On the About page of their website they state: "For the more energetic we have a number of well marked hiking trails that take you past scenic dams and quiet bird hides." One trail, well marked but not well maintained and no hides. I guess if you go for the other experiences, it can be a great place. But my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janabenson
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry about the bird hide! It was washed away by the rains and not replaced. Since your visit, the Blue Trail has been cut again. With all the rain, the growth was more than we had expected. Yesterday when Colin and I went for a walk to the dam, we spotted the Giant Kingfisher, which was a...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I was traveling alone from Joburg to horseback Afrika. When arrived they made me feel very welcome immediately. Fresh pizza for lunch, drinks to choose from and when finished a walk with the younger lions but not before the instructions were given. I was happy to hear the lions are not here to be grown up and used as lions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey V
Johannesburg
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A 3 hour lion tour and walk with 7 month old lions.... 4 hour trail horse ride where the game is phenominal, you will see Kudu, Giraffe, zebra, Gemsbok, waterbuck and others. The accommodation is homey and comfortable, and the place is family run where they make you part of the family, are incredibly welcoming and are willing to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive, you are warmly welcomed by one or more of the MacRae family members. I did a full day there (from 8am- 3.30pm). First up was a horseback ride on one of the many trails around the property. Brandon was an excellent tour guide for our small group of 5- he was so encouraging and knowledgable!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The most magical place in the world. Thank you all for giving me space to be me and recover my strength. I will treasure the memory always I'll see you again next year for sure - we are up for the new tour to do together next time. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 631judyj
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were in South Africa for 2 weeks this month. Of the time in South Africa, all of which was unforgettable, some of our fondest memories were from the experience with Colin MacRae and family at Horseback Africa. The best way to describe this bed-and-breakfast horse ranch and game preserve is that it feels like you're visiting your favorite cousins'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill_and_Steve_Corv

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
24.2 km away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#11 of 74 in Pretoria
152 reviews
24.5 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
135 reviews
8.8 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cullinan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 17 in Cullinan
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Butjani Lodge
Butjani Lodge
#2 of 17 in Cullinan
42 reviews
36.3 km away
Zenzele River Lodge
Zenzele River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Rust de Winter
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Horseback Africa strives to give our guests the best possible Horseback Safari and Walking with Lions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseback Africa

Address: Portion 12 & 13, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Horseback Africa Cullinan, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horseback Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“From what we could see, all rooms were similar, yet comfy”
 of 5 bubbles 334terryg, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“NO wifi or cellphone signal so be prepared to embrace nature.”
 of 5 bubbles michellehY4256BQ, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the main lodge. Rooms were clean, well cared for. Not necessarily luxuriously furnished or appointed but perfectly fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Jill_and_Steve_Corv, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Let them know what you want: the Lodge is more luxurious but we preferred the Lion's Den, a small cottage next to the stables.”
 of 5 bubbles Fincalostigres, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Have the room near the spa”
 of 5 bubbles 335michel, 24 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5