We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cathedral Peak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cathedral Peak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cathedral Peak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 552: English reviews
Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Our party consisted of 3 couples and we spent a glorious week at Cathedral peak Hotel. Apart from the glorious scenery and easy to difficult walks, the accommodation was just unbeatable. The food was excellent and plentiful with little to fault it except perhaps the desserts which were maybe a little too rich and creamy for our taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mhimbi
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind comments which have been shared with our team. It is always very rewarding to receive positive feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Regards Management

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We stayed in some of the older double rooms (301-308) but our room was roomy and comfortable. No A/C but the heater was put on for us before arrival as it was a miserable day. Bathroom was fine - no complaints. The coffee and tea station was properly replenished and room cleaned before bedtime. We enjoyed the buffet food very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex B
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with our team. Many of our hikes continue off the Hotel property onto Parks Board and we unfortunately do not have control over the maintenance or signage on these routes, although we request this on an...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We first stayed in 1985, when my wife was expecting our first child. Four children later, we came back about 15 years ago, and revisited this year with a party organised by the UK Ramblers. The scenery is simply stunning, and the hotel has fantastic hiking. South Africa is currently stunningly good value for UK travellers. We thought the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J0nah
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your comments are appreciated and have been shared with our staff. All the trails on Cathedral Peak Hotel property are clearly cut and marked, however many of the hikes continue onto Parks Board property and although we regularly request these trails be maintained and marked...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Stayed here for a weekend and the drive there was beautiful and the views incredible. The booking in procedure was a little slow as the reception area only allows two people to help the guests. The rooms are spacious however very outdated and could do with an entire revamp. The bed was terrible and the middle sagging on the one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leon L
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. All feedback is valued and used during our ongoing internal training. Your comments have been noted and shared with our team. Our gym is fully-equipped, offers a steam room and shower facilities, and has fantastic views across the golf course and river. We...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Set in a beautiful part of the Drakensberg with easy access from Johannesburg the Hotel seems to get better every time we visit. The rooms are comfortable without being extravagant but then who wants to spend too much time in one's room here . There is plenty to do with walks for all ages and capabilities . We were there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NIALL H
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with our team. In-house training is carried out on an ongoing basis and your comments will assist us in our training efforts. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back...

Cape Town
Reviewed 28 April 2016

The Cathedral Peak Hotel was a wonderful find. This was our first visit, to one of those old, established hotels that we had always known of. Being tucked away in the mountains, it is not that accessible so it’s very much a destination hotel and you should stay a few days to really get the most out of it. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisylu2005
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so very much for a wonderful review! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and everything on offer at Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your valued comments have been shared with our team. We really do live in the most beautiful part of South Africa and in particular this part of the Drakensberg range. We...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The perfect place for a family holiday. The Cathedral has everything you need to supersize your holiday. The rooms are big enough, clean; you can go on hikes, the long and short; you can do quad biking, helicopter rides and so much more. Even though we are a family of vegetarians, there is always so much to eat. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frica1
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. It is always very rewarding for management and staff to receive positive feedback and your review has been shared. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again soon. Regards Management

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Cathedral Peak Hotel is absolutely beautiful in all respects - the scenery, the food, the staff, the accommodation. I would recommend it to anyone who wants either a totally relaxing break or an energetic holiday (there are lots of activities available). Really worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Management

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 April 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary and we stayed in a Superior Room. The hotel has all the amenities one needs. We did not move from the hotel at all to go to any other area. We had a wonderful time exploring and going on our own adventures. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulapD2862YP
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our staff. We do hope to have the opportunity of hosting you and your husband again very soon. Regards Management

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Would I go again? A definite yes, and it will be my third time.This hotel has something for everyone.The food is top class,the room was very good, and nothing is too much trouble for staff or management.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _rogerclivechicken
CathedralPeakHotel, Manager at Cathedral Peak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Cathedral Peak Hotel. It is always rewarding to receive positive comments and these have been shared with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Management

389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (389)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (145)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giants Castle Game Reserve
23.4 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
767 reviews
22.1 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
776 reviews
27.9 km away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
216 reviews
26.0 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
51 reviews
70.0 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4* family-owned Cathedral Peak Hotel offers unrivaled access to the Drakensberg Mountains within a World Heritage Site. The resort hotel caters for leisure, conference and weddings and offers an exceptional leisure experience, sumptuous buffet meals & warm hospitality. Accommodation is provided in family rooms, standard rooms, Superior rooms, seven honeymoon suites & the Presidential suite. Seasonal special offers cater for all budgets. A host of activities ranging from guided hikes, mountain and quad biking, helicopter flips, horse and pony rides, swimming pools, tennis, badminton, squash, lawn bowls, 9 hole golf course, floodlit mini adventure golf, in season children’s entertainment program and much, much more... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedral Peak Hotel

Address: 1 Cathedral Peak Rd. | Central Drakensberg, 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Giants Castle Game Reserve
Price Range: $267 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Peak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral Peak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cathedral Peak
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cathedral Peak Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago
Vancouver, Canada
Pretoria, South Africa
North Carolina, USA

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Cathedral Peak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive suites are worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles londonjaunters2016, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are away from the main building and quiet. The superior rooms with mountain views are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles 487RichardF487, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room with French doors opening into a mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveMacc, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Superior rooms but the standard ones have thatch roofs and better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles hglynjones, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get one with internet.”
 of 5 bubbles Bootsyfan, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5