We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abalone House & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abalone House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 246: English reviews
Start your review of Abalone House & Spa
 Click to rate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We rented a cottage through Abalone house. where the staff were very helpful and friendly one morning we woke to find a burglar on his hands and knees in our bedroom, fortunately he ran away having woken us.It could have been much worse He took sunglasses, spectacles, and a pair of very expensive binoculars. It subsequently appeared that he had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vivian b
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights at this boutique hotel. Everything was to our liking- the room, the restaurant and the staff could not be faulted. Thoroughly recommend it-although if you do not enjoy peace and quiet you will struggle to find enough to do for two days in the small fishing village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Valkenswaard
Reviewed 1 week ago

Melissa ,Caroline and Charmaine if I am not mistaken took great care of me and my wife. My wife had the full body by Caroline (twice) and I had the pedicure . Absolutely wonderful and very professional treatment . I still have to apologize for blabbering during our treatment .......... But....we will be back somewhere in oktober for some more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans9856
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to have our intimate wedding in Paternoster on the beach and to use the Abalone House&Spa for the reception. Our wedding turned out even more magical than expected and we could not have chosen a better venue for the look&feel we required. Leigh Longden the general manager was amazing from the beginning to the end with all our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joamari v
Grenoble, France
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This quaint little fishing town on the western cape , north of Cape Town Beautiful beaches , great places to eat and just a good place to chill out. Abalone house is well situated near the beaches and has wonderful views Good walks nearby. The staff is just great very friendly and makes you feel like family visiting. Great breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We thank you Brigitte for sharing your experience with us online and look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another splendid West Coast escape.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 March 2017

the room was small the bathroom basins too high to reach for an average height person. we had to request a step ladder to be able to wash our faces in the basinthe remote for tv not working . The lighting in bath room too dark to see in the mirror. The room over cluttered with ugly furniture .we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilanaslomowitz
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry to read about your experience. We understand if you did not find our décor to your taste. It is however concerning that you still chose to book with us when our bedrooms are clearly portrayed by the many photographs on our website and booking portals. We have over 40 DSTV channels available in the bouquet offered to...

Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We stayed at Abalone house in October last year for a romantic getaway for our 10 year annivesary. We took up a special offer they ran and I think just had a run of bad luck. Got to the guest house after booking and paying through an booking.com and Lee did not have our booking - thank goodness they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamarTravels
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

We're truly sorry to hear about your experience TamarTravels. The manager is correct regarding the use of the Jacuzzi. As the Jacuzzi is a nuisance after 7pm, we also consider outside guests who dine in the restaurant below. We're sorry that you were inconvenienced by this. We've investigated the technical glitch with regards to your booking and the error had...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We spent another night at Abalone house for a birthday celebration (one of many). As always, Lee and Ryno were perfect hosts! The rooms are exquisite, the views breath taking! we had a superb dinner at Reubens and the best breakfast ever! Thanks again to Johan, Stef and the Abalone house team!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riana2310
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Riana2310 for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you had a romantic getaway and birthday celebration at Abalone House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

An unspoilt fishing village north of Cape Town boasts whitewashed buildings set against clear blue sky. Abalone House is set a few minutes back from pristine beaches on the edge of the village but still enjoys sea views. Staff are friendly and welcoming and the accommodation is of a high standard. We chose to eat at the guesthouse each night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Brian L. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience. We're thrilled to hear you had a memorable time and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This was a return visit, and the experience was every bit as good as the first. From the moment we arrived the staff and the excellent manageress Leigh, were there to help, and nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed an excellent dinner and breakfast at the Reubens in house restaurant, and enjoyed relaxing treatments in the spa. Look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair61
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Alasdair61 for your review on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback and were honoured to have you visit us again. We agree, Leigh is an excellent manageress and all our guests rave about her superb service.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
1.7 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
97 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Manor Guest House
Paternoster Manor Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
378 reviews
0.2 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
0.3 km away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Price Range: $292 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit the Spa. Prices are very cheap to European standards .”
Hans9856, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had a back room no view uncomfortable small. The very small tv on the wall far away from the bed and poor selection of channels.”
ilanaslomowitz, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no such thing at this establishment.”
  • How is this for a 5 Star Luxury Boutique Hotel mini bar fridge?
  • This is the Luxury View! NOT!
  • This door leads to stairs directly into the reception, with no sound insulation & not much secur
  • This is one of the
  • Dark and dreadful 5 STAR LUXURY SEA VIEW SUITE
  • The safe is not attached to anything
JohanBrighton, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the view”
denised634, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Loved our upstairs room with a sea-view although we could hear the restaurant directly below us at night...”
katiemY885SP, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5