We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Save
Share
Quinta Dr. Americo Durao Vereda da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-186 Portugal
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
USD 152
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 252
Booking.comUSD 266
TravelocityUSD 252
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (383)
Room & Suite (166)
Pool & Beach (97)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Santa Cruz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club is a small hotel of 20 bedrooms which include two de luxe suites. The hotel is located in a vast area of subtropical gardens and has a 400 meters sea front with private access to the sea. Two natural and spacious sea water swimming pools at sea level with easy access to the ocean, as well as one heated swimming pool and a hot tub at the hotel level. The Albatroz is located in a privileged views over the sea, the tropical garden and to the “Desertas” islands where the guests can relax by the pools and enjoy the views over Santa Cruz Bay. This 5-star property offers spacious rooms with a balcony and views of the Atlantic. You can enjoy relaxing in the comfort of our bedrooms decorated with bespoke furniture, traditional hand painted Portuguese tiles, and beautiful wood.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Diving
Snorkelling
Kids pool
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Sofa bed
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
441Reviews9Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 387
  • 43
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
pair211 wrote a review Nov 2021
Reading172 contributions83 helpful votes
I very rarely ever give a hotel a 5 star rating but this one deserves it!! I was a bit concerned due to the close proxcimity to the airport, but this is really not an issue, you occasionally had some plane noise if the aircraft were taking off to the south west, but you almost never know how close you were to the airport. I get more noise sometimes in Reading from LHR than here:)) The hotel is a small hotel with ca 30 rooms and the staff make you feel at home and almost one of the family. Stayed here in November so there were few guest as had the place almost to ourselves some days. A good breakfast slectino offered as part of teh room rate, with coffees on many different types, fresh pressed orange juice, cold meats, cheese, fruits cereals, yogurts and a hot slection of eggs bacon or omlettes etc, which sets you up well for the day ahead. The rooms are spacous
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steven B wrote a review Nov 2021
Chatham, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
First of all, I don’t think the review by GrandTour751314 is overly fair – it’s a review which suggests they did not do any research at all on the hotel. It’s not a hotel to go to if you’re expecting lots of entertainment etc. It is a quiet place to go if you want to escape. They are also wrong to suggest it’s full of old people – we were there when they were, and we are in our 30s, as were another couple. The reason there’s no bus to Santa Cruz is that it’s a ten minute walk! You don’t need a bus. We loved this hotel. The first thing to say is, we were nervous when booking up that the hotel is too close to the airport. It is close – but it doesn’t matter – there is only very minor noise from the airport. In fact, the noise from the planes is much louder in Santa Cruz than at the hotel. You cannot hear any noise inside. Do not let the airport put you off. The service is brilliant – the reception staff are all very helpful. Especially the Carolinas (I think there are two of them) and Sandra. In the restaurant, the staff were also excellent. Especially Fabrizio. The breakfasts were good, with both hot and cold offerings. Evening meals in the restaurant (Hibiscus) were also very good, especially the steak and the red snapper. The pools – the pool at hotel level was nice and quiet – if a little cold. Food and drink can be brought to the pool from the bar. The pool next to the sea is nice, but worth saying you do have to walk up/down a fair few stairs to get there. The hotel grounds are lovely and well cared for – lots of plants, flowers, plenty of birdlife. In summary, this is a lovely hotel if you are looking for a really quiet escape, with excellent service and really good food. I’d say it’s a couples hotel, not a family hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
GrandTour751314 wrote a review Oct 2021
11 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is NOT 5 stars maybe 3 for the views. They have one restaurant same workers it’s very sad. Breakfast 7-10 lunch 11-3pm and dinner 7-10pm NO snacks no vending no free water offered at dinner just horrible . It’s for very old people . Pool down by ocean is pretty needs updating though very rusty. It’s misleading I booked the hotel for the pool I asked if it’s bars down there they lied said yes it’s NOTHING there! You are $40-50 dollar cab ride from Funchal DONT stay here they don’t offer rides to Santa Cruz sad! Only pick up from airport food is not great . We got a complaint for enjoying music on our balcony so annoyed we stayed here! The staff is nice , they wouldn’t allow me to leave without paying entire 4 days so I was stuck or they said leave now (which I had no hotel then) I asked to leave the next day to try and find another hotel they said no! They did upgrade our room after I complained about the pool being so misleading. They advertise the pool people stay here for that pool but you can’t stay at pool long it’s so secluded no floats no drinks it’s like 3 flights of stairs to go back up and down omg! So upset I made the mistake by staying here and being very far from everything she wouldn’t let us eat breakfast when we arrived at 9am smh horrible Sandra said you can eat breakfast when you. CHeck out! It was so rude they didn’t offer anything except room upgrade Room is bland old bed very hard. Not comfortable we came from Sheraton Lisbon we were so disappointed you see the same workers and people old guest with walkers it’s not for lively people no entertainment here no music I woke up at 2am starving go downstairs they don’t have no snacks no nothing unreal. I paid $1000.00 for 3 nights I’m so upset! Dust on light switches this hotel is only good for leaving one night stay going to airport.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Jardim Pita, Proprietário at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear Mrs. Silvers, Thank you for your review. In reading it we feel disappointed and frustrated. We would however like to clarify some of the points you brought up: Breakfast is served from 07.00 to 10.30am, lunch from 12.30 to 03.00pm and dinner from 07.00 to 10.00pm. This is clearly stated in the Room Directory. The natural swimming pool at sea level has no bar service only the fresh water one has bar and restaurant service as mentioned to you. We did take you and Mr. Silvers to Santa Cruz and back complimentary ( 15th at 06.45pm). As you mentioned you arrived at 9.00am and our official check-in is at 2.00pm. Obviously you were not entitled to have breakfast upon arrival unless paid for as an extra. Nevertheless and in spite the Hotel being very busy we offered you an early check-in at no extra cost at 10.00am! Later in the same day you were upgraded to a suite with two bath rooms and two varandas. Regarding the music on your balcony in the evening we had to inform you of the complain from the clients in the room below. We are indeed very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us albeit we tried everything we could to please you. Kind regards, Diogo Jardim Pita General Manager Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Read more
Linnea555 wrote a review Oct 2021
Stockholm, Sweden6 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is my all-time favorite place to be. The quality of the food, the staff and the beautiful surroundings. It is so beautiful at the natural sea-pools overlooking the Atlantic sea. I recommend this place for everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Roger D wrote a review Sept 2021
Abingdon, United Kingdom176 contributions116 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our time here. The rooms are smart and well appointed. They were fairly quiet, though not silent due to the tiled floors. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the world go by. Everything was very clean and tidy. The hotel had great pool spaces that looked out over the sea including the sea pool with steps down so you cam swim in the ocean as well. We nearly always had these to ourselves. You can get drinks by the main pool via a telephone in the old bar, but service is variable depending on who is in the restaurant at the time. You won't find anything quite like the sea pool elsewhere. It feels quite exclusive as there are so few other guests. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the resort overall. The restaurant didn't really do it for us. The meals we had were nice but the choice was a bit limited, and for instance there were no vegetarian options, but the waiter explained to others around us they could make vegetarian options according to their wishes. So the people around us chose something and the chef then refused because he didn't have the ingredients, so that was embarassing. My wife being pregnant had a choice of fizzy drinks or water - no mocktails or anything like that as it doesn't have a full bar, or bar man. Somehow, the experience wasn't quite as 5* as the rest of the hotel. But I re-iterate that what we ate was nice, and on other nights we ate out. (Good options around Machico). The staff are what makes this place sing. They were amazing every time we interacted with them, recommending walks, and bringing some lost property to the airport for us. Every one of them was great, and made our stay lovely. Ordinarily I would have given 4* for this hotel, but the staff make it a 5*. Our advice, stay in Funchal to get the city experience, then move out here to get this great hotel/resort experience before you head home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 129 - USD 192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraSanta Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Which popular attractions are close to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Nearby attractions include Quinta do Riacho (7.1 km), Museu da Baleia da Madeira (6.1 km), and Parque Ribeira Primeira (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adega Moniz, La Terraca, and PDT Please Don't Tell #vinociboque.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.