We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just had a 2 night stay at Ross Priory with our 2 young children. This was a highlight of our holiday in Scotland. The location is fantastic, the building is amazing and the gardens are stunning. The breakfast was tasty. Staff were helpful and friendly with nothing being too much for them to do. This was excellent value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David W
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi David Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the 'castle' - the gardens are stunning at this time of year so you picked a good time to visit - it's like a wonderland for children with lots of lovely little spots to explore - all the kids love it. Your kind comments will of course be passed on...

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot say enough about the Ross Priory. The views are breathtaking on a sunny day and the staff and food are frist class rain or shine. A group of 10 of us went for a family lunch and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. We did not stay over night on this visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bookit-Packit-Go
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Bookit-Packit-Go We love our 'Hidden Gem' too, so I can't argue with a word you say. I'll pass on your comments to the kitchen and front of house staff and we hope to be able to offer more of this recent gorgeous weather next time you visit - fingers crossed. Best wishes Lesley

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable bed, good wifi and a beautiful view from my room on to the golf course. I loved the gardens and their huge beautiful rhododendrons.You have to pay cash.Good rate with breakfast.Recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Formidable
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Formidable Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay: the view, the gardens and even the Wi-Fi. The rhoddies are spectacular, aren't they? We have a very dedicated grounds team that keep the gardens looking amazing all year round, but this is a very special time of year, it has to be said. Just to clear up, I'm a little...

skipton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got married here so decided to return for out 20th wedding anniversary. The view is as I remembered amazing. Our room again lovely we were in the executive double, worth the extra money as large and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and relaxed. The staff are friendly and very helpful this was commented on at my wedding years ago nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsheldon42
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Delighted that your visit lived up to expectations. It's a place of many many happy memories so I hope we'll be seeing you back before another 20 years has passed. Kind regards Lesley

london
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been coming here for over 10 years and it never disappoints.. the food is wonderful and the bedrooms are very comfortable and quiet despite how many people are staying. The views over the loch are splendid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripvisitorold
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi tripvisitorold Thanks for your kind words. Great to hear you're still enjoying your visits. Ross Priory is just somewhere that people don't tire of and we're delighted you're coming back time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you for many more years to come. Kind regards Lesley

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The views at Ross Priory are immense, right up Loch Lomond with, at the time of these, snow capped Ben Lomond. Eight of us had an enjoyable lunch in the bar all served with cheery smiles. I particularly recommend the fish and chips, good crisp but not hard batter and tender fresh fish. I particularly liked that you could choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Hi Tony B Thanks for your review. The location really is amazing and we never tire of the view, so glad you were able to enjoy it. Your compliments on lunch will be conveyed to Chef and his team, of course. The small and classic portion options is a new introduction, in response to customer feedback, so glad to hear...

beith
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A group of 8 friends stayed here for a weekend dinner B & B. The location is superb although the weather wasn't great. The bedrooms are spacious & comfortable. Breakfast was excellent & all freshly prepared. Dinner also was excellent. Staff were very helpfull & nothing was too much trouble. Our party were the only guests staying overnight so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thanks Stewart W for the review. We're really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate your feedback. Can't always guarantee you'll get the whole place to yourself but it's a nice bonus when it happens - hope we'll see you back again! Kind regards Lesley

Scotland
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Once again the staff at Ross Priory excelled themselves. We had taken two friends for a return visit to Ross Priory's Valentine's night dinner and again we were delighted with our experience. The meal was amazing with a beautiful starter of belly pork and black pudding. The main course had choices but we all chose chateaubriand, the piece de resistance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeScotland
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Dear George Thank you for your kind words, which of course have been passed on, in particular to David and Kate but not forgetting Chef, Bill and his team behind the scenes. So glad to hear that you had another highly enjoyable experience and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon - with large wine glasses at the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Ross Priory is set beside Loch Lomond, from it's position it commands breathtaking views of the water and the surrounding countryside. We visited on a very wet day so perhaps did not see the the gardens at their best, although they were well set out with some interesting plants and the pathways encouraged the visitor to enjoy all aspects of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honey4Tea
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Honey4Tea. Sounds like you managed to enjoy the gardens regardless of the miserable weather - all helps keep it so green, I guess. Hopefully next time you're in the area you'll be back to enjoy the grounds in more favourable conditions. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Lesley

Bridgewater, NJ
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Afternoon Tea was fantastic! Our family is lactose-intolerant and the chef was able to (with 24 hour notice) treat us to spectacular sweets and sandwiches that we thoroughly enjoyed! We had a beautiful view of Loch Lomond from the lounge. Had the extra-special opportunity to see a bride descend the front steps of The Priory to her wedding on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticGinger
Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will certainly be sure to let Chef know how much you enjoyed it - we have a wonderful team behind the scenes and we're always happy to cater for any special requirements on request. Thanks for sharing your photographs too - makes me suddenly very peckish! We...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
5.9 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
20.1 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.0 km away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,024 reviews
3.3 km away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross Priory is situated in an unrivalled position on the south shores of Loch Lomond with stunning views of Ben Lomond and the surrounding hills, yet only 40 minutes from Glasgow. It is a secluded and unusual venue enhanced by extensive grounds and gardens including a nine hold golf course and walled garden. There are 11 en suite bedrooms within the house, each of which are let on a bed & breakfast basis. Dinner is available by prior reservation. There is also a self-catering cottage on the loch shore which is let per week or for a 3 night weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

Address: Ross Priory Ross Loan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Price Range: $93 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Hotel Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Something overlooking the front”
tripvisitorold, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great all round views on the Loch Lomond side or the surrounding countryside.”
GeorgeScotland, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight; had Afternoon Tea in the Lounge”
CelticGinger, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Executive Suite, on the ground floor, which is a self contained apartment!”
  • Exec suite
  • kitchenette
  • breathtaking views
  • bathroom
  • stunning views
pellahk, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are very few rooms and I suspect each is special.”
rowenam93, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5