We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel Inn

Expedia.comUSD 156*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Angel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Angel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Came here for lunch - just had a side salad and chips while my boyfriend had fish and chips. My boyfriend was told a menu would be brought to our table, but after a long wait I went to go chase it up. Two members of staff saw me approach the bar and walked off, so I asked another girl...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xxhayleyellenxx
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Angel and offer feedback, we really do appreciate hearing from our guests. We pride ourselves on our 'Northumbrian Welcome' so I am disappointment that you weren't acknowledged and brought a menu upon arrival, this is certainly part of the minimum standard expected by our team, and will be reiterated to ensure...

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Corbridge as part of our walk along Hadrian's wall. Our room was beautiful and I was thankful for a bath at the end of a long days hiking. Corbridge itself is a beautiful and vibrant village during the summer season. Breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E O
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for our lovely 5 star rating :) It is much appreciated. I hope you had some nice weather for your hike along the wall, it is a stunning walk in any weather but you get some phenomenal views when there is no cloud. Although even in the mist and rain it is beautiful, all the more atmospheric (easy...

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Angel was friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and the room was clean and tidy. Set in a nice little town full of history. Everyone we met was so friendly. Both breakfast and the evening meal was up there with the best. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffmount
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Geoff, Thank you for your kind comments and lovely review of your stay at The Angel of Corbridge. I say this a lot, but as a team, we pride ourselves on 'Northumbrian Hospitality' and not only in The Angel itself but in the village as a whole we are confident you will be made to feel at home....

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Radcliffe annex across the street. Carpets were a bit threadbare and linoleum a bit scuffed. Room was cozy and difficult to find space to unpack for the night. Bathroom was basically a thin hallway, with a small shower on one end and the toilet on the other. Bed was comfortable and we slept well. View from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyHobbyIsTravel
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Angel and for taking the time to review. We are currently in the process of making some improvements to The Radcliffe, all of the rooms have recently been redecorated and the public areas repainted throughout as we did feel it need a little bit of attention. Unfortunately, as a listed building that we lease we...

Cheshire
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed at the annex over the road for two nights.The rooms were snug and spotlessly clean. Really enjoyable breakfast - lots of choice and we sat for ages without being rushed. Staff young, attentive and polite. We had fish and chips from the little take out place behind the hotel and sat outside in the sunshine to eat it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marriedwithkids99
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very glad that you had a lovely stay with us and hope you managed to enjoy the village while you were here :) The Radcliffe, across the road form the main hotel, certainly has some of my favourite rooms especially those which over look the beautiful garden, as you say, they are rather...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Having not been to Corbridge in 12 years, I was pleasantly surprised with how much the village has come on in terms of dining. Many things about the Angel were comfortably familiar but there have also loads of improvements, not least the capacity of the restaurant and its excellent menu. There were Gluten free adaptable dishes (a must for us),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mermaid109
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Good morning, We hope you enjoyed your trip back to Corbridge after many years, I am sure the village as a whole was even better than remembered as it really is an unspoilt little gem. Since we bought The Angel almost 5 years ago (birthday celebrations coming in October) we have done a lot of renovating including adding a new...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

On arrival and check-in we are guided to the fellow hotel over the road the Angel Radcliffe. At this point we are led to our room which was not ready for check in time we were told to come back in half an hour. The information pack in our room stated we had a plasma t.v. and a CD Player...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We have been many times to The Angel over a long time in the north east. Almost always, it is worth the trip. Food is consistently of a high quality, using local produce and supporting a good wine list and an extensive beer menu. Service is good and enthusiastic. We look forward to many further trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your experiences here at The Angel, we have a lot of loyal customers and it is great to hear from them :) We do believe that by using great quality, local produce (some of which is from our very own farm) you get the best tasting dishes. I am not sure if you have...

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Stayed for one night and wished I could have stayed longer. I had a twin room in the Radcliffe across the road. The room was spacious, tea and coffee, bottled water and very comfortable beds. The bar staff were very pleasant, nothing too much trouble (they even tried to explain the pokemon craze!!!). Love the honesty box bar in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EJM1955
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience at The Angel of Corbridge :) I am glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodation in the Radcliffe, it is a lovely building with some stunning views. We do pride ourselves on exceptional 'Northumbrian Hospitality' so I am thrilled our staff did us...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Restaurant food very disappointing. Food poor,prices ridiculous.wine starts at £17.00 Great waiters but unfortunately couldn't overcome the quality.. Fish and chips at stupid prices,Sunday roast beef with only one slice of fatty beef at £14.00.Almost top hotel prices,get a grip you ain't the Hilton,there are better value places within walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher B
Kevin L, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we are always keen to get an understanding of our guests experiences and, if not all positive, make changes to hopefully rectify any problems where possible. I sincerely apologise that you felt let down by the food on offer; we pride ourselves on using great quality, local...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
5.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
8.4 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,457 reviews
15.6 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
653 reviews
0.5 km away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
135 reviews
0.1 km away
The Golden Lion
The Golden Lion
#3 of 15 in Corbridge
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Angel Inn is a beautiful traditional inn offering great local British food with warm and comfortable rooms and an apartment. The Angel Inn has a bar offering local ales, a lounge with a real fire, a private dining room and a barn restaurant. Corbridge is a pretty village, once a market town, that lies four miles east of Hexham on the banks of the River Tyne. Today it has a reputation for excellent shopping with various fashion boutiques lining the main shopping street. Our Bar, The 'hub' of what we do here at the Angel: a great Northumbrian breakfast, an extensive 'all day' menu offering great British food sourced from Northumbrian produce, great local ales, a superb wine list and exceptional service in friendly and safe surroundings. Our Lounge: A great place to relax with friends or a book. Comfortable leather seats, real fire, newspapers, great coffees, afternoon teas, glass of wine, choice of whisky or just a place to warm up after a long walk. Our Restaurant: Our restaurant is both elegant and spacious - sporting a characterful pitched roof with exposed oak beams. A superb venue for dining, which seats up to eighty guests comfortably for private parties, Christmas lunches and dinners or weddings. Our private dining room, the Angel's Table can accomodate up to 14 guests for breakfast, meetings and family gatherings including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and a great Sunday lunch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Main Street, Corbridge NE45 5LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Price Range: $142 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Corbridge
The Angel Inn Corbridge, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in house across the road and it was fine”
225carolined, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
pussycat12, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room at the front would probably be noisier”
Kfrancis, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 1 is above the bar area so can be loud at times.”
jonathanm868, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be certain to book directly through the hotel to ensure that you have a nice room.”
  • Very comfortable, well appointed room
  • Nice decor. Very clearn.
VirginiaB73, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 156* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 156
Orbitz.comUSD 156
TravelocityUSD 156
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates