We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stirling Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Stirling Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We live in the Adelaide Hills, have 5 kids and cook a lot at home. However, on those nights ( usually a Sunday) when a cook and clean for 7 is the last thing you want to do this is the place we go. The food is not flashy but it's good quality standard pub fare. The also have an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nebuliza
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed overnight in room 3 at 5 rooms at Stirling Hotel. The accommodation is excellent, luxuriously appointed, large room with wrap around balcony, amazing bathroom. We couldn't fault anything. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately let down by serving just lukewarm coffee which was such a shame. These things happen, I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzannw H
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service again in the future. If something isn't to your liking please let our staff know so we can do our best to rectify the issue at the time. Kind...

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Stirling hotel with group of 20 people. Had a private room. Unfortunately the waitress spilt a tray of beer and cider over my husband and myself. But then the guest sitting nest to me asked if I saw anything on his plate. I was shocked to see a cockroach nestled in the salad. Called the food waiter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We were very disappointed to read about your experience, we aim to provide good food and service at all times and have not met your expectations on this occasion. We understand you have spoken to our Venue Manager since writing this review. The issues...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great place to have a light lunch. There's a good variety of dishes to choose from. There are lots of different areas to sit in, including tables outside on the deck under umbrellas. We had spring rolls, which were superb and we also had the dip. The garlic bread is amazing and we could have eaten just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to our Bistro for lunch. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your light lunch and hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had two nights at 5 Rooms at the Sterling. We payed a little extra and booked room number 5, which is a bit larger and has a wrap around balcony. The room is stunning, beautifully appointed, large, with king bed with a fireplace in front. The bathroom is huge, with both shower and very large bath. You could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Maybe next time you could try one of our other balcony rooms, as they are all a little bit different. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

dining area so clean & comfortable, table cloths & quality, clean cutlery. service excellent. great food cooked exactly as asked. lovely setting & atmosphere. will definately go again and recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinkerbellFarm
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. We hope to be of service again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have lived in the Hills for 30 years and have seen this Hotel go through many changes. Unfortunately the present decor in the Grill Restaurant was unsettling definitely lacking any ambience or romantic elusions, in fact it challenged the senses ! The entrance to the Accommodation was austere and not welcoming ! We had dinner there last night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clythe G
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Grill Restaurant. We were disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We aim to provide good food and service and on this occasion have not met your expectations. Your feedback has been forwarded and discussed with our management team. We hope to be of...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Large portions, tasty food in the bistro. Meals cam out fairly higgledy piggledy and then it took ages to have the table cleared, and quite a long wait for dessert and coffee. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. It was a busy lunchtime, and plenty of staff to take the money for food and drinks, but really enough staff on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldasher
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Bistro. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and appreciate your feedback regarding the service. Your feedback has been forwarded to management. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Beautifully appointed accomodation in the heart of charming Stirling. Hard to fault the fit out in this hotel. An excellent example of old meets new. It is the small touches that lift this venue to the next level - matches to light the bath side candles, communal Nespresso coffee machine, free newspaper in the morning and a wide range of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW652
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to being of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Summertown
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My family and I dine here regularly and you can't go wrong. The food it's consistently of a great standard, staff are great and the space is well designed, clean and enjoyable. Great for those with and without children. You won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J7089XTvanessam
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your multiple visits to the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoy dining here regularly with your family. We hope to continue being of service in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
2.5 km away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery Collection
14.3 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
709 reviews
1.5 km away
Sticky Rice Villas
Sticky Rice Villas
#1 of 1 in Stirling
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
27 reviews
10.8 km away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
1.1 km away
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
Thorngrove Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Stirling
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 luxurious, fully appointed accommodation suites with a ‘contemporary B & B’ feel offer the perfect combination of thoughtful design, innovation, attention to detail and superior elegance. All 5 rooms feature opulent en-suite bathrooms, one with its own steam room. All beds are king sized, and are dressed with luxury linens. The 3 balcony suites feature a private balcony overlooking the beautiful Stirling streetscape and a fireplace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stirling Hotel

Address: 52 Mount Barker Rd, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Price Range: $226 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Stirling Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Stirling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stirling Hotel Adelaide Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stirling Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stirling Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles 658helenh, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is larger.”
 of 5 bubbles PierroTraveller, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the larger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 923rhettk, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Head to the bottle shop”
 of 5 bubbles Simon2808, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles 934paulS, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay