We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stirling Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Stirling Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a early evening meal at the Stirling and must say the atmosphere was good, the starters we really nice, price was also ok The only let down was the steak which was a bit on the tough side pity as the place looks great and good for families with plenty of places to chill out and relax

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonybeaven
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are please to enjoy your enjoyed the atmosphere and your comments regarding the steak have been forwarded onto our kitchen team. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Aldgate, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of dinner last night at the Grill restaurant in the Stirling Hotel - the more upmarket part of the complex. We were impressed by the attentive and knowledgable service as well as the food. Lovely fresh heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad followed by scotch steaks which were beautifully cooked and served with plenty of different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janemoul
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you dinner at the Grill. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your experience and your comments have been shared with our team. We look forward to being of service again. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We live in the Adelaide Hills, have 5 kids and cook a lot at home. However, on those nights ( usually a Sunday) when a cook and clean for 7 is the last thing you want to do this is the place we go. The food is not flashy but it's good quality standard pub fare. The also have an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nebuliza
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. We are pleased to hear we are useful as a 'back up' for you and you enjoy visiting the hotel. We look forward to being of service again soon. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in room 3 at 5 rooms at Stirling Hotel. The accommodation is excellent, luxuriously appointed, large room with wrap around balcony, amazing bathroom. We couldn't fault anything. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately let down by serving just lukewarm coffee which was such a shame. These things happen, I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzannw H
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service again in the future. If something isn't to your liking please let our staff know so we can do our best to rectify the issue at the time. Kind...

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Went to the Stirling hotel with group of 20 people. Had a private room. Unfortunately the waitress spilt a tray of beer and cider over my husband and myself. But then the guest sitting nest to me asked if I saw anything on his plate. I was shocked to see a cockroach nestled in the salad. Called the food waiter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We were very disappointed to read about your experience, we aim to provide good food and service at all times and have not met your expectations on this occasion. We understand you have spoken to our Venue Manager since writing this review. The issues...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

This is a great place to have a light lunch. There's a good variety of dishes to choose from. There are lots of different areas to sit in, including tables outside on the deck under umbrellas. We had spring rolls, which were superb and we also had the dip. The garlic bread is amazing and we could have eaten just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to our Bistro for lunch. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your light lunch and hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Just had two nights at 5 Rooms at the Sterling. We payed a little extra and booked room number 5, which is a bit larger and has a wrap around balcony. The room is stunning, beautifully appointed, large, with king bed with a fireplace in front. The bathroom is huge, with both shower and very large bath. You could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PierroTraveller
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Maybe next time you could try one of our other balcony rooms, as they are all a little bit different. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

dining area so clean & comfortable, table cloths & quality, clean cutlery. service excellent. great food cooked exactly as asked. lovely setting & atmosphere. will definately go again and recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinkerbellFarm
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. We hope to be of service again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Emily Miller

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We have lived in the Hills for 30 years and have seen this Hotel go through many changes. Unfortunately the present decor in the Grill Restaurant was unsettling definitely lacking any ambience or romantic elusions, in fact it challenged the senses ! The entrance to the Accommodation was austere and not welcoming ! We had dinner there last night with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clythe G
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Grill Restaurant. We were disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We aim to provide good food and service and on this occasion have not met your expectations. Your feedback has been forwarded and discussed with our management team. We hope to be of...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Large portions, tasty food in the bistro. Meals cam out fairly higgledy piggledy and then it took ages to have the table cleared, and quite a long wait for dessert and coffee. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. It was a busy lunchtime, and plenty of staff to take the money for food and drinks, but really enough staff on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donaldasher
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Bistro. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and appreciate your feedback regarding the service. Your feedback has been forwarded to management. Kind regards, Emily Miller

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
2.5 km away
Mount Lofty Houses
Mount Lofty Houses
#1 of 1 in Crafers
326 reviews
2.6 km away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
27 reviews
1.5 km away
Sticky Rice Villas
Sticky Rice Villas
#1 of 1 in Stirling
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
8.3 km away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
274 reviews
9.0 km away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 5 luxurious, fully appointed accommodation suites with a ‘contemporary B & B’ feel offer the perfect combination of thoughtful design, innovation, attention to detail and superior elegance. All 5 rooms feature opulent en-suite bathrooms, one with its own steam room. All beds are king sized, and are dressed with luxury linens. The 3 balcony suites feature a private balcony overlooking the beautiful Stirling streetscape and a fireplace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stirling Hotel

Address: 52 Mount Barker Rd, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Stirling
Price Range: $218 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Stirling Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Stirling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stirling Hotel Adelaide Hills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stirling Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stirling Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles 658helenh, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is larger.”
 of 5 bubbles PierroTraveller, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the larger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 923rhettk, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Head to the bottle shop”
 of 5 bubbles Simon2808, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles 934paulS, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay