We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon break and the service was lovely and it was a lovely looking place however the food in the evenings wasn't much of a variety and the burger I had was not cooked to the fullest it could have been. The room was very basic and when you had a shower you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelcianne
Ash
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We loved everything. Although the room was compact, there was everything we needed and the shower was huge and powerful. Good quality bedding and comfortable mattress. Although the hotel is on the main road (A26) and there is a constant stream of traffic, with the secondary double glazing we weren't bothered by road noise. Food in the restaurant as incredible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Me and my other half stayed here on a Friday evening, and the pub itself is beautiful and friendly staff on arrival. We checked in to our room at 5pm and it was a decent room for the price we paid, however the hairdryer was broken. We asked reception and they did not have a spare to give, but did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We’re really sorry your last visit wasn’t up to scratch. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure your comments are seen by the team.

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed here for an overnight after day in Tunbridge Wells. Good welcome and registration. Room warm and welcoming with all you would need for overnight stay. Stayed in room 4 that has a good view south towards Tunbrige Wells and no noise from main road outside. Just couple of things: A grab handle in the shower would have been nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Great budget hotel with good restaurant and bar. Our room was basic, but the staff were uniformly outstanding - friendly and helpful, from breakfast to drinks at the bar. Restaurant food was a little overpriced, we thought, but the inclusive breakfast was just right. Located on the common as it is, the views are great and in summer should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oculus897
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your comments with us. Our guests’ feedback is really important to us and we read all our reviews.

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

I had a two night stay here to visit my daughter who lives locally. The room was spacious and clean and the downstairs bar and restaurant cosily decorated with a lovely log fire. We had a really good dinner which was reasonably priced. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, we’re really glad you enjoyed your visit. We’ll make sure we pass your comments on to the team.

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Been here a few times but this was the worst. Waiter took wrong order and forgot side dish so it didn't arrive until half way through the meal. Wasn't even that busy. Waited for ages for plates to be cleared and only after we went to the bar and asked if we could order dessert. Unacceptable, sort it out management.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AR&RC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We’re really sorry to hear you had a poor experience when you visited. Your feedback is really important to us and we’ll make sure the team sees your comments.

Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed one night at the Hand and Sceptre/ Inn Keeper's Lodge after it was bought for us as a present. The hotel was nice, with helpful staff and a good car park. We didn't eat dinne in the restuarant as we had reservations in town but we stayed for breakfast which was lovely. The only downfall is its proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I came to Tunbridge Wells for a wedding. The hotel is conveniently located and I was not spending much time in the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room small but had everything I needed. Parts of the accomodation area looking a bit tired but the bar and restaurant area are very attractive. It was a little noisy due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pruej
Glenn W, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback. we are glad you enjoyed your stay but would however like to know how we can improve to a 5 star rating as the only negative point was the road. look forward to seeing you again soon.

Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

When you arrange a reunion, the venue and food needs to be top class. Meeting with five old friends I arrived to find my room cold and drafty, however the manager sorted a heater and the windows and all was well. Our meal was exquisite. This is a gastro pub and I have to say that the sea bass fillets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough, responded to this review

We’re glad you enjoyed your visit, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southborough
3.8 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
615 reviews
4.5 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.5 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
799 reviews
1.6 km away
Salomons Estate
Salomons Estate
#9 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
241 reviews
5.3 km away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst some of the prettiest villages in Kent, Innkeeper's Lodge Southborough offers characterful yet convenient accommodation in the Royal Tunbridge Wells area.Dating back to 1728, this beautifully restored lodge is a lovely place to unwind - whether you're attending a conference at the Camden Centre or simply enjoying the best of what the Garden of England has to offer. Grab a seat on the pub's terrace and you might even catch a game of cricket on the picturesque Southborough green.Inside, you'll find both period charm and modern luxury aplenty. There are 14 comfy rooms a cosy, stylish pub serving fresh, seasonal food and top-drawer drinks.Southborough, a bustling little town with a 75-acre common, is a perfect base for exploring nearby attractions. There's Groombridge Place, a moated manor house with a secret garden, and museum devoted to the works of Sherlock Holmes creator, Arthur Conan Doyle. Equally worth exploring are the 125 acres of beautiful gardens around Hever Castle, or the English wines at Lamberhurst Vineyards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough

Address: London Road | The Hand & Sceptre, Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Southborough
Price Range: $115 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand And Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Lodge
The Hand & Sceptre, Innkeeper`s Hotel Southborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We overlooked the common, no noise from the main road outside. First floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 133tonys, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is spacious and easily accessible”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT845, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the front if you are not used to road noise”
 of 5 bubbles hilarya1, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Road is busy even at night”
 of 5 bubbles HertsPDK, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidH-KL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5