We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Maynard

PricelineUSD 192*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Maynard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Maynard
See the most recent reviews
Showing 365: English reviews
Derby
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and we were so impressed by the whole hotel. The staff work really hard to make you feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The gardens are beautiful and our young children loved playing out in them. As we were staying for a wedding we expected to be able to hear some noise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank heldow
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Maynard, celebrating a special occasion with friends and family. We are very close, hard-working team and believe in making each of our guests feel very welcome, as well as doing all we can to make their...

Reviewed 21 June 2015

We have been here several times for the restaurant but recently combined it with an overnight stay. We really like this place and think it's perfect for a couple's getaway. Gorgeous setting, lovely quirky building and really nice, classy decor inside. The menu in the restaurant is changed around every 6 weeks and always offers very nice food with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maynard. I am very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience in our Restaurant, for which we are incredibly proud to have been awarded 2AA Rosette. I thank you for your kind words as positive feedback is always greatly appreciated. We value your comments with regards to our guest rooms as we...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Yesterday, Sunday14th June we held our Ruby Wedding Anniversary lunch at this lovely hotel. We had 31 guests who joined us for a superb lunch in the Restaurant. We couldn't fault a thing. The friendly efficient staff really impressed our friends and family, as did the quality of their 3 course lunch and the beautiful surroundings.Nothing was too much trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am very pleased to hear you and your guests enjoyed celebrating your Anniversary lunch here at The Maynard. I am delighted to hear that our team was attentive and friendly and able to take any stresses away so you could relax and enjoy a delicious meal with...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I was taken here for a birthday meal last week. I was very excited, as this was somewhere both my partner and I had wanted to go for some time. On arrival, the venue appeared to be lovely, and in all honesty, did not disappoint. The grounds were lovely, the decor was nice (though nothing special), but the outdoor terrace...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucylu0687
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from guests. Thank you for the positive comments you have made about the hotels décor and our beautiful gardens. We aim to give a relaxed but attentive service and we regret that this did not meet your expectations. I hope we can welcome...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I just wanted to say a BIG thank you to everyone at The Maynard for our stay on Sunday 7th June. We had been at a wedding near Leek on Saturday and as it was my birthday on the Sunday I wanted somewhere for a nice meal and to extend our trip away in beautiful surroundings. I googled restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaretta T
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Maynard. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it made your birthday a special one. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to all the staff. We pride ourselves on the high standard of service and quality of food we provide to...

Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Our daughter had her wedding here this weekend. Everything worked like clockwork. The staff are amazing. All the intricate arrangements we asked for were dealt with perfectly. Everything was done with a smile. The event planner is a delight. In truth, there are a lot of stairs, and with a single function room needing to be set as a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. I am very pleased to hear you had a fantastic time at your daughter’s wedding. We feel privileged to have been part of her big day. I'm delighted the attentive service our staff provided meant you could relax and enjoy celebrating with family & friends, I will be sure to...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We spent two nights at The Maynard and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar one night and had a great meal with excellent service. We stayed in a standard room and were generally pleased with it but felt that it needed a bit of tlc. The floorboards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MlleLaussedat
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to explore more the Peak District! Kind Regards Hugh Skelton

Solihull
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed herefor two nights in total and we were very impressed overall. Location - what attracted us to this hotel was its reputation on trip adviser and its location. It's about 15 mins drive to Hassop (Monsal trail bike hire etc), Bakewell and Chatsworth. Service - nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Maynard. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Maynard. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us here in the Peak District. We pride ourselves on the standard of service and quality of food provided throughout the hotel. I’m glad you found all aspects of our hotel very accommodating and I hope the service provided...

Staffordshire
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

We spent a lovely Sunday night at the Maynard for my birthday with our hotel looking back down the scenic valley. The restaurant delivered a high quality meal for a reasonable price and as it was a Sunday night received a discount on the room rate. The restaurant also looks back down the valley and it's clear why it's popular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinytours
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your birthday break with us. We feel privileged to be situated in such a beautiful part of the country with fabulous views which our guests can enjoy from the hotel. I hope you have the opportunity to explore the area and if...

lancs, uk
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Booked this hotel at the last minute we had a basic room but it was lovely and bright . Ate in the restaurant which was excellent .. The staff couldn't have been more helpful a very professional young team

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmemberLancs_Uk
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We pride ourselves on the quality of the food served throughout the hotel and I am glad you found all the staff friendly and attentive. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Maynard...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
29.5 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
3.7 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.6 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Price Range: $179 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Maynard staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Maynard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family suite - huge with corner bath and sitting area.”
SusanEvaM, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“one with a view over the valley”
SteveE787, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 10, is large with a good garden view”
FoodieFred, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not room 4”
holidayaddict10, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the fist floor . It was very quiet but it is January , so not sure how many guests were staying there .”
madmaggiemm, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 192* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 192
Booking.comUSD 192
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates